We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Aruba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Grand Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates From $ 225
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Oshawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value in Aruba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Occidental. Had a wonderful time. We read mixed reviews before leaving so were a little concerned.
I had emailed two weeks before arriving, requesting an ocean or pool view room. Upon arrival we were a little disappointed to discover we were given a room with two double beds. (pool view) After requesting a king size bed, they offered a new room if we could wait until the next day. We then had a nice room on the third floor with a view of both the pool and the ocean. Did not have to pay to upgrade.

We did reserve dining options right away as reviews had suggested and had no problem getting the restaurants or times we wanted. We really enjoyed the Italian, Azian and the Mexican. Buffet was remarkably good for breakfast and lunches. The shows were quite good and the music in the lobby bar was excellent.

The beach was wonderful. Did have to claim our beach chairs and cover with towels by 9:00 am if we wanted better seats. Generally did this just before our breakfast and morning beach walk.

One thing to note: At night you could hear the music from the nearby clubs on the strip. Our first night on the second floor you could really hear it until 3:00 am. After we were moved to the third floor, more in the middle of the resort, you could barely hear it.

All in all, staff were friendly and helpful which made for a wonderful time.
Great trip, great value. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Can hear the music from the clubs along the strip on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,203
    917
    492
    299
    252
See reviews for
700
1677
55
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very lively resort with activities offered daily. Restaurant staff was very friendly, especially Zolina our frequent host. Zolina greeted us with a huge smile every day and was very very funny! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone interested in visiting Aruba. We chose the Occidental Grand Aruba for our honeymoon and were very pleased overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have been to Aruba before. This was my 2nd time. First time was a day trip stop from a cruise ship. A group of friends picked the Occidental for a birthday celebration. The hotel was easy to get to, some arrived via tour bus and some by taxi. The hotel was clean, the rooms were clean. We did have to ask to have our room mini fridge re-stocked but the room attendant was very helpful. There were 3 of us in a room and we were not crowded at all. Our room overlooked the pool and others overlooked other hotel rooftops. Well worth it to have room facing the pool. There were activities every day if you wanted to participate or just watch. The free water sports were fun: kayaks, and we loved the little wind sailboat, but you have to make a reservation for that because the DePalm Tours person takes you out on the sailboat. We had Captain David and he actually was very imformative as we sailed along the coast to the lighthouse and back, it is about 1hr round trip. The entertainment group was really good throughout the week. A favorite was the day they closed the dinner buffet and had it as an evening beach party. Don't plan on a specialty restaurant that night...go to the beach party. Special shout outs to Erwin in the lobby bar and Carlos our waiter at the Italian restaurant. We had no trouble getting reservations in those specialty restaurants. Whenever we go to a resort it seems to always be an issue getting pool or beach chairs. I went down before 7:00am and it was hard to find chairs together or to plan on a shady area. I think people keep their pool towels and sleep there, even though there is a big sign posted to not save chairs before 7:15am. That is our only negative comment. We would definitely return to the Occidental Grand Aruba!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Occidental Grand Aruba....everyone was so nice there, especially Dave and Daveline....the entertainment at night was enjoyable and the staff were fun....every night we all met up after the shows and just hung out...Mauricio was a great MC for the shows

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our room was very clean and service was good.
We had a awesome view of the ocean and the pool. My biggest complaint was if you do not want to eat buffet and what to eat at one of the restaurants make your reservations as soon as you arrive if not it's very hard to get reservations and it seems like no one communicate with each other. Strongly recommend having dinner at one of the restaurants

