We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay in Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Aruba to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Middletown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Stay in Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We used our RCI Exchange points and went to the Occidential Grand Aruba at Palm Beach Aruba. We had never been to Aruba before and read a lot of reviews on this website and others and most of the reviews were good but you know you can't make everyone happy.

We got there and went to the First Club to sign in and that took about an hour but at least they served snacks and drinks to help off set the time spent. The person who did finally registered us was very friendly and the registration was very quick. When we got to our room the one bedroom suite was two room with a connector door in between. The hotel was revamped to have time shares in the top three floors of towers.

The room that we got was looked out on the south side of the building and not the pool area which I was glad because that gave us a much better view of the ocean and beach, I know some people would be upset not getting the pool view but we enjoyed our room placement. The room was extremely clean and the bed was a little on the firm side but had no problem sleeping in it.

The kitchen was nothing more than a wet bar with a microwave and small coffee maker which we did not use either one of them. They had bottles of liquor on the counter to use but didn't use any of them either. The TVs in the room were large screen LED TVs and were very useful since we were down for the Sandy Storm and watched what was going on at home. The only thing they didn't have as a channel was TWC which would have been nice to watch but had CNN which was useful instead.

The food at the Hotel was very good but the all-inclusive was rather expensive and would have rather been able to go off property to other resturants that were right across the street. The shopping across the street was really nice close by and enjoyed just walking out our hotel to get to them.

The nightlife was OK but you need to go to the bar near the lobby and go listen to Lenny. He was the best entertainer there. The Dancers in the ballroom was enjoyable and good as well.

I would recommend the Occidential to anyone and if you were looking for a all inclusive resort. We loved Aruba and will come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,330
    1,046
    588
    332
    282
See reviews for
798
1,879
59
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went back to Occidetal. Would highly recommend upgrading to Royal Club, fabulous service there, especially with Fanny, Melvin and Elena. Rooms clean, beach and pool very clean. All staff from the moment you get there til you leave super helpful and friendly. Mini bar stocked daily. A la carte restaurants offer good variety, and food. My favorite is the Italian. Don't know why some people complain, and if you tip, you get even better service.Definetly go again.

Room Tip: Choose ninth floor if you upgrade to Royal Club, room 1910 has great view of pool and beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A six day trip turned into a ten day trip due to hurricane Sandy which worked out well for me for the first two extended days because i was'nt ready to leave but by day ten I was itching to go.The food became monotonous the entertainment was sparse but fun and even sometimes exciting. Specialty restaurants are the way to go, book them at check-in to secure the best time slots to prevent 9: 30 dinner reservations. The staff is generally very friendly with the occasional bad apple mixed in. watersports are rarely taken advantage of so there is plenty of equipment and never a line. The drinks were amazing as one of my travel mates would say, do yourself a favor and order the Dirty Banana. We rented a Jeep for three days but with a little planning you could cover the island in one day. The caves in the national park are well worth visiting and so is baby beach with its tranquil waters perfect for non swimmers and inexperinced snorklers. Go and have fun in the sun, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I made it back to our Honeymoon destination. There where a lot of upgrades since we were last there. As usual the Views/Beach is amazing. We opted for the Royal Club this time
and it was well worth it. The Help & Service were outstanding. I'm guessing we will be back yet again sooner than later!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very nice staff...all spoke english. Very safe. Never was hassled by anyone.
Complaints....the pool/beach loungers are nasty and need to be replaced. Our mini fridge was never refilled even when we left a note for the maid. That was my biggest complaint. The buffet was good but for breakfast it was never peaceful cause there was a family of screaming kids running around thr restaurant...so annoying but thats not the resorts fault. The oriental, italian, and royal club had amazing food. The mexican restaurant was grose. But the servers were all very nice. My husbands complaints included that there was only one bar open late which is the disco. Beach was beautiful but crowded. We enjoyed our trip but you MUST MAKE DINNER
RESERVATIONS ASAP. Overall very great trip, beautiful island....favorite drinks were happy island, a day at the beach and dirty monkey....

Room Tip: Royal club
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

PREFACE: Have stayed all over the Caribbean & Mexico, at all level of resorts from 3* to 5 diamond.

Stayed here Oct 19-27, Premium Jacuzzi Oceanfront Suite

OVERALL PRO's: Great location, beachfront rooms are very spacious with fantastic views, nice looking pool area, great activities staff, beach has waves but no major drop off.
OVERALL CON's: Food overall was a bit on the bland side, gym is very small.

ROOMS: Our room was very large with a great view overlooking the beach. Comfy king bed, dual head shower, double jacuzzi tub, okay TV with DVD player and lots of closet/cupboard space. Tile throughout and a double sized balcony - narrow but long & perfect for watching the sunset. See my room video on my you tube channel at cturnertravel.

FOOD/BEVERAGES: Breakfast buffet had lots of options - not the best I've ever seen but I certainly didn't go hungry. Lunch buffet was smaller but the chargrilled burgers were a nice indulgence. Dinner a bit bland. Ate at the Royal Club for breakfast & dinner (1x each) and that was very good. Service was great at every bar and if you want less booze (or extra) just ask and it's no problem.

BEACH/POOLS/ACTIVITIES: The beach is very good here. Busy but one day the waves were rolling and it was great to watch people try to stay on their feet. Other days, super calm and perfect for floating along. Pool chairs get taken early and music is louder here. Bar opens early and by mid-day things are hopping. Water aerobics is one of the first activities and I've never seen 80% of the people in the pool participating before! It was wild. Crazy games were fun to watch too.

LOCATION: right in the middle of Palm Beach, nice paved walkway that starts at Divi and ends at Holiday Inn - always see lots of joggers & walkers burning calories here. Three piers off the beach which are great for a cocktail while watching the sunset. Cheapest for drinks is DePalm (in front of Riu) or Holiday Inn pier. Can walk for miles on the beach. Shops are across the street about 1/4 mile.

Would definitely recommend this resort to others and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed here for our honeymoon and it was ok... Some highs and some lows. Let me explain:
* Royal Club- do it! The concierge reps take care of you. Veronica was amazing! The private eating area is delicious and premium drinks for as long as you like. It is absolutely worth it!
* Rooms? We first got a room with double beds... Um not what we ordered and not having it on our honeymoon. Then they moved us to a pretty basic room. Nothing fancy... But then Veronica (again why the Royal Club is worth the upgrade) got us moved to a luxury suite. We had beach view.. Most of the rooms are "partial beach view" and that can means you face a garage but with binoculars and rubber spine you can turn and see some of a beach.
* Pool- nice but small. You have to be up at 7 am to claim a chair or you'll be chair less all day. I thought this was a joke but its not.
* Beach- absolutely beautiful. It's clean, big and perfect. Claim chairs and floats early.
* Staff- they were all very friendly. In general, people is Aruba were so personable and hospitable.
* Food- we liked the Italian restaurant. The other spots didn't get my attention so we ate out twice- Passions and Flying fish bone. Royal Club gives you free room service at any time

Overall, it was cool. We had fun. But if you are looking for super luxury this isn't it. This is much more casual.

Room Tip: Beach view can mean partial peak of the beach. Please be watchful of this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary island of Aruba, the Occidental Grand Aruba is an all-inclusive luxury hotel on beautiful Palm Beach. The Grand Aruba Resort features a casino, dining, bars, nightlife, water sports and elegant event space for meetings & weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.