We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Aruba to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Occidental was home from March 21st - 25th and I enjoyed every second there; from the buffets to the Oriental restaurant to the many many many many (too) many shots of Tequila at the pool bar. I can't complain about the room as I only saw it in the morning and at night, it's Aruba I did not come to stay in a room but enjoy the beautiful weather.

I would definitely recommend the Occidental as the food was really good, bar staff kept the drinks coming, the location was amazing right in the center of the shopping area, the night club was jumping, casino on premises, and I would say the best strip of beach is right behind the Occidental.

Other activities we enjoyed were an ATV tour, horse and carriage ride and stroll down the strip at night which was romantic, Flying Fishbone, beach side massages, a lot of tequila, plenty of laughter and romance and plenty of beach side/pool side sleep.
--Tequila Boy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    1,010
    561
    321
    272
See reviews for
772
1,836
56
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just got back from our long awaited trip to Aruba!!!! The island itself is amazing, beaches are great, and weather was awesome! Hotel was just FAIR-GOOD. We do a lot of all-inclusive when we travel to islands but I don’t think it’s necessary for Aruba being that the island is very safe and there are a lot of restaurants and bars on the hotel strip. Staff was amazing! From Renato entertaining us at breakfast to Erik making us smile at the pool bar...I would give the staff at the Occidental 5 stars! The event staff is great as well with bingo, water aerobics etc...The casino is also a good time!

The cons to this hotel are the rooms. We paid for both early check in- which our room was not ready when we arrived at 2pm and also an "ocean view room" The room we originally got was NOT ocean view but half parking lot and pool view. We had a rocky start with the staff in the royal club but then Emily stepped it up and upgraded us to a BEAUITFUL suite facing the ocean with a Jacuzzi and several rooms. Special thanks to her- without that the trip would have not been the same! Royal Club is a waste…if you are OK with mediocre rooms then just save your money and book the regular rooms!

Also the food was OK. Don’t waste your time on the buffets, or breakfast. It’s the same thing every day. The specialty restaurants were great. Especially the Italian and Zen- (oriental)…WAS THE BEST! Boy and Elmo are awesome..and keep the party going! The party on the beach was kind of lame and the food was even worse…I wouldn’t even serve to a prison inmate…skip that and try a restaurant on the town that night…I heard Flying Fish Bone is great!
All in all I would give this hotel a 3 1/2 – 4 stars. If it wasn’t for the entertainment during the day, beautiful beaches and staff the hotel would not be above a 2! Thanks for making our stay so fun and warm!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is pretty cool. It is about 15- 20 minutes away from the airport. With traffic it may be about a 1/2 hour. You can walk right off the resort and enter in the arubian town with the locals. Upon arriving at the resort you are offered a drink and name is checked off a list. You checkin as normal and begin your vaca. The resort is right on the beach so once you walk passed the pool you are at the beach. The beach is beautiful and peaceful. The resort needs a lil upgrade. There is also a bar on the beach and there is no one there to bother you about buying anything. They only had one food option for lunch, which was burgers, their versions of french fries, lettuce, tomato. Been to a couple all inclusive resort before and they had a lot more options than burgers. Make sure you are at the airport 3 hours before your flight. ALL US departures come out of the same airport, which means ALL airlines customers go through the same customs, same security. You are going through security twice and through customs twice. BEWARE and BE there 3 HOURS ahead of flight time. Our flight had to wait for about 10 passengers because they got stuck in customs. I was probably in a line about 4 or 5 times just to get to my gate. Would love to back to Aruba but would try a different resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapuskasing, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our first time in Aruba! We traveled with our children (teens) to explore a new island and country. We enjoyed our stay at Occidental very much. We stayed in Royal Service which includes concierge service, access to RS restaurant, business center, and also includes free WI-FI in rooms and 24 hour room service. We thought it was worth the minimal charge for the upgrade. Private check-in on 9th floor with cold towels and glass of champagne. Food at the buffet was really good (small variety of desserts, fruits and breads) but high quality in foods. The a-la-carte restaurants were all awesome, no complaints from anyone in our party. We enjoyed teppanyaki at The Zen - high end service and fun ! The staff were great on all aspects - just be nice to them and they'll be nice to you! - Human Nature ! We didn't eat off the resort, but heard there are more than 300 restaurants to choose from should you want to explore! We were pleasantly surprised by the nightly entertainment!!! the quality of the show was above average. Why doesn't anyone else write about this??? We didn't feel "pressured by the vacation club sales people. We were only approached a couple of times during our week stay.... no stress with that at all. We tried the 18 hole golf course at Tierra del Sol PGA .... it was a great experience! (Top end clubs rental!). We also did the jet ski on the water. Good quality equipment. Lots of other water sports available everywhere near the hotel. The beach was clean, beautiful (busy with boats and activities). The water is cloudy, but not rough even in windy days. Unfortunately, we would not return to the island simply due to the higher costs than travel to Jamaica or DR. BUT I recommend this resort to anyone!

