We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   79 JE Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
HIckory, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited the Riu Palace in October, and found the food, pool, and location to be great. The wait staff was excellent at all the resort restaurants. Our room had a fantastic view, but we did find the bed a bit hard, as other reviewers had too. Our room was very clean, and quite spacious. We did the snorkeling and a jeep tour in the area, and liked that there are some great restaurants witin walking distance. We would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,403
    995
    418
    187
    171
See reviews for
641
1804
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 night Jan 13-18 and this is not a 5 star resort. The grounds look good, room was great but that's about it. We got a beautiful room on the 9th floor of the main building with huge balcony, but only 1 chair. I called 3 days in a row and they were very rude, telling me that the resort is full and they have no chairs. So much for the beautiful balcony. They also have no lounge chairs on the beach if you go after 5:00am. To get a restaurant reservation, you have to line up at 9:00am, otherwise you have to eat at 9:00pm or at the buffet restaurant, which was pretty good. They don't have most of the premium liquor and the coffee is horrible. The espresso is from a machine, so don't even bother to order it. There is no beach bar and no beach service, so if you want to order a drink, you have to walk pretty far to get one. At check out no one said thank you, no one asked how it was and it looked like they are full so no one really cares. Overall OK resort, but don't expect 5 star service. Definitely the rating of this hotel needs to be lowered.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laval qc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

to start sorry for my english i am french canadian. but i have been travelling in 5 stars for many years and its not even a 4 star. first let me tell you that the food is great and thats it...
the sea is very average its not a sparkling water, you dont see your feet ,its not clear..second they is a big problem off plastic cup flying everywhere on the site because off the wind.. specialy at the beach 25 to 30 plastic cup in the sea everyday, bravo for the environment .. its like people dont care and the staff dont care either...problem because to many people on the site more than 800 room so about 1500 to 2000 person on the site ..no towels nochairs even if you wake up at 7 oclock in the morning its already reserved .. after one day i saw that its like a small mafia on the site we discover that if you tip 10 dollars a day ,by magic you will get your chairs and towel even if you wake up at noon..

that is not normal wen you spend like in my case 14000.00 for 3 persons for 2 weeks. that is not a 799 a week trip ,so normalyb you dont have to fight to get towels and chairs.. third thing the first 3 or 4 floor off the hotel smell very bad you must be sure to get 5 floor and more... the beds are like a hard plywood not confortable at all and it was suppose to be a junior suite....

we finally after complein receive room 929 it was better for the smell and the bed was better to..but even if you change room you are going to hear the doors with a big BANG 6 to 10 times every morning starting a 6 to 6.30 ...even the housekeeper dont care and they are talking loud and they bang the doors ..be ready to jump in your bed...

restaurant a la carte cannot be reserved few days in advanced so you need to wait in line every day to reserve.. even there if you do so ,its possible to reserve at 6.30 or 9.00 not in between ..that another thing not normal fo0r a five stars hotel..

oh i forgot in my room the toilet was often block ,my jacuzzi was not working proprely..

