We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Grand Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates From $ 225
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

There were 32 of us who went down here after a wedding in October. It is a all inclusive with pool, beach and bars. The food was good. The staff was fantastic. Very friendly maids and room were clean. What more could you ask for. Will surely return some day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,204
    917
    492
    299
    252
See reviews for
700
1677
55
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Traveled to the Occidental with a group of women friends (18) celebrating the 50th birthdays for four of them. Although a little "dated" the hotel is pretty nice. Need more than one concierge for such a large hotel; restaurant managers were wonderful in accommodating our large groups to dinner at the different restaurants. Our room was kept tidy and fridge items replenished daily. Extra towels provided on request. The pool bar provided relaxation and libations! Pool aerobics daily; tiki huts on the beach a welcome relief from the blazing sun! Food was plentiful in the buffet restaurant, albeit much the same each day. Try L'Olio which served great lamb chops (Francisco); Zen for sushi. Look for the iguanas running around the rock formations! I would return, as Occidental is one of only two hotels which are all-inclusive in the area. Be sure to sign up for the free wind pontoon sailing which will take you out by the lighthouse and back within an hour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view; otherwise you will be facing a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a wonderful way to relax and have fun at the same time. The beautiful white sand beach and the great pool with a pleasant pool bar staff. The food was great and the wait service is outstanding and so friendly. The island is so safe and shopping can be a lot of fun. The sun is hot so bring the sunscreen and wear a hat and you will be fine. The rooms are clean and up to date, but the employees there are what makes the place great. We will be returning again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I were looking forward to our second trip to Aruba, not least of all because we were leaving a house with now heating or power behind (following hurricane Sandy).

We had stayed in an Occidental hotel once before in Mexico and loved it. Once again we upgraded to the Royal Club for our most recent trip.

I think it would be unfair to say we didn't have a good experience, but we were left wondering what we had gained by staying in the royal club, compared to the regular rooms. The service was good, the food was above average, the rooms were tidy and the weather was great.I just think it lacked that certain 'something'. Perhaps it just seemed a little less private than before.

The buffet in both the main hotel and the royal was as expected and the Italian and Chinese restraints were very good. The pool was nice and the location was right off the beach.

We did spend many an enjoyable morning people watching by the pool (and playing 'guess what part of Long Island they are from'). However, I have to say that the highlight of the entire trip was the snorkeling excursion on the Palm Pleasure catamaran - something we did 5 years ago on our first trip, when we stayed in a much cheaper hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Occidental. Had a wonderful time. We read mixed reviews before leaving so were a little concerned.
I had emailed two weeks before arriving, requesting an ocean or pool view room. Upon arrival we were a little disappointed to discover we were given a room with two double beds. (pool view) After requesting a king size bed, they offered a new room if we could wait until the next day. We then had a nice room on the third floor with a view of both the pool and the ocean. Did not have to pay to upgrade.

We did reserve dining options right away as reviews had suggested and had no problem getting the restaurants or times we wanted. We really enjoyed the Italian, Azian and the Mexican. Buffet was remarkably good for breakfast and lunches. The shows were quite good and the music in the lobby bar was excellent.

The beach was wonderful. Did have to claim our beach chairs and cover with towels by 9:00 am if we wanted better seats. Generally did this just before our breakfast and morning beach walk.

One thing to note: At night you could hear the music from the nearby clubs on the strip. Our first night on the second floor you could really hear it until 3:00 am. After we were moved to the third floor, more in the middle of the resort, you could barely hear it.

All in all, staff were friendly and helpful which made for a wonderful time.
Great trip, great value. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Can hear the music from the clubs along the strip on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very lively resort with activities offered daily. Restaurant staff was very friendly, especially Zolina our frequent host. Zolina greeted us with a huge smile every day and was very very funny! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone interested in visiting Aruba. We chose the Occidental Grand Aruba for our honeymoon and were very pleased overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have been to Aruba before. This was my 2nd time. First time was a day trip stop from a cruise ship. A group of friends picked the Occidental for a birthday celebration. The hotel was easy to get to, some arrived via tour bus and some by taxi. The hotel was clean, the rooms were clean. We did have to ask to have our room mini fridge re-stocked but the room attendant was very helpful. There were 3 of us in a room and we were not crowded at all. Our room overlooked the pool and others overlooked other hotel rooftops. Well worth it to have room facing the pool. There were activities every day if you wanted to participate or just watch. The free water sports were fun: kayaks, and we loved the little wind sailboat, but you have to make a reservation for that because the DePalm Tours person takes you out on the sailboat. We had Captain David and he actually was very imformative as we sailed along the coast to the lighthouse and back, it is about 1hr round trip. The entertainment group was really good throughout the week. A favorite was the day they closed the dinner buffet and had it as an evening beach party. Don't plan on a specialty restaurant that night...go to the beach party. Special shout outs to Erwin in the lobby bar and Carlos our waiter at the Italian restaurant. We had no trouble getting reservations in those specialty restaurants. Whenever we go to a resort it seems to always be an issue getting pool or beach chairs. I went down before 7:00am and it was hard to find chairs together or to plan on a shady area. I think people keep their pool towels and sleep there, even though there is a big sign posted to not save chairs before 7:15am. That is our only negative comment. We would definitely return to the Occidental Grand Aruba!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary island of Aruba, the Occidental Grand Aruba is an all-inclusive luxury hotel on beautiful Palm Beach. The Grand Aruba Resort features a casino, dining, bars, nightlife, water sports and elegant event space for meetings & weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.