We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, good food choices, very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great hotel, good food choices, very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

my experience with Riu palace in aruba was really good. We were traveling with 1 1/2 year old and 7 year old, my 1 1/2 year old is very picky eater but riu palace was very accommodating for her. Really nice walk by the beach area and beach very clean and beautiful.

Only problem I had was the restaurant menu choices was ok ok for Veggie folks. The buffet area for breakfast, lunch, dinner was very good with choices especially for us.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Thank you for amazing time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,491
    1,043
    445
    202
    184
See reviews for
689
1905
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We just got back from our first trip to Aruba. January 1-8. We stayed at the RIU Palace. We wanted All Inclusive because we took our boys who are 19 and 21. We absolutely loved the RIU. We had 2 junior suites that faced the beach and the pool. We were on the 9th floor and the view was amazing. We were also in Building B which is a newer building. The rooms were so clean and the housekeeping staff was very attentive. Each day we had a different towel design with flowers that the housekeepers made. It was amazing. The restaurants in the hotel were excellent. Our favorite one was the steakhouse and the Italian one. The beds were very hard but my family loved them. Sure we had to get up early to get chairs but it was not a big deal. All in all it was a fabulous vacation at the RIU.

Room Tip: Buildings A or B and 9th or 10th floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went to Aruba for the first time at the beginning of December. I had always heard good things and wanted to go.
Stayed at the Riu Palace. Amazing!!!! Great service, Great Food ate at the buffet most of the time but heard the steak and seafood place was super from some friends. Beach outstanding
weather wonderful - "wind" everyone refers to is a "breeze" and it's lovely. Only problem was people get up early put towels on chairs and leave.....on several occasions the beach staff removed towels that were there too long and made beach umbrella's/trees available.
Rooms were good - had room service for breakfast in mornings it was very good and on time.
Had breakfast in main dining area twice excellent. Crab legs for dinner at buffet, lobster, shrimp wonderful theme nights. There is something for everyone no matter if u r fussy or not.
Very close to many stores, vendors flea markets u can walk at night it's lovely. Rented a jeep and went to Baby Beach and ate at a local fish restaurant it was a fish fry dinner excellent.
Did some shopping in town was not that expensive, and made sure we bought Aruban Aloe which is amazing!!! Also did an excursion to snorkle and it was fun! All in all highly recommend!

Room Tip: ask for ocean view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a disappointment. Difficult to mention everything in a short note. Smelly rooms (mold). Not enough kiosks or chairs at beach (I even woke up at 5:50 AM to get them, and it was already too late – all were taken). Not enough beach towels (After two days I got some towels that I had to keep them dirty for the rest of the vacation). If you want to eat in one of the "Gourmet" Restaurants you have to be in line at 8:00 am for a desk that opens at 9:00 am, otherwise everything is booked. You can only book same day restaurants. Two of the four restaurants (Italian and Japanese weren't good, the French one is ok) .
I stayed in a semi suit – remember those old square TVs???

Room Tip: Don't waste your money going there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I took 18 people to this resort last weekend (January) and the experience was awful! We arrived on a Wednesday and maybe they only get nice on the weekends because things did improve however it is unacceptable that basic needs are not met that they advertise they provide. The hotel is poorly run, poorly taken care of and the people who work there are lazy and not friendly. You can barely find an employee to help you or answer a question. This place is a waste of your vacation dollars and Aruba as a whole was one big disappointment. For a 4 hour flight it was like Myrtle Beach of the Carribean and had absolutely no redeeming or special qualities. Other than our cab driver to and from the hotel who was very proud of his country and confirmed that everyone leaving Riu complains.

