We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Aruba to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

went with 4 friends. had a great time.beautiful beach. de palm pier. in the heart of all the action. hotel and staff top shelf.this was my 2nd time there. every time i go i can't wait to return. my favorite place to stay in aruba. close to all the clubs and shopping as well.you feel safe and can walk anywhere from hotels to casino'swill be back again.thanks

Room Tip: oceanfront the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,682
    1,180
    504
    229
    205
See reviews for
793
2,121
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First off wanted to Awknowledge the staff, For the most part they worked really hard and did a very good job. CASSIE, she works in the upstairs bar. She was amazing and deservs to be promoted. She was by far the hardest working person, he manager clearly did not recognize how hard she worked as he was constantly giving her a hard time

The resort was in a great location, The rooms were nice, But the beds and pillows were the worst ive ever slept on. Some rooms did have newer beds, but our room clearly did not!

The resort is not for young couples or teenagers, The entertainment needs to be improved.

I really enjoyed the resort but will not go back, As there are far better places to go

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spacificallyspas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I own a travel agency so this was a vacation/business trip.

First time in Aruba - land vacation - I have spent the day at the Hyatt - port day off a cruise. This hotel advertises as a luxury and it is not luxury as far as I am concerned.
The pros - fabulous beach, clean hotel, buffet food in both main restaurant and beach restaurant were very good for an all-inclusive, staff around the pool were very nice as well.

The cons- customer service horrible - front of house. Richard the General Manager needs extensive training. But, Riu corporate doesn't care because I have complained to the powers that be and their response is - no response. So, you better hope you have no problems when you are there.

You have to wake up each day early go down to the dining desk to make a reservation for the same night dining. I don't want to have to wait in line 8AM to make a reservation. There are only 2 seatings for dinner 6:30 and 9:00, no mixed alcoholic drinks served in the restaurants. Beer and wine in one place and just wine in the other. Now, you can go to the bar get your own drink and bring it to your table. One night we were going to the buffet and passed the Asian restaurant at 7:00 it was empty my husband asked if we could come in and have dinner and they said no only 6:30 and 9:00?

The spa had little kids jumping in the hot tub and staff did not tell them to get out or ask the parents to remove them.

The beds were not as hard as I thought. I had requested a special mattress cover to make it softer before I came and it never showed up.

To get a hut on the beach find a beach person give them $50.00 for the week to reserve your hut or you won't get one.

I do believe this place has great potential but not with the present owners or management.

However, my expectations are extremely high when a resort advertises themselves as 5 stars or luxury. This is an average property with a fantastic beach, a great location, the casino is small but nice.

If the cons I mentioned won't bother you , you will be happy here.

Happy Travels.

Room Tip: Want a good view of the Ocean you want the main building, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing RIU Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for taking the time to give us your constructive and valued feedback. For us every comment is helpful in improving the hotel’s services and for ongoing and future staff training.

We were concerned to note that we failed to live up to your expectations.

On the one hand, we would like to thank you for bring up your satisfaction regarding our fabulous beach, clean hotel, buffet food in both main restaurant and beach restaurants and our staff around the pool.

On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that our customer service failed to live up to your expectations. The ethos of our staff training requires a helpful, friendly and very obliging service at any time. The behavior of our employees not meeting these criteria is inexcusable. We will raise this issue with those responsible and figure out the problem so that it does not reoccur.

We thank you very much for your helpful and reasonable criticism and we would be delighted if you would honor us with another opportunity to convince you of our RIU service and quality.

With our best wishes we remain,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I honeymooned here for 2 weeks in October 2012 and had an amazing time. We stayed in an ocean view room in building B.

We actually had no problem with the beds being hard the entire time we were there but that does seem to be a common complaint.

The buffet food was really good (especially the pasta station!). Of course there are a lot of repetitive items (you can only make salad so many different ways?) but they had a different station each night, like sushi or Mexican. Don't miss Mexican night as it is delicious!
We tried 2 a la Cartes and didn't think they were good... Stick with the buffet it's so much better.

We did get up early to reserve seats at the pool since that was the only way to get an ideal spot but that's the name of the game...

We saw Carlos the manager everywhere at all hours of the day, talking to guests and asking them for feedback. I think that says a lot about how much the resort cares that you enjoy your time.

Some highlights:
- Enrique is an awesome waiter! Sit in his section for dinner and he will make sure you have everything you need
- Walking around town was fun and very safe. We bought some great souvenirs and also went to Señor Frogs. We definitely recommend going into town at night as there are many vendors that set up on the streets and they are worth checking out.
- the Dirty Monkeys are soo good!! We are not big drinkers so can't really comment on the bar quality as that was pretty much what we ordered the entire time
- We did the jeep safari excursion and had so much fun
- the Sports Bar was a great find (try the popcorn!)

The only complaint we had was that the entertainment at night is really not good...the limbo show actually got kind of creepy when the guy was rubbing fire all over himself.

We LOVED Aruba and the Riu and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our second trip to Aruba in 5 years, we went this time in October/November and again the weather was amazing the whole time (Left just after Halloween). Its been almost 6 years since we were last here and we were a little surprised at the wear and tear the hotel has taken in that time. (lots of repairs needed). Still its a beauty spot, weather you cannot beat.