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our 5th year of staying at the Royal Club and there has been much improvement in the last year. The dinner menu was up-dated, the towels in the room were not threadbare, and the little amenities were all in place. The restaurants that we dined at were good, especially the Zen. The Mexican restaurant was fine but the service from our waitress was terrible. She mostly ignored us. The Italian was OK but the fish was not as good as in other restaurants. The concierge in the Royal Club when we checked in (Vivian) was marvelous as Delta Vacations had made a mess of our reservation. The waiters and waitresses in the Royal Club...Melvin, Fanny, Elena, were attentive, helpful, accomodating and after the first morning knew what we wanted to drink as far as fruit juice and coffee were concerned. The dinner staff of Maria and Lizette were always helpful and did a wonderful job of serving. They didn't rush us if we were having a drink before dinner. The beach boys, Johnny, Frank and Javier, were very helpful in finding us places on the beach. We realize that we are on Island time when we are there but some of the restaurants were a little slow in getting the entree to the table even when the restaurant wasn't busy. All in all, we'll be back next year and hope to have as great a time as we've had in the past years.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room...ask for one on the Hyatt side of the hotel and higher up. That way you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Occidental Grand Aruba. What a disappointment! We were a group of 12 celebrating 75th and 50th birthdays. When we first arrived and checked in, none of the room keys worked. This involved going back to the desk and standing in line again. When the keys were corrected, 3 of the 6 rooms we were given were less than desirable, one so loud from the air conditioning unit outside that you could not hear yourself think, the other 2 dirty and moldy. One of our group in the moldy room had a terrible asthma attack within 3 minutes of entering. After much complaining, the 3 rooms were changed. One of them was for my 75 year old parents, so they changed my room so I could be next to them since they originally suggested putting them in an upgraded room on the 8th floor (away from the rest of the group, and all alone). Imagine that! I found an advocate in Sandra (a wonderful woman part of management). She gave us ocean front rooms on the 2nd floor that were larger than most. While they were better, there were still issues with filthy windows on the side that you could not even see out of, dirty walls and curtains, chipped marble, safe that did not get fixed for 2 days, inconsistent cleaning, etc. Our toiletries were never refilled, and the glasses were not changed all week. Our in room frig was never stocked until the next to last day when we called. Periodically a faint sewage smell came through the ac vent. The restaurants gave you a very hard time getting reservations, even though they were only half full when we did get in. Food was hit or miss, some things very good, some so-so, and others down right nasty. Booze is not top shelf, and bartenders (not all of them) were very rude. We left several tips, never to be acknowledged. Casino and hallways very smoky smelling. Hotel needs major tlc and upkeep. Entertainment was hit or miss. Good singer in lobby bar, but not there every night. Shows in ballroom stink. The best part of the place is their beach. There are plenty of palm trees and thatched huts to shade you, but good luck getting one if the hotel is more than half full. People put their towels and bags on them at 7am. We got one every day, but hotel was not near capacity. Glad we were a large group as we made our own fun, aside from all the hotel shortfalls. Have been to many all-inclusives, and this one ranks last among them. Will not return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Aruba, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear unsunghero,
I’m sad to hear that our resort did not meet your expectations, especially as we had the honor of hosting your group to celebrate many birthdays.
In regards to the rooms, please know that have strict standards in place for our staff to follow so that each room is ready and prepared for guests upon check-in. These standards include thoroughly cleaning the entire room and ensuring that all amenities are functioning properly including the television, safe box, and refrigerator. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the rooms. I'm glad to hear that Sandra was able to assist your group and find rooms to better suit your needs. Feedback is very important to us and I have shared your experience with our entire housekeeping team and I assure you this is will not happen again. Additionally, please know our mini bars are restocked every two days but daily if necessary upon request and we do our best to grant all guests request, however it can be a challenge to place a large group in rooms that are close to each other.
For our restaurants we use a reservation system in order to provide more efficient service to our guests and we are always open to welcome guests if we have tables available. Our executive chef and his team do their best to meet the likes of all our guests and provide fresh cuisine that is made daily and an extensive variety in our buffet and four a la carte restaurants: L’Olio, El Olvido, Zen and Desire. I am surprised by your comments about our cocktail bar because we constantly receive positive feedback about the service from our bartenders and the quality of their drinks. Of course, I’ve shared your feedback with the team as it helps us to improve.
I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy our nightly entertainment, as these shows are well received by many of our guests. We understand the importance of entertainment and our Fun Club manager has been made aware of your comments. Also, I apologize for your discomfort in the casino; however smoking is allowed in this area.
Please know that we’re currently looking in to the situation with our beach chairs, so that all of our guests will be able to relax with beach chairs.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your friends again to provide an unforgettable stay at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary island of Aruba, the Occidental Grand Aruba is an all-inclusive luxury hotel on beautiful Palm Beach. The Grand Aruba Resort features a casino, dining, bars, nightlife, water sports and elegant event space for meetings & weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.