In a nutshell this was our experience:
1- Poor customer service- downright rude.
2- Luke warm shower
3- Cheap sheets and outdated comforters- like really disgusting. The room had alot of potential but these people need some help getting into the 2000's
4- Towel service at pool horrible- we were told no towels available for the rest of the day at Noon.
5- Bar service not done in the room. No glasses, no coffee, no ice bucket... Come on' this is basic in an all inclusive
6- Cheap cheap alcohol- OMG they had nothing worth drinking- the main bar at least had absolut but the rest was headache material waiting
7- Buffet was gross- no selection and closes down regularly.
8- Wifi sucks and I mean SUCKS. They write you a code down in handwriting on a peice of torn paper that you have to log on and off each time you come in and out of your room, pool and main area. Noone there has a clue about how the system works.
9- No snacks in evening bar- there is nothing to eat in the room NOTHING. Bring your own food is ridiculous.

We did eventually find a Manager on the afternoon of the 2nd day who was not the GM who seemed to care somewhat but the "it's not my job" was told to us at least 5 times in the 4 days we were there.

Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our travel agent booked a so-called "5 star" property for our honeymoon from Dec 29-Jan 6, 2013.
Assured it was a 5 star property at a star destination we were shocked to check in late (due to flight delay of 4+ hours) and walk into a room smelling like mold and lacking bedding! The room was clearly not ready despite the extra 4+ hours. This property is poorly run from the lack of management strategy, ownership and lack of pride in their profession to the discourteous service of the front line team.
Imagine an all inclusive that has no towels for the poolside from 8am (opening) to noon!! Imagine as hard as it may be an all inclusive that finds the manager harrassing customers that may be taking a few cookies from the buffet! Imagine a five star property (must be a different rating system they used) that has no bedding upon late arrival (the departures had to check out at 11am - we were to check in at 9pm however didn't get there till after 1am) then takes over one and a half hours to bring any bedding...yet couldn't physically hand over the bedding - I had to go into the hallway and take what i needed off the housekeeping cart as the housekeeper stood starring at me and awed that my husband was sleeping on a bed with no bedding??!! the service staff is very poorly trained and definitely not customer friendly. They were unbelievably only looking out for themselves and racing for elevator without regard to the guests that may have been waiting.
The plumbing is ancient and not only is there no water pressure the toilets needed to be pumped several times to flush.
Not enough lounges for the guests in the hotel...guests were out reserving spots from 430/5am in order to have a lounge by the beach or the pool...this is unbelievable especially since this all inclusive didn;t include service!
The GM seemed to think this was his family gathering and had his family dining there on New Year's eve?? that seems odd considering there were guests that could not get seating?? Definitely something to discuss with the Riu management.
The gym had rusty equipment and no air conditioning for parts of the day - this and the fact that 2/3rds of the cardio equipment was not functioning! Towel service for the gym?? got to be kidding!
Wifi at this property was also iffy at best and communication among the staff and management also lacking.
Ask the concierge to book dining off site?? They will tell you yes and when arriving at the restaurant it would not be completed....we went out and booked our own when we met others that had no reservations after the hotel told them they were booked.!!
Very disappointed in the 'not so 5 star' property.

Room Tip: no such thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just came back from our trip to the Rui in Aruba. The following is a list of complaints regarding the property:

1. Rooms are dimly lit and dirty. They did not clean the sand off the floor. The showers are dirty and there is insufficient light in the bathroom. The T.V. remote did not work. Some of the channels had no sound.

2. The Hallways have a mildew smell.

3. There are not sufficient lounge chairs or towels. We repeatedely had to request new towels, sometimes going back three to four times.

4. There was no sign up system for the huts on the beach. People were squatting at the beach. at 5:00a .m. to reserve spots. There was altercations amongst the guests because people resorted to stealing the chairs. This could easily be fixed by having enough chairs and towels.

5. The bathrooms at the pool area were filthy.

6. The Krystal restaurant serves fish that cannot even by cut. The food was inedible. The buffet served was decent.

7. The front desk is rude and inhospitable. We requested late check out and had to go back to the desk four times before receiving a no for an answer.

This is a very poorly run resort! I have visited Aruba on four other occassions at different resorts and have always been satisfied. Unfortunately, this resort seriously requires a renovation, new staff and organization.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 ft. from various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.