We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BEACH... Ok Resort. Could be much better for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Aruba to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates From $ 195
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Eagle Pass, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“GREAT BEACH... Ok Resort. Could be much better for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The moment I set foot on Occidental Grand Aruba I was ready to ramble on Tripadvisor of what a dump it was. I was so mad because we got there, got a room we hadn't booked, with "partial" ocean view and partial view of a parking lot, there were no towels at the towel hut, we weren't able to make reservations at more than 2 of the restaurants and the Caribbean restaurant was out of food and the food we were served was terrible. Tot.ally NOT what we wanted for our honeymoon

Having said that... After our week at this resort. We changed our mind quite a bit.
Let me just say that after a day at the beach/pool and taking a long walk to see other resorts on the beach, ours seemed like a pretty good resort. I'll divide my review in to separate portions to make easier to read.

ROOMS
We were "upgraded" to a room in the 2nd tower, which is the Timeshare tower and it was supposed to be nicer and bigger rooms. Our room was more of a suite, with two rooms that adjoined with a door. The bedroom had a comfy kingsize bed, a flat screen tv, nice bathroom. The living space had a sofa, dining set, microwave, mini fridge (with complimentary sodas and water) and another full bathroom. The size was nice and it was very clean, but did not seem very luxurious (compared to other resorts in other places). Both rooms had balconies with partial ocean view and we could see the parking lot as well. This bummed us out because we had paid for ocean view, but apparently if it doesn't say FRONTAL ocean view, it just means partial. We thought that was a cheap shot, but quite honestly, we spent so little time in the room, that it did not matter.

SERVICE
Front desk service was ok. They coud have been friendlier. We did go and complain about all the things that went wrong on our first day and they seemed to attempt to compensate for it, saying they would get us reservations to the restaurant we wanted to try. Nothing happened.

Concierges were very helpful. They helped us make reservations at the spa, romantic dinner at the beach and Texas de Brazil (which is not in the resort). They were very prompt and cordial.

Bartenders. Most were very nice, but most of them were older (not trying to be biased here) and they just seemed like they did not want to be there. They would take forever to get you drinks, and then would screw up your order and not even offer an apology or try to correct it.

FOOD
Horrible. Well... maybe not horrible but pretty close to it. Compared to all other resorts we have visited, this is by far the WORST food we have tried. The breakfast food was somewhat decent and the steaks at any of the restaurants were good. The Caribbean restaurant on our first night, was out of their signature dish. They were also out of mango and papaya sauce with which they make a shrimp cocktail, so instead we just got shrimp with lettuce. This infuriated me, because, how can you be out of food at an all inclusive resort?! The italian restaurant was pretty, but the food was not good. Only the steaks were tasty. We were there 3 hours! From start to finish. All for nothing. The hibachi restaurant had available reservations until a day after we were scheduled to leave. Ridiculous. I was ready to make a complaint about that, but after tasting the food at the other restaurants, I was relieved that we weren't going to have to sit through another awful dinner there. Our Romantic dinner did not amaze us either. They tried though, so no hard feelings. During the Beach Party, they did give out some pretty tasty dishes. Overall, the food situation was such a let down, since we paid for an all inclusive resort, and weren't even able to enjoy the "all inclusive". You are much better off eating elsewhere that is close to the resort. I recommend Texas de Brazil.

AMENITIES
The pool is small but really nice. It has a swim up bar and there is always people having fun. There is a volleyball net in the pool which is pretty fun. There are "beds" with hanging fabric all around the pool, as well as lawn chairs. There was always a spot for us and we didn't have to fight over them. Hot tubs were not hot at all. They were just like... little pools with one jet each. The gym was very small, but no one used it but my husband, so it wasn't a problem. The disco is always empty, although the music was good and the ambiance was nice. The pool party organized by the staff was not really a pool party. There was an ok show with firedancers and some games. Thats it. The beach party was actually really awesome! They had carnival dresses and they all performed very well. We even got to meet the managers. They laid out tons of food (some of it pretty tasty). There was a raffle for spa treatments, champagne, Senor Frogs dinners and drinks, etc. We watched a little bit of the Grease show and it was pretty entertaining. I must say that the entertainment crew is pretty awesome and super friendly. There was Bingo being played at 2pm everyday, with cash prices. There was also some pretty fun contests being held at the pool everyday.

BEACH
This is by far the BEST beach we have ever been to. The water is beautiful, clear and turquoise. There are no waves and it is shallow, making it fun to walk from the shore to the "line". The resort rents (for free) some "pool floats" that you could use in the ocean or in the pool.These must be returned before 4pm to avoid late fees. They also rent kayaks, but we did not use them.
There are palapas all throughout, but they are not enough for all of the people. We would have to wake up at very early hours to "claim" our spots. We even had to resort to paying for a palapa one of the days we were there, as everything was taken.

SPA
So satisfied with the service. They were just amazing. Luz, the massage therapist I had the pleasure to meet, was very friendly and thorough. She gave me two 30 minute massages on different days. They were both amaizng. i had them at the Beach Spa, not the inside spa. Even though you can here a little bit of noise and music, it is super relaxing and the ambiance is pretty great. The lotions they use smell delicious. Luz went above and beyond and definitely recommend getting a massage here.