the riu need a good refresh the pool abd the paint around the pool is coming in peaces and like i say full off plastic cup drinks flying everywhere... so the food and the sun is great the rest you would like this hotel if you never saw something else or if its your first trip...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this Riu 4 years ago and were truly pleased with the accommodations so much so that we have recommended it to several friends. We decided to go again and were there from January 11-18. Unlike in the past it rained for a day. We stayed in C block, room 654 which was a great corner room with both views of the pool and Caribbean. The hotel staff we found to be very good whether it be the room, restaurants, bar or pool. Very good service that did not require any tipping whatsoever. After reading the previous reviews about people lined up at the desk for specialty restaurant reservations at 9.00AM, I walked up, usually around 10 AM, and booked my restaurants with no line ups and no problems getting a reservation. Same for a car rental. Getting a spot on the beach or around the pool was never a problem for us. We stopped on the way to breakfast around 9.00AM and placed our towels on lounges for our use. There was no problem getting towels. People did reserve the cabanas early and often not use them but that did not affect our getting lounges. The lounges are getting old and several should have been replaced but there was no problem in our getting them. Several previous reports complained of having to tip staff for chairs and unbrellas. We did not encounter this at all BUT local entrepreneurs did set up umbrellas on the public beach and charge for the useage. I would give this location a 4 star rating because there are needed upgrades required for lounges etc and also service within the building. In C Block one of the elevators was out of service every day. There were service personnel there daily from Otis but they still broke down daily leaving one elevator for the whole building. There does not appear to be regular servicing of the premises as in our room the following defects were found. The bed had a corner pineapple decoration screwed back on with 4 drywall screws. The bottom of the bedpost was broken off and the bed rested on the broken piece. The drapery track had the end wall fixture missing so the drapes would hang askew when pulled open. The hair dryer shut down after 5 seconds from overheating (caused by clogged intake screen.) The thermostat did not work so the room was very cool all the time. One of the two bolts holding the toilet in place was missing. This all points to a poor maintenace crew or no regular maintenance. We did not see any hotel service personnel in the week we were there. A sign of the poor maintenance was a beach lounge badly broken and somebody placed it on the grassed area near the beach walkway used by everyone walking between hotels. It was unsightly and in full view of everyone but was there for our last 4 days and still there when we left. For those that complain it is not a five star hotel, I would invite you to stay at the Hyatt Regency or Radisson but be prepared to pay more for the room alone without any food or alcohol that you would at the Riu with excellent food. We enjoyed our stay and taking all into consideration it was a great place to stay at a reasonable price.
HOWEVER, those that travel with Sunwing from Canada, be aware their posted times are guesses at best We were two hours late leaving from Toronto which meant our arrival was at 10.30 PM meaning the flight home for those waiting left about 11.30 PM getting home later in the morning. Sure enough a week later our flight was similarly late for our return meaning we landed in Toronto at 4.30AM and into bed at home by 6.00AM. All the four Sunwing flights on the day we left were late and all the Sunwing flights on our return appeared late as we all landed after 4.00AM. Compounding our problem with Sunwing, we waited for 45 minutes for our baggage to arrive at the carousal. Passengers from another late Sunwing flight arrived at the next carousel 30 minutes after our arrival and their baggage came out and they were leaving the airport and our baggage still not out. I located a worker from Sunwing and when I queried about our baggage was told that the crew unloading our baggage found the area icy and were being careful with our bags. When I pointed out the other flight passengers were leaving with their bags I was told that the crew doing that unloading did not have any problems with ice!!! It was plus 3C outside. Labour problems? On our return day, we attempted to get flight status but all attempts failed using the Sunwing website. We will stay at the Riu again but if Sunwing is the flight carrier we will have second thoughts.

Room Tip: The king size beds appear to be in corner units in block C
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Riu for one week for our honeymoon. If we had just planned just to stay on the grounds of the resort, we would have been bored out of our minds. Thank goodness for the outside strip and for its restaurants / entertainment and shopping. Entertainment is really bad at this resort and needs major improvement for it's "Riu" reputation. The beach is well kept but the shaded areas are taken very very early. I can't complain about the food as there are plenty of variates and options. Breakfast is always the best! The A La Carte restaurants are pretty nice too! If we were to ever return to Aruba (which I doubt we will) we would probably stay in a non all-inclusive resort as there are better restaurants and entertainment elsewhere. Please note, if you are an obsessed coffee / espresso drinker like I am...THE COFFEE IS HORRIBLE!!!!! Worst I have ever had on any resort in my years of travels. We would walk 15 minutes to Starbucks. Just to sum it all up, the resort is beautiful but quite boring. If you're looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway with delicious food and horrible coffee, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Visited Aruba and stayed at the Riu Palace from January 11-17 2013. We had a great time, the service was excellent, the food was great and we would definitely go back. The location is perfect, you can walk to all the nearby bars, restaurants and shops. Although the place is all inclusive we went out to dinner a few nights and the restaurants in Aruba are great. We loved El Guacho, (not in walking distance) expensive, but worth it.

As for the hotel...we were in building B and we had no issues at all. I recommend this building if you want to be close to the casino, restaurants, entertainment and bars. The beds were not great, but we slept fine.

We didn't have any issues getting beach chairs around 9am each day but I can see why people get annoyed and leave negative comments. People would save beach chairs and stay at the pool all day. Pool chairs were tougher to get, people getting up at 5am to reserve them is a little ridiculous but it did not bother us.

I work in the hospitality industry and before leaving for Aruba, I read a good amount of reviews and was a little nervous, but I soon realized that this place was not as bad as the reviews make it out to be. I am glad we chose this place. My girlfriend and I had a very memorable and relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Building B...3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bal Harbour, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Definitely its not a 5 stars
The service is terrible
Begin in the front desk , its like an hostel
We need ask the house keeping 6 times for towel ,coverts or what you like
In the beach there are not chair for everyone , some peope goes at 5 am to reserve the chair
There are 20 palapas for 1000 persons
There are pnly 1 buffet restaurant acceptable the other 4 must be close
The animation not exist , there are 4 very young and unexpert guys thats made 1 salsa lesson of 5 minutes at 5 pm and nothing else

Room Tip: There are oyjer options in aruba better than this
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Palace Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach
Address: 79 JE Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 ft. from various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Tingo, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.