Room Tip: Tower 1 Pool/Ocean view rooms have a view of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel overall is good. One thing for sure though, they are not into making you feel like a king. Everything is just barely what they promised. And I would never upgrade my room at that hotel again. If I had paid for a regular room I wouldn't have any complaints about this place. But I upgraded, and they refused to even fill our mini fridge ever since we got there. They gave away our table at our romantic beachside dinner. The romance Sweet was the same size as every other room. And it's an ocean view if you hang your neck over the balcony and turn left.

Again these were the upgrades that we paid for, so that's why was a little upset about them. The hotel overall gives you what they promised. The food was okay. The pool is nice. The beach was nice.
As far as the staff was concerned they were great. Alejandro and Paola made sure to make us feel welcome and attend to our needs.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. Don't choose an upgrade. There is one set of really nice rooms but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently spent at week at the resort (March 2013). Our friends and I listed the pros and cons and found that there was almost no entries in the con column. Aruba has warm beautifully calm waters, hot sunny weather tempered by the breeze of the trade winds, no bugs, almost no rain, gorgeous sand beaches, a vast array of shops and restaurants and easy access to town and the airport. The only item in the con column was the water which was not very clear, but this was minor. The warm water and beautiful sand more than made up for it. The resort itself was not too busy. We never waited in any lines and getting a chichi at the beach was never a problem although you would have to get up before 6:30 am to find one in the very first row. The food at this all-inclusive resort was very good. Lots of healthy choices at the buffet and the ala carte restaurants were all well above par. We particularly enjoyed the Oriental restaurant. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Renato at the morning buffet was exceptionally friendly and charming. The restaurant prices off the resort are a bit on the pricy side which made the value of this resort that much more impressive. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The noise from the Hard Rock cafe might be a problem for some if your room is in the south tower fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just got back from five days at the Occidental Grand in Aruba with my daughter and it was wonderful! Not nearly long enough; next time I'd stay at least a week. The beach was beautiful and they had terrific tiki style umbrellas which was great for shade seekers (but you had to get up at the crack of dawn to get the best location). The pool was great and so were the bars (had local brands but if you asked, you could get bacardi and absolute but definitely diluted) The local beer is very good. The mixes were not great - way too sweet and cool-aid like.
Restaurants:
The best by far was Zen, the Japanese restaurant. Amazing food and really fun and helpful staff. We absolutely loved Zen!!
The Italian restaurant L'Olio was a big disappointment. We saved it until the last night thinking it would great as we love Italian and the menu looked good. Matre d would be better suited as a bouncer in a casino and the waiter was miserable. Ceasar salad tasted like a store bought dressing was thrown on and my daughters pasta (recommended by surly waiter )was awful.
Carribean restaurant was good and had a nice view. Waiter was friendly too.
Buffet was fine for breakfast (omlette station - good, but non friendly) Outside waiter was absolutely a delight. Always smiling and very helpful. You will have to fight off black birds when you eat outside. Buffet needed better breads and lunch/snack options - such as pizza.
Front desk staff were not exactly warm and fuzzy. Last day was really poor - made us leave our room at 1:00 even though our flight wasn't until 9:00 and then insisted on cutting off our all inclusive bracelets (gave us a day card) which of course was a major pain using the bars and entering the resort from the beach. Also we were promised a hospitality suite which was a nightmare. The room was dirty with old used towels all over the place. Next room the key wouldn't open the door and then when we got a new key, that room was also dirty and obviously used by other guest. Yuck! After 5 different rooms, carrying our luggage I aksed to speak to the manager and instead was given a clean room (would have been easier and cheaper for them to let us stay in our original room until 6:00)
Casino was fun - slot machines don't pay at all, but tables were better.
Highlights of trip: Beach, Lobby bar and Zen restaurant.
Will go back -

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary island of Aruba, the Occidental Grand Aruba is an all-inclusive luxury hotel on beautiful Palm Beach. The Grand Aruba Resort features a casino, dining, bars, nightlife, water sports and elegant event space for meetings & weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.