We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Previously about The Handicapped” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Previously about The Handicapped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Well let's see!!! While in the Occidental we decided to look at the Marriott as we collect their points but to our eyes it appeared dingy and my better half did not like their casino.
I have found out that there is more provision for the old and handicapped in the Royal Club at the Occidental so guess what!! Even though I wrote we would not go again, we have booked ten nights in the Royal Club for the middle of October this year 2013. We just loved everything else in the hotel so my boss (wife) and I by the way want to go again.
I was surprised When we went last time that there were quite a number of English folk and I enjoyed meeting them, became an American in 2006 so I enjoyed talking to them. It's an awful long way for the English but they must think it's good also, we only have to travel from Florida.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    1,143
    646
    357
    306
See reviews for
893
2,024
65
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After a very disorganized arrival, and finally a room in the appropriate category, the beach and weather is so great, that all the hassles disappear.
It bears repeating, as per so many of the previous entries, the staff, is not very helpful. The rooms really need refreshing. and there are not enough huts on the beach and no way of reserving other than to go down before 6am, not very relaxing on a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After reading MANY mixed reviews we still decided to stay at the Occidental for our friends bachelorette party. Upon arrival we realized that all dinner reservations that were made prior to arrival (due to large group) were not in the system and we had to wait 2 hours for the concierge to adjust. We were even booked for events that weren't happening the nights we were there (talk about poor communication amongst hotel employees),

Hotel Rooms/Housekeeping - Very outdated. When Housekeeping came to clean each day, they didn't even remove the dirty towels from the floor. We had to ASK them to do so and give us new towels!

One day a man knocked on the door with a bottle of our alcohol that we bought off premises and said "housekeeping took it bc it didn't fit in the fridge". But why would they take it from our room?!?! They literally returned an empty bottle to us when the bottle we had, had hardly been touched! After calling and speaking to management they told us a completely different story and had someone else bring us a sealed bottle back. THEY STOLE FROM OUR ROOM!

All-inclusive - food is just "ok". There is nothing open to get a drink, even a water or soda unless you go to the "disco" late night. Who wants to go to the club just to get a regular drink?

The only good things about this hotel are the beach and location, otherwise, I DO NOT RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Aruba and my husband and I both agree that we will go back. We loved the island with its varied terrain, the Arubian people, and the beach! The Occidental Grand Resort was an average place to stay with a high price tag. The condition of the property was a little worn. The rooms needed some updating, and the swimming pool needed some repair work along most of the edges. The resort staff was wonderful, but there didn't seem to be enough of them. We are used to being served cocktails and food at the pool and beach areas but this type of service was not offered. The beach, however, was perfect with white sand, calm & warm blue water, and plenty of beach chairs. We spent nearly every day there and just couldn't get enough of it. The restaurants were ok. We didn't go to this resort for world class food. It was good...but nothing exceptional. The drinks were good also but most of the liquor was brands that we didn't recognize. We rented jeeps and toured the island. This was very worthwhile especially because of the land and water differences between the east and west sides. The church, lighthouse, and natural bridge were excellent landmarks to visit while on our off road jeep excursion. We also went on a snorkeling/snuba trip which was great fun. I

Room Tip: Our room was located on the north side of the building which had a public street running along the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Don't make the same mistake I did, and be the dedicated husband who wakes up every morning at 5:30am to reserve a shade on the beach. They will tell you that you have to. They are wrong.

Just find a fat man with a moustache and give him $20. That money will buy you the satisfaction of knowing that you did not wake up an hour early than normal, to do something that everyone else is paying for. And then you can wake up at 10am.

That $20 will also buy you the privilege of not being unbelievably angry when, on the second last day of vacation, you see that man out there with his hamper full of towels and his hotel uniform on. Nor will you be frustrated when the hotel management does absolutely nothing except make you wait and then ignore you. Nor will you be confronted by the fat man himself, when he finds out that you complained about this.

