We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Aruba to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Oakdale, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great beach and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is located on a beautiful, clean, wide beach in a great location on the island. The hotel has a beautiful pool, a great spa, and plenty of food to munch on all day. The hotel is in a great location not only because its on one of the widest sections of beach in the high rise area but also because you are close enough to walk to some restaurants and bars. To get into the port where the cruise ships come in is only a 10 min taxi ride. Also another great thing about the location of the hotel is the pier out in front where a huge amount of tours and excursions leave from. I would stay here again and was very happy with the overall experience. The room is nice and was kept very clean, always plenty of fresh towels, fridge in the room is always stocked and ready to go with cold beer. And one more good thing: its the largest and highest hotel on the island and you can always find your way home

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,795
    1,274
    546
    259
    225
See reviews for
878
2,250
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This is my fourth time at the RIU Palace Aruba and still loving it. The only little things that could be improved are the cleanliness of restaurant glasses and beds. The odd time there is a smudge on a glass or a little spot in it, but just ask for another one and the great service will give it to you! As for the beds they are a bit stiff to sleep on but overall it's a great stay every time! I will for sure come back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a room that had multiple cracks in walls , unpainted sections , mildew and no thermostat. We got a room change after promising not to tell any other people in similar area about getting a room change. The new room was better and in a different building. However , they had large areas that were having the floor fixed, that resulted in loud smashing from 9:00 till 5 pm along with dust everywhere. We tried to look past this only to have horrible mooded service people that thought it was funny when they spilt wine on my wife's lap ruining her new dress with I repeat no apology. Quickly a supervised came over and ushered that girl away and told us to talk to front desk about getting it cleaned. When we went front desk they told us they couldn't do anything. Apart from that .. The food was cold and undercooked a lot of the time and just tasted gross like they cooked on one grill without cleaning it. This riu is definitely on a downward spiral for service

The worst part is that so many people feel this way that they a publicly voicing it in lobby, pool area , etc.

I will never give anymore of my money to this horrible hotel chain again.

And it really tainted me from wanting to come back to aruba. That's sad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holguin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Riu Palace the week of January 28 until February 5/13.
We had a wonderful time. The hotel is nice, the staff are very nice. The food is good however,
they do not put enough salt on the food. There pancakes have no flavour but there french toast croissants were amazing. Make sure you don't get room 659 in the old section, the bed is very hard and it makes to much noise. We complained about it. Also, where the Riu is situated it is very windy. When walking on the beach, I noticed the best beach is where the Holiday Inn is situated. It is not as breezy. Other then that everything is good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was very nervous when I read all of the review but this resort is not bad. We were in building B in room 827 and it was fabulous. we spent one night in rom 640 same building facing the Westin dumpster. I asked for a room change and they said no problem. I go tup at 7am and got great chairs everyday. Its worth it. Get up throw your towels ona chair and go back to sleep. We ate at the steak house, Italian restuarant and Japanese. to our surprise i rank it the restaurants in this order, Japanese, Italian and Steakhouse. The steak was gross. The buffet food was fine. But hey people we are not in Aruba for the food being from NY all we wanted was constant sun and a drink with an umbrella in it. We got it all. Diego at the bar is great. There is a great outdoor bar looking over the pool Carlos is there every night and he is the best bartender in the RIU. We ate one night at madaam jannettes. I highly reccommend this place. it had live music and the food was great. Overall i would come back here. I've been to a lot of places but this pool bar was def the best. Don't woory about the food and I would avoid building C also. we didn't stay there but its clearly run down even from the outside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

great hotel..food is good...rooms are ok but only in there to sleep anyway...drinks flow quickly! beach is perfect and in good location and right next to de palm pier..walking to shops restaurants is just a short walk out of the front of the hotel. will return again!! felix at the pool bar knew exactly what we wanted each time!! tipping goes a long way folks!

Room Tip: upper floor in the "A" block rooms..perfect for seeing the de palm pier and the california...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

First off I need to say it is not a 5 star hotel as some would say when they're not happy.I would give it a 4 star. I was a little nervous when reading some negative reviews, but traveling to other destinations I realized some people are never satisfied or they are just snobby. We checked in on the 26th of Jan. and it was quick. Took all of 5-10 minutes. Askedk for higher floor with 2 other couples who came with us. We received 7th floor. We all had junior suites with ocean views. Beautiful view. Rooms not glamorous but not horrific as some complainers say. Remember, how much time are you actually on your rooms. The buffet is very good. If you can't find something there to eat you have a problem. Fruit, salads, pasta, chicken, steak etc. breakfast very good also. Tons to choose from. Restraunts, we only did steakhouse which was ok. We did an excursion with ABC keep tours and it was awesome. They take you to the north side of the island that is literally untouched. It is a little rugged so be prepared. They take you to 4 sites. We actually saw six. Joel our tour guide did an awesome job. He was so excited to tell you history of the island. You could tell he loves his job! He made our trip that much better! Great job Joel. He took us to the natural pool which is beautiful. After climbing down steps towards it the view is unreal. Then you wade into the water with free snorkel gear they provide and the fish swim right to you while waves crash up against big rocks around you. You will not be disappointed. Last but not least, a shout out to all the great servers who work very hard. From the housekeeping crew to the wait staff. Never had a problem. Always had a smile and said hello. Bartenders at the pool bar were great! Rina, Felix- what a character, Jessica, Linda, Christine, RoseMarie and all the other great bartenders. All in all, the Riu is a good overall hotel for food and drinks. Just remember you are going on your vacation or as some others call holiday. Go with positive attitude and for God's sake have fun and don't worry about negative reviews. Most are minor if that and it's definately not going to ruin your vacation. Hope this helps. Traveled from Jan.26- 31 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.