LOCATION
Great location. It is walking distance from Senor Frogs, Shopping centers, restaurants, clubs, etc. The beach is the best at the spot too. Doesn't get better than this (location wise).

Room Tip: Ask for Front Ocean view, not just ocean view. Also, the higher the floor the better (less noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    965
    522
    310
    264
See reviews for
745
1,754
56
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

it was my husband and i 2nd time to the occidental.(robert &arecelis Hrib) third time to aruba. first time in the occidental was ok i guess it was very slow to check in. the pillows in the bed were somewhat stinky. long story.... this time around we decide for the occidental and did the royal club it was still to long to get to the room. indise the resturant it was cool we have anna the manager she was great. also maria fanny lisset. at night we had melvin,lina elena.... they were all great ... but did the resevation for the zen resturant and the lady treated us not well it took fifteen min. for my wine to b put on ice awful. 2nd we also me resevation for the italian for wed and no one told us it was close for the night.. robert went up to the royal club and complaint nothing was done about the situation, not even the manager came up to apologize... not that night or any other... for couple that take 6 to 10 vacation a year we think the occidental would be out for us ... but not aruba... the minibar in the room was not always stock. it not even working.. and also when we went the first time we had the white bacelets and wanted to see about the rc and we got rudely trown out of the floor but this time that we went and spend x amountof money to get better treatment we saw white,blue,yellow, and everyone upstairs getting the same treatment that we pay and they did not.... and even when i asked it like oh is ok .... oh now is ok... and that was the time when sir roca was there to see the progress of the hotel .. he shoud had asked the guess and really found what really what was is going on... thank you occidental ....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Everyone at the Occidental was fantastic. We were greeted with friendly smiles everyday. Thank you to Antonio and all staff in the hotel, pool side overall. The food, service , beach and people were the best. Thank you from Lazaros and Tina. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We just got back from Aruba, can't say anything bad about the hotel. We ate at the Royal Club and three other restaurants including the buffet, we seen bad reviews about the food and have to say the food was good. Everyone was nice, rooms were clean.
We were worried about the wind but it's a non factor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this property on their Royal Club program. Not inexpensive ($400/nite) but worthwhile. The rooms were immaculate, with marble floors, balcony overlooking the ocean, and a bottle of chilled champagne upon arrival. The nightly entertainment exceeded expectations, as did the food at the three different restaurants we tried on the property, especially the Italian. As Royal Club visitor, we had a private dining room for members open for all meals. Very attentive and experienced waitstaff. The location is great. Near the niteclubs and restaurants and about a ten minute cab to downtown Oranjestat. The pool was never crowded, and thew pool bar offered a great selection of specialty drinks. Almost everyone was from the east coast and liked to party.

Room Tip: request a room in the tower off the main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Food service staff went above and beyond to serve our every need and want, 2 staff stood out, Renato and Techna Occidental should be thankful to have these two working the breakfast and lunch buffet, some management did not meet our expectation, front desk was not very helpful our room was at the back(overlooking a parkinglot with a lot os noise from the disco on the street didi not sleep the first night) and it took some persuasion to change this to a pool view room. The diner reservations did not get changed after being promised that it was looked after by the front desk. Overall vacation was good food was good. The resort could have a makeover is a bit dated.
Wifi should be free like most resorts and hotels. Need to be at the beach early between 6-7am to get good seats at the beach in the shade.

Room Tip: Ac noise is loud and had only 1 speed, pool side rooms are quieter. Southside rooms have a poor vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We returned for our 5th visit to the island, second visit to the Occidental Grand, 5/11 - 5/18 and again had a wonderful time. This time we opted for the Royal Club upgrade and were glad that we did, from the moment we arrived thru the day of our departure we were treated exceptionally well by Veronica and the other RC staff. Veronica handled all our requests including restaurant reservations; tour reservations; special requests concerning our anniversary and any and all questions we had. The entire RC staff should be commended for their professionalism and attention to detail. We found the room to be clean and comfortable, the mini bar stocked daily (never a problem asking for more beverages when needed), the pool and pool area along with the beach well maintained (pool lounge chairs were mostly spoken for by 10:00). We really enjoyed the Japanese restaurant with Boy as our cook at the hibachi grill, we also ate at the Italian; Mexican and Royal Club restaurants as well with the Italian and RC being very good. The usual breakfast fare could be found at the Palm buffet and lunch by the pool at Desire was also a good bet with plenty of variety. We attended only one show while there choosing instead to make the rounds of the bars and lounges at the hotel and visiting other night spots off the property. Overall we had a great time, the weather was exceptional as always and the entire staff made us feel welcome the entire stay. We hope to make trip #6 to the island in the future and will keep the Occidental Grand in our plans for a repeat stay.

Room Tip: Royal Club rooms on the 8th and 9th floors overlooking the pool are where you want to be, even # roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary island of Aruba, the Occidental Grand Aruba is an all-inclusive luxury hotel on beautiful Palm Beach. The Grand Aruba Resort features a casino, dining, bars, nightlife, water sports and elegant event space for meetings & weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;