We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we were looking for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boardwalk Hotel Aruba to your Saves list
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everything we were looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere nice with modern conveniences, but didn't want to stay someplace completely faceless or generic. The Boardwalk was the perfect fit. The casitas were certainly as nice as any room you could get at a high-rise, but the hotel is small, quiet, and private. Plus, you definitely can't get your own patio with a grill and hammock, or your own full kitchen at a high-rise. I don't know why anyone would want to stay anywhere else--you get more amenities at the Boardwalk, plus, you're not stacked on top of each other with all the other tourists. The Boardwalk has its own personality and relaxed, local feel. We loved it.

We also loved the individual attention from the ladies at the front desk. We loved that we were able to borrow a cooler, chairs, and get fresh towels every day. They gave us great advice on where to go, where to eat, and helped us get reservations. As you'll read in the other reviews, their service really is the best.

Lastly, I would just echo other reviewers and recommend that you rent a car. The Boardwalk is within walking distance of Palm Beach, but some of our favorite days were spent exploring other beaches and other parts of the island. Renting a car gave us the ability to explore the entire island and get around to shops and restaurants. I guess you could stay at the Boardwalk without a car, but you would miss out on so many other great experiences in different parts of the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Reading your review put a smile on our faces. We are very happy you had a fantastic vacation at our resort. It makes us all feel very proud reading all of the pleasures you got to enjoy both on property as well as on our One Happy Island. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    103
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
211
306
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you want to feel very special, go to the Boardwalk! Construction was under way, and you could really see the vision that Kimberely and Stephanie have. Yes, it was not as quiet as last year but thats ok, because next October 2013, Casita # 7 will be beautiful and I can't wait!
Thank you everyone at the Boardwalk for your kindness making me feel so special!!
Miss you and will be in touch soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Front Office Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for visiting Boardwalk hotel Aruba for years.. We want to thank you for all those years for being loyal to us whenever you come to Aruba. In 15 days Boardwalk will be again the quietest place on Palm Beach. We are placing the sand color tiles in casita 7. You will fall in love with casita #7 in October 2013.

See you soon! Big kiss from Kimberly, Stephanie, Lola, Veronica, Carmen and Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

When we arrived late in the evening , the first things we saw were the construction works. They were far more thorough then we thought. And that worried us ... Unfortunatelly this worry became real early in the morning :( They tried very hard finishing casitas for other people and they had a delay. The consequence was that we almost never could sleep late, no quiet breakfasts on the terrace, no relaxing at the pool (as the worker constantly pass by), ... This was a bit of a disapointment.
BUT: Kimberly and Stephanie are great, they help you with everything & they understood that we weren't happy, Alice is very nice and also their maintenance crew is fantastic.
Rooms are large & very clean. Location is great. When these casitas will be finished it will be a gem again and a huge difference with the high rise hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope you had a good trip back to Belgium. We are working very hard to finish our constructions on time. We hope to welcome you and your family again when the construction is finish.

Sunny greetings from the Belgium girls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Boardwalk as part of our honeymoon trip and it was just perfect! The hotel is set out into a number of chalets, which are really nicely furnished and had absolutely everything we needed. We made use of the private BBQ 2/3 nights, but beware groceries are expansive in Aruba!
The pool was beautiful and we had it to ourselve twice, which was really nice!
The hotel is run by two sisters who are lovely and very accommodating. Booking.com failed to communicate our reservation to the hotel and luckily they had one room available and managed to get us sorted - infact we got a newly renovated room! Happy days! I only deducted one star as the hotel is undergoing renovation and it got a little noisy at times... But I suppose this will just make the hotel better in the long run.
I would highly recommend this property for its value and proximity to the beach - I had to add this because I read in a previous review that someone complained about this hotel being too far from the beach....that's rediculous. The beach is about 150 meters across the road!

