We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Aruba to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our fifth trip to Occidental Grand Aruba. We just love being in Aruba and the staff at the Occidental Grand makes the experience even more pleasant. The hotel is an all-inclusive and includes reservations at their specialty restaurants. We worked with Joenna and she helped us by making all the reservations we requested, and did it all with a happy smile! Most of the staff have been working at the hotel for many years and remember guests who have been there before.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    1,026
    576
    327
    279
See reviews for
790
1,853
58
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here in Feb, our 3rd trip to Aruba in a year. Our friends were given access to a timeshare and invited us. The Occidental is primarily an all-inclusive, but we did not choose all-inclusive: thank God! The buffet was the worst all-inclusive that we've ever experienced. We had lunch there once and would have tired of it by day 2. There are so many fantastic restaurants in the area that we don't know why someone would chose AI in Aruba. Our only bad meal was at the hotel.

We had drinks at the pool bar one day. They didn't know how to bill us, so we got them for free. Glad we didn't pay because they were awful. There are so many great happy hours around, so we chose those for the rest of the days. The Hyatt has a great happy hour right on the beach. The Occidental had lots of drunk people around in the early evening.

Bottom line, we would not return here. If u are set on an all-inclusive then this might work. But again, why in Aruba? If u want to drink a lot and don't mind the quality of food then this might be an option for you. I would keep all-inclusive to Punta Cana or Mexico. Enjoy the restaurants in Aruba.

Bottom line, we would never return to this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After reading some very negative reviews about this place right before our trip, I was pretty nervous. Well, all the reviews must have been from isolated bad experiences because this place was great. Staff was friendly, food and drinks were fine, service was good, it was overall a very pleasant place to stay. Aruba is beautitul, and the Occidental was nice.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with outdoor access to the pool area. It was awesome, yet private enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobden, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The staff at the Occidental Grand our out standing. I would deffinitely return to the Occidental, the
fun club (Jimmy, Ruby) our great at their jobs, lots of fun! The bartenders and staff go way out of their way to make your vaction as enjoyable as it can be. Lenny singing in the lounge bar should be later into the evening, the bar is packed but the minute Lenny is done everyone goes away.Hats off to you all for doing a great job. Hope to see you all again when I return..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The best thing about the Occidental Grand besides the obvious is the staff. We come back year after year for that very reason. From the Hotel staff to the Bartenders and especially the guys who work the Beach you couldn't ask for a better, competent and helpful group. Some favorites of ours are Roddy,,Michael and Eric as the Bartenders and Johnny and Frank on the Beach. Always a smile and a helpful attitude from them all.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool or Ocean are the way to go. Try to get from the 4th floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our 3rd visit here so obviously we like it. Its a good value for the money. Yes there are things that could be better and improved. Some rooms facing the pool have broken seals in the sliding doors so you don't have a good view unless you open the door. We changed rooms. There is no system to securing a hut so prepare yourself to rise by 5am if you want one. Since hotel guests and time share owners share the same property it made us as hotel guests feel less worthy of space since they are "owners". Can be very clicky. This year I have become gluten free and was relieved that I had choices. Myrna at the Oriental restaurant advised me to let it be known that I am gluten free when making our dinner reservations. Myrna was very informative as to what I could and couldn't eat at the Oriental restaurant. She was genuine and concerned about my dietary restrictions. Thank you Myrna

Room Tip: Pool side. Although can be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Well let's see!!! While in the Occidental we decided to look at the Marriott as we collect their points but to our eyes it appeared dingy and my better half did not like their casino.
I have found out that there is more provision for the old and handicapped in the Royal Club at the Occidental so guess what!! Even though I wrote we would not go again, we have booked ten nights in the Royal Club for the middle of October this year 2013. We just loved everything else in the hotel so my boss (wife) and I by the way want to go again.
I was surprised When we went last time that there were quite a number of English folk and I enjoyed meeting them, became an American in 2006 so I enjoyed talking to them. It's an awful long way for the English but they must think it's good also, we only have to travel from Florida.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary island of Aruba, the Occidental Grand Aruba is an all-inclusive luxury hotel on beautiful Palm Beach. The Grand Aruba Resort features a casino, dining, bars, nightlife, water sports and elegant event space for meetings & weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.