We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in aruba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Aruba to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Cobden, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time in aruba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The staff at the Occidental Grand our out standing. I would deffinitely return to the Occidental, the
fun club (Jimmy, Ruby) our great at their jobs, lots of fun! The bartenders and staff go way out of their way to make your vaction as enjoyable as it can be. Lenny singing in the lounge bar should be later into the evening, the bar is packed but the minute Lenny is done everyone goes away.Hats off to you all for doing a great job. Hope to see you all again when I return..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,343
    1,058
    598
    338
    283
See reviews for
807
1,896
59
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Center Moriches, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The best thing about the Occidental Grand besides the obvious is the staff. We come back year after year for that very reason. From the Hotel staff to the Bartenders and especially the guys who work the Beach you couldn't ask for a better, competent and helpful group. Some favorites of ours are Roddy,,Michael and Eric as the Bartenders and Johnny and Frank on the Beach. Always a smile and a helpful attitude from them all.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool or Ocean are the way to go. Try to get from the 4th floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our 3rd visit here so obviously we like it. Its a good value for the money. Yes there are things that could be better and improved. Some rooms facing the pool have broken seals in the sliding doors so you don't have a good view unless you open the door. We changed rooms. There is no system to securing a hut so prepare yourself to rise by 5am if you want one. Since hotel guests and time share owners share the same property it made us as hotel guests feel less worthy of space since they are "owners". Can be very clicky. This year I have become gluten free and was relieved that I had choices. Myrna at the Oriental restaurant advised me to let it be known that I am gluten free when making our dinner reservations. Myrna was very informative as to what I could and couldn't eat at the Oriental restaurant. She was genuine and concerned about my dietary restrictions. Thank you Myrna

Room Tip: Pool side. Although can be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Well let's see!!! While in the Occidental we decided to look at the Marriott as we collect their points but to our eyes it appeared dingy and my better half did not like their casino.
I have found out that there is more provision for the old and handicapped in the Royal Club at the Occidental so guess what!! Even though I wrote we would not go again, we have booked ten nights in the Royal Club for the middle of October this year 2013. We just loved everything else in the hotel so my boss (wife) and I by the way want to go again.
I was surprised When we went last time that there were quite a number of English folk and I enjoyed meeting them, became an American in 2006 so I enjoyed talking to them. It's an awful long way for the English but they must think it's good also, we only have to travel from Florida.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After a very disorganized arrival, and finally a room in the appropriate category, the beach and weather is so great, that all the hassles disappear.
It bears repeating, as per so many of the previous entries, the staff, is not very helpful. The rooms really need refreshing. and there are not enough huts on the beach and no way of reserving other than to go down before 6am, not very relaxing on a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After reading MANY mixed reviews we still decided to stay at the Occidental for our friends bachelorette party. Upon arrival we realized that all dinner reservations that were made prior to arrival (due to large group) were not in the system and we had to wait 2 hours for the concierge to adjust. We were even booked for events that weren't happening the nights we were there (talk about poor communication amongst hotel employees),

Hotel Rooms/Housekeeping - Very outdated. When Housekeeping came to clean each day, they didn't even remove the dirty towels from the floor. We had to ASK them to do so and give us new towels!

One day a man knocked on the door with a bottle of our alcohol that we bought off premises and said "housekeeping took it bc it didn't fit in the fridge". But why would they take it from our room?!?! They literally returned an empty bottle to us when the bottle we had, had hardly been touched! After calling and speaking to management they told us a completely different story and had someone else bring us a sealed bottle back. THEY STOLE FROM OUR ROOM!

All-inclusive - food is just "ok". There is nothing open to get a drink, even a water or soda unless you go to the "disco" late night. Who wants to go to the club just to get a regular drink?

The only good things about this hotel are the beach and location, otherwise, I DO NOT RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Aruba and my husband and I both agree that we will go back. We loved the island with its varied terrain, the Arubian people, and the beach! The Occidental Grand Resort was an average place to stay with a high price tag. The condition of the property was a little worn. The rooms needed some updating, and the swimming pool needed some repair work along most of the edges. The resort staff was wonderful, but there didn't seem to be enough of them. We are used to being served cocktails and food at the pool and beach areas but this type of service was not offered. The beach, however, was perfect with white sand, calm & warm blue water, and plenty of beach chairs. We spent nearly every day there and just couldn't get enough of it. The restaurants were ok. We didn't go to this resort for world class food. It was good...but nothing exceptional. The drinks were good also but most of the liquor was brands that we didn't recognize. We rented jeeps and toured the island. This was very worthwhile especially because of the land and water differences between the east and west sides. The church, lighthouse, and natural bridge were excellent landmarks to visit while on our off road jeep excursion. We also went on a snorkeling/snuba trip which was great fun. I

Room Tip: Our room was located on the north side of the building which had a public street running along the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary island of Aruba, the Occidental Grand Aruba is an all-inclusive luxury hotel on beautiful Palm Beach. The Grand Aruba Resort features a casino, dining, bars, nightlife, water sports and elegant event space for meetings & weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.