We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst vacation I have ever had” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Hazlet, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the worst vacation I have ever had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

stayed at the hotel from Nov 10 to Nov 16 - Firstly Aruba is filthy. the drive from the airport to the hotel showed me a country and its people in dire poverty. The natives were rude and at every chance try to get as much money as they can from the vacationers The golf course was over priced and in terrible shape ($130 a round). The food was average and the service by the staff leaves a lot to be desired. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,491
    1,043
    445
    202
    184
See reviews for
689
1905
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I have recently returned from our 3rd visit to Aruba in 3 years. The last twice has been at the Rui Palace which hasnt disappointed us. Yes, if you wanted to find fault I'm sure you can, as you can in ANY hotel. However, we have thoroughly enjoyed another holiday in Aruba and cannot rate it highly enough
The food is excellent, the drinks are good with some cracking cocktails to be had. Everyone is so friendly in Aruba and at the Riu Palace.
Yes, sometimes the entertainment in the evening was so-so. Yes, the pool bar was sometimes loud and very busy. And of course it was often difficult to get a bed at the pool if you were not up early enough. Live with it and enjoy your holiday in the sun
We will be back to Aruba again in the future but after 3 years in a row, we will probably take a break for a year or two and try somewhere else
However, the MAIN thing about Aruba in general, you feel very safe ! The weather is always fantastic and if it does rain, it lasts minutes and is soon forgotten.

Room Tip: Try and go for a Junior Suite with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. The rooms are big and everything is kept clean and in good condition. The pool is huge, but the beach is what we liked the best. I liked spending time on the belcony, what a gorgeous view! Truly paradise. The food was awesome. We tried all the restaurants and buffet. Excellent. The beds WERE hard, and the entertainment was lacking. The drinks at the pool bar were not the best, but there are other bars to go to on the property where the drinks are better. Plus there is a small bar in the room that suited us just fine. The location is great, and within walking distance of many stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 7 days starting Oct. 27, 2012 till Nov. 03, 2012. I thought this is a five star hotel and a safe place for getaway but just in our second night while we were sleeping we didn't notice somebody got in our room through the bathroom window and took some of our personal belongings which are high end stuff. Where is the safety provided to their guests while in the comfort of the room and while sleeping? This was a traumatic experience for us but we still tried to enjoy the rest of our days though the excitement has gone down. The management didn't do anything and we've lost valuables that we can never ever recover. Please do not take room 241 in building B as this is the room where it's so accessible to thieves. We had no idea this happened to and if it can it will also happen to future visitors of this hotel it doesn't matter where your room is.

Room Tip: higher level and building A
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beds are too hard, buffet is good but repetitive. People who work in the buffet are tensed up and seem under a load of pressure. The restaurants are fair at best.
The pool entertainment is also fair at best. Drinks are so watered down not worth your while to get out of your chair to get one.
The recliners at the beach need to be thrown out and get new ones. After noontime, you eill not see any guys assisting your needs;they are gone!
Front desk is manned poorly, inconsistent.
Occidental's buffet was fair but their restaurants are excellent and hav all kinds of surprises for their guests, luau night, a great barbaque by the pool on Wednesdays.
We will be back there next year. They coordinate everything so much better; better I house management.

Room Tip: All the same. If you like sleeping on bricks, you will have no problem. No noise problem, good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

...hmmm, where shall I start...just got back 2 days ago. The outside looks like a Palace and the inside looks like the roaring 20s...the lobby was OLD and smelled wet and old. The hotel staff was nice and pleasant. They even decorated our rooms for a birthday celebration per our request--awesome job, too! I was advised that this was a 5 star hotel...NOT!! ...more like a 3.75 star. The rooms smelled musty and old and even looked like we were at an oversized Motel 6 room in the 80s. I didn't take any pics of the room, because I was too embarrassed to come back and show my friends the tom foolery I bragged about prior to going. The beds were hard as a brick...really!!! I wasn't sure which would be more comfy, the floor or the bed...I opted for the bed, wasn't sure if there were any creepy crawlies around:) The bathrooms were totally renovated with a jacuzzi tub...but, who takes a bath in a hotel bathroom...I'm Just saying! Nonetheless, the bathrooms were updated and very nice. Back to the room...they had the old skool big butt TV. Really??? We were located in the main building on the 9th floor. Our balconies were huge and had a very nice view!!! The food was good! The buffet had good food, so if you don't get to sign up for a restaurant, no worries, you will not be disappointed in the buffet. Now, the dishes in all of the restaurants were not all that clean. There was ALWAYS something on the dishes, in the food, etc. Yep, so, make sure you bless your food before diggin' in. The activities were mediocre. The best one was the water Zumba with the instructor GLEN...OMG!!! Whew!! He blew our minds:) The worst thing was the MOSQUITOES...they were EVERYWHERE!!! Bring your repellent...they will get you!! WARNING...WARNING...MOSQUITOES WILL GET U!!! They are inside the restaurants, at the pool, beach, in the bathrooms, in your room...EVERYWHERE!!! YIKES!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgettstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Will never go on a vacation that is not all inclusive. What a wonderful pleasant venue. Pool beach facility staff in every part of hotel were wonderful, Although out of the country felt I was in America. The Buffett was excellent every meal, Theme changed nightly. Sushi, Mexican, Chef's special.Would not recommend Krystal Restaraunt unless you are an eclectic diner. I enjoyed ,but definitely a waste of time if meat and potatoes are your thing.Did not go to the Italian reastaraunt because I couldn't get better than I do at home. Many who ate at The Nautilus said it was the best steak house restaraunt ,but all said they were bitten up. Take bug spray. Chose not to go.. This was one awesome friendly week. Would go back in a heartbeat

Room Tip: We had Junior suite ocean view, Carribean was distant but room balcony overlooked pool area, Wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 ft. from various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.