We were suprised that they had not encorporated a disco..the nightly entertainment area is far too small and its the same as it was 6 years ago (yikes). Time to move forward, folks! In all the resort is what we expected, we had an ocean vew suite (we could walk out the door to the ocean) and we made use of the walkways daily (running the beach is AWESOME!) The food did get a lil boring ater 7 days, but such is typical o all inclusives. What didnt impress us was the swim up bar (seemed dirty and smelled yucky) and the dampness in the rooms (this really needs work- my clothes were actually wet).

We loved the beach, the water is glorious! We loved the little shops in town and the shopping/dining/movie theatre areas in walking distance of the hotel. We went to the movies and to dinner and enjoyed lots of walking while there this trip. (it reminded us of a tiny International Drive), Orlando).

Same as everyone else has stated..the beds suck. lol This hotel is all about the relax. Its not a huge party place, its doesnt have great entertainment...I recommend this resort i you are lkooking or fabulous weather, good food, and a great beach to play on. Its all about the downtime here!

Room Tip: Ocean suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Where do I start... at the beginning i guess. We arrived at the RIU Palace and checked into our room. The floors were sopping wet but we assumed it was because it was just cleaned. We requested a cot be put in the room and was told that it would arrived shortly. The beds were rock hard and we had heard that before hand. We had our travel agent request a mattress pad. It was not put on the bed. We left the room to go to the beach. There were no lounge chairs anywhere. We came back up at 5pm, the floor were still soaking wet & there was still not cot & no mattress pad. We called and they said it would arrive immediately. We attempted to shower but there are no lights in the bath so we washed up in the dark. We left for dinner (the food is atrocious and beware- they do not cater at all to those with food allergies). We came back up from dinner at 10pm. Still no cot and no mattress pad. To top it off, there was water pouring out from the air conditioning unit! there were puddles of water everywhere and many of our belongings were effected. After calling and screaming they finally came up at 11pm that night. They brought the cot- that's it. They did not fix the air conditioner or moo the puddles so we slept on a rock hard bed surrounded by water.
Next morning... We went down to the beach at 6am to assure we would get a beach hut and lounge chairs only to find that they were all taken already. Apparently guests put towels on everything at night. Then we went to the pool area- YUCK! The pool area is loud and to top it off this hotel caters to many who believe that they should display their butts- big and small! Every bathing suit was a thong and we had 6 kids under 12 with us. This is suppose to be a family resort - not so much! It was offensive to all. We could not eat at their restaurants because of food allergies so we ended up eating out every day at an additional cost of over $200 per couple each night. We even attempted to have the hotel make us reservations at señor frogs one night and the hotel told us they do not serve children. We walked by the restaurant later and saw that almost every table had kids. We asked the restaurant why they wouldn't take our reservation and was told that the RIU does not receive a kick back from them so they will not send any of their guests there even if they request it. This hotel, their management and the atmosphere is most definitely a place for those who are not looking for a high end hotel. We were all (12 people in total) extremely disappointed and will never stay at any RIU in any country ever again. Trust me, I travel to expensive hotels several times a year and if you are looking for a great place to stay, look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Even the newer building are shabby at best. The beds are rock hard and if you decide to stay then g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing RIU Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for taking the time to give us your constructive and valued feedback.

We are disappointed to hear about your experience. I assure you this normally does not happen; however, we have used your feedback as a reminder for all of our team members of our procedure.

It is important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable at our hotel. The ethos of our staff training requires a helpful, friendly and very obliging service at any time. The behaviour of our employees not meeting this criteria is inexcusable. We will raise this issue with those responsible and figure out the problem so that it does not reoccur. We thank you very much for your helpful and reasonable criticism.

We hope you will choose to visit us again, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of Guest Service that are typical at our resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband & I just returned from a 7 night vacation to the Riu Palace. We were there from March 20th to the 27th. It was our first trip to Aruba, and we loved it, but it was really windy while we were there. This was the fifth Riu we have stayed at; we have stayed at the Riu Negril & the Riu Tropical Bay, and the Riu Ocho Rios in Jamaica, and also the Riu Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Therefore, we pretty much know what to expect from a Riu. The beds are very hard at Rius, so they will provide a mattress topper if requested. Also, they all continue to have only two times for dinner reservations at the ala carte restaurants; the times are always 6:30 and 9:00 P.M. Everyone complains about the times being either too early or too late, and yet the Riu never changes the times to be more accommodating. At this particular Riu, I would have to say our biggest complaint would be the very poor condition of the beach lounge chairs. However, the beach is beautiful and although people get up early to take the palapas, we never had a problem because there are ample palm trees to provide enough shade. There were also many chairs by the pool. Overall, we thought the resort was nice. The food was very good, particularly the buffets and the service was very good as well. They could use better and larger plastic glasses at the pool bar; they used very small dixie cups. We were in room 703, and we had a beautiful view of the entire pool area and the ocean. So, we will return to Aruba and maybe to the Riu. However, they should make some updates ( particulary buy new beach chairs), because we calculated we paid about 700 hundred dollars a night to stay there, so there is no excuse for broken and torn chairs.

Room Tip: I would recommend a junior suite oceanview. We really liked the view from our room 703.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.