We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our First All Inclusive"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Aruba to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“"Our First All Inclusive"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Overall the Occidental Grand Aruba was a great resort to spend our anniversary. I would not be able to compare it to other all inclusives since this was our first one, but we thought the value was good for what they provide. We did have some trouble at check in however. We were told our room would be ready at 3:00, and it was not ready until after 4:30. Also on our first night we had an issue with broken plumbing and the bathroom was flooding. We reported the problem and the maintenance were very slow to fix it. We finally requested to be moved to another room and they were also very slow to make that happen for us. That was my main complaint during our stay. I did not really like the way they book the reservations for the on property restaurants. You can only book 4 at a time. If you want the hibachi for example in the Asian restaurant, you could not book it until the day of and it was already full. So that was a disappointment. Also, the beds are uncomfortably firm, but the rooms are clean. But all in all everything else was very nice. The food is very good, the beach is beautiful, they have fun resort activities, and most of the staff were very nice and acommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    1,014
    563
    321
    272
See reviews for
773
1,840
56
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently for our anniversary. This place came highly recommended by coworkers but sadly it did not live up to our expectations in some ways.

Location - couldn't be better in this area. Hotel is centrally located and has easy access to shopping, the beach, and restaurants.

Hotel grounds - pool is nice and there is easy access to the beach. As other reviewers have noted the beach does get packed pretty early.

Gym - what gym? I know the hotel boasts that there is a gym on sight but its a joke. A glorified closet at best. This was a huge disappointment and one of the reasons we wouldn't stay here again. 1 treadmill and a couple of free weights. Unacceptable for this type of hotel.

Food - onto another reason we wouldn't stay here again. The buffet is basically hamburgers and hot dogs. There are very limited options for vegetarians ( I hope u like French fries). The restaurants get booked very fast. Make reservations ASAP. Italian and mexican are the best but thats not saying much. Food was a huge disappointment. There are affordable food.options outside of the hotel so we would not do all inclusive ever again.

Room - we stayed in a reg deluxe room. I wasnt expecting a great view but I couldnt believe what we did get....a parking lot!! I tried to live with it but I just couldnt. After some begging and pleading, I wad able to get switched to a pool view room which was great.

Service - this part I cannot complain. Employees.are nice and are willing to help. This was supported by my room situation since we were able to get switched.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Overall, the Occidental Grand Aruba was a great place to spend our honeymoon. Although I don't have anything else to compare it to, I think it was a great value, and overall, a nice resort. I thought the staff was very helpful and accommodating. I liked how Guest Services would book reservations at offsite restaurants and for other excursions as well. Paola Garcia was the person in Guest Services we dealt with most often, and she was most helpful.
The restaurants in the resort offered a good variety of food, and it was all good to very good. Perhaps our favorite employee at the resort was Daryl. We first met Daryl when he delivered champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to our room. He was extremely pleasant and friendly, and really seemed to enjoy his job. We also had him as a server at Desire, the Caribbean fusion restaurant, on the two occasions we ate there for dinner. He was personable, attentive, and accommodating, and also helped us out when a torrential rain interrupted our Romantic Dinner.
Marlon in L'Olio Italian restaurant, and Jun at Zen were also skilled servers that I would recommend.

Room Tip: I had an Ocean View Room facing the beach. The room was bigger than some apartments, and had a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have stayed at the Occidental Grand Aruba, yearly, for 11 years!! We look forward to our stay every October to celebrate our Anniversary!! We joined the Occidental Vacation Club in 2003, and could not be happier with the Aruba location!! The hotel, beach, restaurants, entertainment, and staff are the best we have found!! We are greeted each year by Marilyn, in the First Club!! The all-inclusive restaurant staff, Eugene, Myrna, Claudia, Jane Braafhart, Joyce, June, Boy, Andres, & Carlos, welcome us with hugs everyday!! The Beach Bar staff take good care of us, especially, Mario & Luis!! The Hotel beach is well taken care of, and comfortable with many palapas!! The "Fun Club" Entertainers are very talented, and put on wonderful shows!! Lenny Lake is a great singer in the Lobby!! We cannot wait to go back next year!! Thank you Occidental Grand Aruba for a wonderful vacation!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton , Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Melvin, Lissette, Maria, Fanny , Royal restaurant & Room Service are the Best ,EXCELLENT, SERVICE, anything you want they do. Royal Club Beach ,Jessica the Best .... Royal Club concierge Best , Veronica does a GREAT,GREAT, GREAT, JOB also Hazel & Vivian are also very good. Specialty restaurants italian, Franchesco -very good, Oriental Boy & Elmo very good food & Service, Desire - Daryl Best Waiter, Night Club Paris & Freddie ,serve the Best Drinks . Ivette, Marilyn, Belinda Estrelle first club and the Bartender Edmundo Helped make our vacation wonderful. This has been our best trip yet and we look forward to returning in Feb. We have been to Aruba 19x 13 at this Hotel , this was by far the Best although they still need to make the food a little better it is improving. PS they need Feather Pillows

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were there for our 30th anniversary. We booked back in March. We asked for a king, pool-ocean view, but were given a parking lot view on the 4th floor. They said we could move across the hall to a pool view 4 days later, but we didn't want to waste a half day to do so. Waiters in the buffet were very accomodating, even though the food was just average. Speciality restaurants were better, although they gave the larger groups preference on service. Easy walking at night to other hotels and stores. Every morning you needed to get up early to get your hut or chairs. Also, the airport security took forever on the way home...2-3 ckpoints. We would return, maybe another hotel where customer service was more accomodating.

Room Tip: Pool-oceanview is the nicest on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The staff at this resort is always very nice and helpful. The following staff is a big reason we vacation here yearly.To mention the staff by name Roddy Prez ,and Angela are number one top shelf bartenders as well as great people . excellent.. Johnny and Frank very helpful on the beach , excellent. In the members vip area VERY nice, caring and informative .Blinda and Estrelle Timpner, also Edmundo the bartender in vip very nice and helpful . The beach is kept very clean and the view is so relaxing . The service is very good , most staff can help you with your questions specially the ones mentioned above . The pool as well as the ocean are very nice and relaxing . Jimmy the one involved with activities is also great and will always get you involed in something .The buffet is worth eating at dif. menu each night . We really can not wait to go back. Also you meet people from all over and make new frendships . Thank you all for another perfect vacation . Mr and Mrs J Lugara, New Jersey , USA

Room Tip: .The rooms are all very nice. The pool side is just as quiet as other sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 83 | Palm Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary island of Aruba, the Occidental Grand Aruba is an all-inclusive luxury hotel on beautiful Palm Beach. The Grand Aruba Resort features a casino, dining, bars, nightlife, water sports and elegant event space for meetings & weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Occidental Aruba
Aruba Grand Occidental
Occidental Hotel Aruba
Grand Aruba
Occidental Grand Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.