Overall i would say do not hesitate book! We'll definately be back :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Front Office Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your nice words: the explanation about our location and pointing us 5 stars on Value. Your review is very helpful for us.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the boardwalk hotel in Aruba in October. Unlike the generic high rise hotel on Palm beach, this small boutique hotel set in a former coconut grove, is both charming and stylish. We stayed in Casita No 1, a large apartment with all mod cons. The Casita was well furnished with a veranda and BBQ provided. Some reviewers have stated that the Boardwalk is situated too far from Palm Beach. This is nonsense as the hotel is no more than a two minute walk from the beach. Yes, you do have to cross one main road but its hardly busy. The sisters who run the Boardwalk are attentive and happy to meet the needs of their customers. The only down point during our stay was that the Boardwalk was going through a major period of renovation. However, as we visited Aruba during low season then I suppose this was to be expected. I would certainly recommend this hotel, especially to those who wish to visit Aruba but escape the all inclusive lifestyle of the main high rise hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, General Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. At Boardwalk hotel Aruba you can exactly escape the all inclusive lifestyle of high rise.

Thank you for the clear description ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This was my 4th year at Boardwalk. I stayed for 3 out 4 weeks on Aruba. I have seen the sisters grow as they learn more and more about the business. I think the complete renovation of the hotel was more overwhelming than expected. I too was frustrated with moving into incomplete rooms but I found both Stephanie and Kimberly trying hard to accommodate my concerns. I can not say enough about Veronica, Carmen and Fernando who were quick to respond to any requests. Always with a pleasant smile and conversation. Veronica even called Stephanie on a Sunday with my concerns. She quickly responded to the hotel. I hope the hotel doesn't out price itself with similar albeit not as nice small hotels in area. I have every reason to believe I will return again and again. I will also continue to recommend this hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean wonderful. The patios, BBQ's, chairs etc for beach just add to value. The grounds are beautiful. In 2010 I had my retirement party there with 8 out of 13 casitas rented. The Friday afternoon rum punch is a nice addition. Over the years I have met several people at Boardwalk who are now my friends. Esp. Fred from Holland. I miss you all including Lola, Lola and Duchi!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, General Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We were very proud that you wrote that you have seen us growing. During your stay the renovation was more overwhelming than expected but we hope we met your needs.

Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just returned after a week stay at the Boardwalk. We have been to Aruba many times, staying all over the island. We could not have picked a more comfortable hotel. This is now are favorite place to stay and we have stayed in 8 other places. The owners are young, energetic, smart business women and have a real vision for the Boardwalk. They are currently doing full remodeling with a great ideas. They have wonderful staff and we can't wait to go back. They make you feel like you are home, without losing the Aruba flavor. Our congradulations to them for a job well done.

Room Tip: We stayed in casita #21. It is large, homey and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and great review. It was a really nice to have you stay with us.
You are true ambassadors to the island of Aruba and we hope to have you as our guests over and over again. Casita 21, just like all other units, underwent renovation during the fall and winter of 2012. Casita 21 was turned into a two-bed & bathroom unit. It is our first two bedroom unit which is not on ground level. It even has far sea-view from both the balcony and the master bedroom. Many warm regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel offers 14 spacious casitas spread out in the peaceful gardens of a historic coconut plantation, just steps from popular Palm Beach. All 14 casitas are tastefully decorated in fresh Caribbean colors and feature a large living room, fully equipped kitchen, modern bathroom, separate bedroom(s), private patio equipped with your own hammock and BBQ grill, TV, full air conditioning and free WIFI. Daily breakfast service is available. Other perks and privileges include daily housekeeping services, complimentary beach towels, beach chairs, cool box and snorkel gear. The owners of the hotel, fun twin sisters, offer concierge services and excellent recommendations, providing you with the local scoop. The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel with palm-fringed gardens and cozy swimming pool offers the ultimate setting for a relaxing and romantic vacation in Aruba. Couples of all ages as well as young families will truly enjoy this hidden gem in Palm Beach, Aruba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.