We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll definitely go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Grand Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates From $ 195
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Mays Landing, New Jersey
1 review
“We'll definitely go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Went to the Occidental Grand Aruba for our Anniversary this past April. All inclusive met all of our needs, plus more. Beach was absolutely beautiful, with plenty of thatched umbrellas (palapas). Grounds were clean, well maintained and secure. Staff was attentive and helpful. Restaurants were good- we ate at 4 of them. There was a lot if emphasis on becoming a member of the hotel time share initially, but when we informed the staff wearing the turquoise shirts that we weren't interested, they left us alone. The only area in need of improvement was the lobby, which needed to be upgraded. The outside entrance of the hotel was impressive, but the lobby was a bit of a let down, with a smokey odor (from the nearby casino) and old furniture. We're still going back, though, as our room was fine and our bed was comfortable. Would have liked a room with a view, but we weren't in the room much anyway. Also enjoyed the singer in the lobby lounge in the evenings. Overall, a real nice and relaxing vacation. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,236
    943
    513
    307
    258
See reviews for
730
1721
56
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed in Aruba for 2 weeks on our honeymoon the first week at the Occidental(all-inclusive) and the second at a (non all-inclusive). We were in the Royal Club on the 11th floor. We got greeted with champagne and got swept away upstairs for a private check in! From the minute we got there to the minute we left we felt like celebrities! Everyone was so helpful and nice they did everything for us! The good at all the restaurants were excellent! The shows were entertaining! There is honestly too much good stuff to write about this place to continue. TRY IT OUT! But make sure you spend the money and get ROYAL CLUB!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We travel to the resort multiple times per year.

I have to laugh at the negative posts here on trip advisor.

Hotel rooms views: if your booking the lowest room category don't expect ocean front.

Food: we're on a Caribbean island folks not in New York or LA.

If you want a great steak go to one of the restaurants on the island and pay the 40.00 to 50.00 per person. It's expensive to get fresh food on the island.

Regarding the breakfast buffet I can't think of anything that you can eat for breakfast that they don't have?

You can't beat the price of the all inclusive for what your getting.

For anyone to say the staff is Rude they must have social issues anywhere they go.

The resort has one of the lowest turnover rates in the business. Most employees are working there for up to 20 plus years.

I can't even begin to mention everyone's name they are all great.

Eugene does an excellent job in the buffett every morning seating 100's of guests.
And the new remodeling of that space was spectacular.

All of the menus were recently changed as well. Nice changes.

Keep the changes coming and invest the money back into this property.

The location and the beach is the best on the island.

Thanks to Jose in the Italian restaurant. Rusty and his crew. The bartenders Alan, Mike, Caesar, Eric,Freddy chip chip, mayacar.

Thanks for having Lenny sing in the lobby bar for the extra nights during the week.

He had the lobby packed each night last week.

Work on changing the sound lounge. Music should be a different theme each night. Not everyone is from South America. Live entertainment would be a big plus down there a couple nights per week with music appeal for all cultures.

Please bring back the pizza maker out by the pool at night.

Keep up the great job and look forward to the future changes

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just got back from the Occidental with a group of 10 of us. The place is in need of updating. Mold and mildew in the bathrooms, one couple's room was so dark, the a/c was dripping non stop and the door in the bathroom was covered in mold. They were overbooked so no room change was available. We confirmed all dinner reservations when before we got their, only to find out the first night that we had no reservation for dinner that first night. They offered us reservations for 9:30 so we took it as a back up to the beach BBQ only it never took place. We than tried to use the 9:30 reservations that they did not have. After trying to find the manager she said that we missed our 8:00 reservations. They stuck us in a corner to appease us. Elmo our waiter was great but everything else was awful. No lobster, the steak was disgusting, was served not warm but a glass of hot red wine. The meals in the other restaurants were ok except we booked a reservation for party of 10 (5couples) and they decided to that 2 tables of 5 was ok. After 40 minutes of again dealing with the manager they gave us 2 tables 6 and 4...uggh

The beach was great, drinks were of poor quality, food at the buffets was low budget and boring.
I wouldn't come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander G, Manager at Occidental Grand Aruba, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear LINYtravelerLady

Thank you for taking the time in submitting your review to us.
I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that your Guest Service team is available to make dinner reservation from 7:00 am until 5:30 every day at any of our 5 restaurants you desire.

We have taken note of the issues you had in your room, and have notified our housekeeping department to ensure that our service is up to standards.

We would once again like to thank you for your review and ensure you that your feedback greatly helps us to improve our services.

We hope you give us the opportunity to show you our improvements in a near future!

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Before we left I read many reviews about this hotel. I got nervous and felt that I was going to be disappointed. WRONG!!!!
This resort is an all inclusive haven. We loved it. The room was in tower 2. It was great, pool view and ocean view although partial was breathtaking. Fun ambiance. The entertainment staff made the stay fun and energetic.The buffet food was good and clean. Not too much food which is great because it makes it selective and fresh. The staff was friendly. Valentino at the front desk was very nice. His supervisor not so much but he tried to make up for her lack of warmth.As for The restaurants, we had a good experience. Olio was the best Italian. Francisco our waiter made us want to come back the next day( and we did) because he was friendly and wonderful. Love people from Columbia. He played a joke on my husband and that made me Laugh the whole night.We asked to sit at his table again the next night as we watched the pool party from the terrace.You feel you get a taste of heaven for a week. We are planning our next visit and we will for sure stay there again.
Both my husband and I have very stressful jobs and I felt I left it all behind for the time I spent there.My Son, a High schooler loved it too and had plenty to do.Try it, give it a chance and don't always read the negative , negative is everywhere. This place deserves the best rating!!

Room Tip: Pool side, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I went for a small vacation to Aruba where we stayed at Occidental. Without any doubt had an amazing time at the Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel! The hotel and room were both very nice. The hotel is also very well located with the beach right behind it and entertainment in walking distance. The food from the restaurants were just amazing!The staff was very nice and friendly! We will most definitely go back to Aruba and will definitely stay at this hotel again. No complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Guyana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I visited Aruba for the first time on business and found the Occidental Grand a perfect place to stay, feel safe, cared for by the staff (they were the best) and the enjoy Aruba.
I would recommend it to any business man or woman who have had it with less than average hotels that clam to be be big name!
Super job guys, love you all and will surly come again!
Sham

Room Tip: Talk with staff, they know everything and are the most caring people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary island of Aruba, the Occidental Grand Aruba is an all-inclusive luxury hotel on beautiful Palm Beach. The Grand Aruba Resort features a casino, dining, bars, nightlife, water sports and elegant event space for meetings & weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.