We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stuck in aruba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“stuck in aruba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A six day trip turned into a ten day trip due to hurricane Sandy which worked out well for me for the first two extended days because i was'nt ready to leave but by day ten I was itching to go.The food became monotonous the entertainment was sparse but fun and even sometimes exciting. Specialty restaurants are the way to go, book them at check-in to secure the best time slots to prevent 9: 30 dinner reservations. The staff is generally very friendly with the occasional bad apple mixed in. watersports are rarely taken advantage of so there is plenty of equipment and never a line. The drinks were amazing as one of my travel mates would say, do yourself a favor and order the Dirty Banana. We rented a Jeep for three days but with a little planning you could cover the island in one day. The caves in the national park are well worth visiting and so is baby beach with its tranquil waters perfect for non swimmers and inexperinced snorklers. Go and have fun in the sun, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,485
    1,173
    664
    369
    312
See reviews for
926
2,066
67
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I made it back to our Honeymoon destination. There where a lot of upgrades since we were last there. As usual the Views/Beach is amazing. We opted for the Royal Club this time
and it was well worth it. The Help & Service were outstanding. I'm guessing we will be back yet again sooner than later!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very nice staff...all spoke english. Very safe. Never was hassled by anyone.
Complaints....the pool/beach loungers are nasty and need to be replaced. Our mini fridge was never refilled even when we left a note for the maid. That was my biggest complaint. The buffet was good but for breakfast it was never peaceful cause there was a family of screaming kids running around thr restaurant...so annoying but thats not the resorts fault. The oriental, italian, and royal club had amazing food. The mexican restaurant was grose. But the servers were all very nice. My husbands complaints included that there was only one bar open late which is the disco. Beach was beautiful but crowded. We enjoyed our trip but you MUST MAKE DINNER
RESERVATIONS ASAP. Overall very great trip, beautiful island....favorite drinks were happy island, a day at the beach and dirty monkey....

Room Tip: Royal club
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

PREFACE: Have stayed all over the Caribbean & Mexico, at all level of resorts from 3* to 5 diamond.

Stayed here Oct 19-27, Premium Jacuzzi Oceanfront Suite

OVERALL PRO's: Great location, beachfront rooms are very spacious with fantastic views, nice looking pool area, great activities staff, beach has waves but no major drop off.
OVERALL CON's: Food overall was a bit on the bland side, gym is very small.

ROOMS: Our room was very large with a great view overlooking the beach. Comfy king bed, dual head shower, double jacuzzi tub, okay TV with DVD player and lots of closet/cupboard space. Tile throughout and a double sized balcony - narrow but long & perfect for watching the sunset. See my room video on my you tube channel at cturnertravel.

FOOD/BEVERAGES: Breakfast buffet had lots of options - not the best I've ever seen but I certainly didn't go hungry. Lunch buffet was smaller but the chargrilled burgers were a nice indulgence. Dinner a bit bland. Ate at the Royal Club for breakfast & dinner (1x each) and that was very good. Service was great at every bar and if you want less booze (or extra) just ask and it's no problem.

BEACH/POOLS/ACTIVITIES: The beach is very good here. Busy but one day the waves were rolling and it was great to watch people try to stay on their feet. Other days, super calm and perfect for floating along. Pool chairs get taken early and music is louder here. Bar opens early and by mid-day things are hopping. Water aerobics is one of the first activities and I've never seen 80% of the people in the pool participating before! It was wild. Crazy games were fun to watch too.

LOCATION: right in the middle of Palm Beach, nice paved walkway that starts at Divi and ends at Holiday Inn - always see lots of joggers & walkers burning calories here. Three piers off the beach which are great for a cocktail while watching the sunset. Cheapest for drinks is DePalm (in front of Riu) or Holiday Inn pier. Can walk for miles on the beach. Shops are across the street about 1/4 mile.

Would definitely recommend this resort to others and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed here for our honeymoon and it was ok... Some highs and some lows. Let me explain:
* Royal Club- do it! The concierge reps take care of you. Veronica was amazing! The private eating area is delicious and premium drinks for as long as you like. It is absolutely worth it!
* Rooms? We first got a room with double beds... Um not what we ordered and not having it on our honeymoon. Then they moved us to a pretty basic room. Nothing fancy... But then Veronica (again why the Royal Club is worth the upgrade) got us moved to a luxury suite. We had beach view.. Most of the rooms are "partial beach view" and that can means you face a garage but with binoculars and rubber spine you can turn and see some of a beach.
* Pool- nice but small. You have to be up at 7 am to claim a chair or you'll be chair less all day. I thought this was a joke but its not.
* Beach- absolutely beautiful. It's clean, big and perfect. Claim chairs and floats early.
* Staff- they were all very friendly. In general, people is Aruba were so personable and hospitable.
* Food- we liked the Italian restaurant. The other spots didn't get my attention so we ate out twice- Passions and Flying fish bone. Royal Club gives you free room service at any time

Overall, it was cool. We had fun. But if you are looking for super luxury this isn't it. This is much more casual.

Room Tip: Beach view can mean partial peak of the beach. Please be watchful of this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Update to Roayl Club and I have to say that in the dining room in royal club, you will be served by Fanny, Melvin and Lina. They are just the very best, will get you anything you want with a smile.

I am returning, this is my fifth trip and cannot wait to see you all again.

Karen

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to royal club or ask for a room on sixth floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Been a time share member for 11 years.Not as much fun as when it was the Allegro when it had the Sports bar and after hours pizza bar by the pool, but they are getting there. Over cast the first five nights and sunny the next five (risidual effects of hurricane). The beach is still fantastic. Ate at the Italian restauraunt, had Francisco as waiter and was great. Ate at Zen habaci grill with waiter Elmo and chef Boy who put on a fantastic show. Buffet was decent. Also have to mention Fanny at the Royal club, a fantastic person and waitress. Also if you have any problems Marna (not sure of spelling) at the First Club was a great help. Lenny in the Lobby bat was a great singer.Over all great vacation and can't complain

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellari...
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,079 reviews
3.6 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 9 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Palm Beach, Aruba, this resort features all the ingredients for a unique vacation: a location right on the beach, turquoise waters, the fine white sands of the Caribbean, and warm weather throughout the year. This high-end Aruba All-Inclusive resort is the best vacation destination for families and couples. The Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort is close to many tourist attractions and just steps away from the entertainment, lounges, discos and shopping areas the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.