We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No issues at this resort, had a great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Grand Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates From $ 195
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Timmins, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No issues at this resort, had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Before travelling to this resort we were a bit leary after reading all the bad reviews. Lots of people just complain to complain.
Check in was very quick through ACV. Our room was clean and comfy, and had a pool view and great sunsets from the balcony. The room was cleaned every day by about noon, with plenty of towels and soaps etc. don't know what others expect, the staff can't clean every room all at once.
The food was ok, the Italian restaurant was very good. We did eat off site twice just to get out and do different things.
The weather was sunny and hot and had a few rain drops once in a while. The beach is awesome, the water calm and warm, plenty of chairs and towels but you can't come to the beach at noon and expect to get towels and palapas. The beach is busy with lots of people walking by. It is true that people get down to the beach and pool very early to start saving chairs etc. I have travelled lots and this happens every where, so so be it.
The beach bar had great service and no issues with the drinks. Went on the day long Jeep tour, through ABC tours, this is a must, you get to see the entire island and it is truly a beautiful place. Go to Baby beach, simply awesome.
I certainly will go back to Aruba but will try the Riu Palace as I don't like doing the same resort twice.

Room Tip: Get a room in tower one facing the pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,213
    924
    501
    304
    256
See reviews for
715
1692
55
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Aruba and we loved the beautiful, friendly island. The Occidental Grand is a good destination, but perhaps is not for everyone. The value is good for all-inclusive, so if you're looking to kick back and have a good time without worrying about paying and not concerned with gourmet food and drinks this is the place for you. The biggest negative is the food at the buffet restaurants (the Palm and Beach restaurant), it is truly terrible. I honestly am a very unpicky eater, but I would struggle to find food that was edible. My husband forced us to go across the street for McDonalds and Burger King for lunch. On the other hand, the food at the a la carte restaurants was really much better, the Asian and Italian restaurants were excellent. The staff were all quite friendly and accompdating, especially the bartenders. The only complaint with the staff are the first club staff trying to sell timeshares are extremely annoying and persistant until you sit through a presentation. I recommend sitting through one if you are not easily persuaded, we got a free snorkeling trip with Mi Dushi which was awesome, a $120 jewelry credit and a drunk bus tour which we actually didn't use. They have a variety of gift options, but hold out or negotiate to get a 3 for 1 deal! The beach is a bit crowded and busy, but this is the same for all the resorts on Palm Beach with so many high rises. Despite that the beach is very beautiful and clean. Get there early to get towels (they were frequently out), palapas can be hard to get but lounges were always available. Make sure to go on the sail trip which is free with the all inclusive package, it was a wonderful way to see the island and our guide was very knowledgeable!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here. Had an excellent visit, service was superb. Many upgrades have occured and more to come. The casino was remodeled, new umbrella tables by the pool and more palapas. The food was plentiful as always and I enjoyed the variety. There were plays and dance shows at the event center. I thought the outdoor activities folks were a little uninspired, but that's the only complaint. I hasd the pleasure of being served breakfast every morning by Renato at the outdoor buffet. This gentleman was an absolute treasure. He was engaging, funny, and made the outdoor buffet his showroom. Of course his service was superb as well.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a view of the pool and ocean. Most of the rooms do provide a great view of both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton On Hudson, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Terrible drinks-all cheap liquoe-one local beer. Food was terrible-really made you not want to eat...to take a showe you had to climb over a 30" wall to get in... no soap or shampoo upon check in - check in was very slow. positive thing was the romm staff-they tried very hard to accomodate us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Aruba, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Rita P,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Occidental Grand Aruba. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we will take whatever steps we can to correct these issues.
We regret that your overall service experience was not what it should be and we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASS
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Don't know what these reviewers expected but this place always works to make your stay the best. We have been going to Aruba for some 15 yrs. now and at the Occidental(Allegro originally) since 2001. Yes this place is aging but they are constantly updating and providing excellent service. the restaurants provide the best variety for all in one hotel; Buffets variety are above average with the saefood on Sat and the Prime Rib on Sunday.
The staff remains the same and make your stay most enjoyable. From arrival at the front door are there to help you settle in.First club see to it your needs are met.At breakfast the staff Zolina, Eugene, Renato and Marianna meet with a big welcome back hug and Bon Dia!. The Staff at L'Olio make your meal special. Myrna ,Manual & Boy at Zen are always there to please and entertain you. This place makes you feel most at home and comfortable from Lenny in the Lobby bar for sing alongs to Erick and staff in the Casino ( yes some people do win! ) always make it an enjoyable and memorable stay. Can't wait to go back next year.
See for yourself. It is worth the effort.

Room Tip: Pool Side rooms give you a great view but are a bit noisy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just recently I took my 4th trip to Aruba, this being my 2nd time at Occidental. The other 2 times I've stayed once at the Hyatt and the other time at Riu. I absolutely love Aruba and I plan on going back many more times!
The staff at Occidental are extremely accommodating. The food was good, there is something for everyone, if you don't like one thing then eat something else! The food is standard for an all inclusive hotel. Our favorite was the Italian restaurant, the Mexican was good as well, the Asian was so-so, caribbean was good and the royal club restaurant was just OK. (In my personal opinion). I give it 4 star because I agree that the hotels need a little TLC, however my room was always clean. I love the fact that this all inclusive has a beach bar as well as a pool bar, the drinks are OK, just stick to what you like (dirty bananas!--delish!). I think the location where occidental sits is the best stretch of palm beach.
Aruba is becoming a 2nd home for me and I plan on coming back to Occidental for years to come!-I can't wait to plan my next trip:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon,Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for the first time, gardens were beautiful, food at buffet was nothing special. You could not sit outside at lunch, who wants to eat inside when the weather is 30 degrees outside !! House cleaning not the best.. forgot kleenex, towels and water in fridge, floors dirty. In a week 5 people approached us about time shares and buying..after saying no.. would offer a t-shirt or outing if you took a tour. Some of the restaurants had good food. Pool great, staff great.. beach great..

Room Tip: Make sure it is pool side, some did not have that.. they were disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary island of Aruba, the Occidental Grand Aruba is an all-inclusive luxury hotel on beautiful Palm Beach. The Grand Aruba Resort features a casino, dining, bars, nightlife, water sports and elegant event space for meetings & weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.