He'll tell you that the sign on the beach that says "absolutely no chair reservation allowed" is not true. He'll tell you that he has no choice. But you won't have to hear any of the lies and pitiful grovelling, because you will have read this review and just PAID the $20 at the beginning of the week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear imakehighways,
I will follow up with you today via TripAdvisor regarding this issue, as it is strictly forbidden for our staff to receive money to reserve beach chairs and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused you.
Our staff is on-hand to help find chairs and accommodate our guests, so that they can enjoy the beautiful weather and beach. I’ve also discussed your feedback with our manager to reinforce our no chair reservation policy.
I do hope that you will give us a second chance to provide you with an incredible experience in Aruba.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We paid a lot of money to stay at a 5 star resort and were extremely disappointed, it should have been rated 2 or 3 stars at best. The room was very small and out-of-date, in desperate need of a good cleaning and new furniture. The drawers wouldn't open properly and the furniture was scratched and stained. Mold in the bathroom and rust stains by the faucet. Bedspread was dirty. Hallway was never cleaned, dirt was visible our entire stay. We stayed a week and the food was the same every day, no variety. Especially breakfast and lunch, so tired of the exact same items. This was another resort where 90% of the pool and beach chairs had one towel on them to save the space. We watched one day and the entire day the chairs sat empty . Don't know what can be done, but very frustrating not to have pool or beach chairs. Another negative was the time share salespeople constantly bothering us to tour with them. One good note were the bartenders, they were fast and did an excellent job serving us. Maid service was okay, but didn't restock the mini refrigerator even when were called twice. Asked for a wake-up call and were never called. Luckily we woke up on our own. The staff at the Mexican restaurant was extremely rude, we wanted to move our reservation back 30 minutes and were told we could move our reservations but we wouldn't have a table. Very flip. Were told reservations were necessary but every restaurant had empty tables the entire evening. The waterfall (no water flowing)near the pool was almost empty with garbage accumulating and floating in the dirty stagnant water. So many hotels, don't waste your money. Aruba is great just not the Occidental.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear ShirleyMcD,
I am truly sorry that your experience at Occidental Grand Aruba did not meet your expectations.
I’ve discussed the condition of your room with our maintenance manager and housekeeping manager. This is unacceptable, and they will verify that all furniture and rooms are in ideal condition for guests prior to their arrival. Regarding the minibar, please know that it is refilled every other day.
Please know that we have set up a new policy to free up beach chairs that have been unattended for more than 20 minutes. Our team monitors the area, and does their best to assist guests that are in need of a chair. In regrads to the pool, please know that we clean them every morning and the team verifies and its cleanliness several times during the day.
I’m sorry to read your comments about the food for breakfast and lunch, our chef is always making improvements on the buffet options and beach club food featuring a large variety of salads, fruit cocktails, omelet station and Caribbean specialties. I have shared your opinion with him as it helps us to improve. Also, please accept my apologies for service that you experienced at the Mexican restaurant. Our team is focused on providing the best service to our guests and it saddens me to know that we failed you.
We are sorry for the discomfort the Vacation Club representatives, they are supposed to inform our guests of all that Occidental Hotels & Resorts has to offer. Please know that I’ve addressed your comments with their manager to look into how his staff is approaching guests.
Additionally, please know that we have set up a new policy to free up chairs that have been unattended for more than 20 minutes, our team monitors the chairs and do their best to assist all guests that are in need of a chair. Also our poor is cleaned periodically, however it seems that we need to reinforce our cleaning measures, I do apologize for the discomfort we caused you and I assure you that we will reinforce this procedure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolzMo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

As always, I come to trip advisor to get an overall review of tips of things to do and see while we go on vacation. Our room was ready upon arrival. Had a few kinks, refrig was not working and the safe needed to be reset. Our room did not have a king size bed as requested but instead of giving up our view of the pool and moving across the hall (for a view of a parking lot and disco ) we just pushed the beds together. That was alittle bothersome. For my husband and I the biggest complaint we had was that there are not enough not lounge chairs by the pool or at the ocean unless you literally get up at the crack of black and save them by putting your towels on them. Which the sign specifically states not to do so. So we mentioned it to the beach patrol and concergierge desk to no avail. Anyway, the restaurants (loved the mexican), pool bar, food and service were great. We were there from February 1 through 8th. Would go back in a heartbeat and stay at the same resort. There are always a few things about each resort that we stay at we dont care for but getting away is the most important thing for us. We enjoy each others company along with meeting new people. By the way. The people of Aruba are so friendly no hounding when you leave the property or the feeling of not being safe. Not a chance we were very comfortable. There is an extra charge for the internet. Bring your sunscreen. The beach was nice and long. Alot of people not crowded. But not an intimate resort to hide out either. The size of the reosrt was perfect. Not a long hike to your room if you forgot anything. the resort was by a pier which anchored alot of boats to charter.

Room Tip: There are 2 towers in this hotel. Numbers 1 and. Request poolside. Our room number was 2503, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellari...
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,000 reviews
3.6 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 9 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,028 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Palm Beach, Aruba, this resort features all the ingredients for a unique vacation: a location right on the beach, turquoise waters, the fine white sands of the Caribbean, and warm weather throughout the year. This high-end Aruba All-Inclusive resort is the best vacation destination for families and couples. The Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort is close to many tourist attractions and just steps away from the entertainment, lounges, discos and shopping areas the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.