We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Aruba to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Clay, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Had a great time!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. The rooms are big and everything is kept clean and in good condition. The pool is huge, but the beach is what we liked the best. I liked spending time on the belcony, what a gorgeous view! Truly paradise. The food was awesome. We tried all the restaurants and buffet. Excellent. The beds WERE hard, and the entertainment was lacking. The drinks at the pool bar were not the best, but there are other bars to go to on the property where the drinks are better. Plus there is a small bar in the room that suited us just fine. The location is great, and within walking distance of many stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,682
    1,180
    504
    229
    205
See reviews for
793
2,121
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 7 days starting Oct. 27, 2012 till Nov. 03, 2012. I thought this is a five star hotel and a safe place for getaway but just in our second night while we were sleeping we didn't notice somebody got in our room through the bathroom window and took some of our personal belongings which are high end stuff. Where is the safety provided to their guests while in the comfort of the room and while sleeping? This was a traumatic experience for us but we still tried to enjoy the rest of our days though the excitement has gone down. The management didn't do anything and we've lost valuables that we can never ever recover. Please do not take room 241 in building B as this is the room where it's so accessible to thieves. We had no idea this happened to and if it can it will also happen to future visitors of this hotel it doesn't matter where your room is.

Room Tip: higher level and building A
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beds are too hard, buffet is good but repetitive. People who work in the buffet are tensed up and seem under a load of pressure. The restaurants are fair at best.
The pool entertainment is also fair at best. Drinks are so watered down not worth your while to get out of your chair to get one.
The recliners at the beach need to be thrown out and get new ones. After noontime, you eill not see any guys assisting your needs;they are gone!
Front desk is manned poorly, inconsistent.
Occidental's buffet was fair but their restaurants are excellent and hav all kinds of surprises for their guests, luau night, a great barbaque by the pool on Wednesdays.
We will be back there next year. They coordinate everything so much better; better I house management.

Room Tip: All the same. If you like sleeping on bricks, you will have no problem. No noise problem, good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

...hmmm, where shall I start...just got back 2 days ago. The outside looks like a Palace and the inside looks like the roaring 20s...the lobby was OLD and smelled wet and old. The hotel staff was nice and pleasant. They even decorated our rooms for a birthday celebration per our request--awesome job, too! I was advised that this was a 5 star hotel...NOT!! ...more like a 3.75 star. The rooms smelled musty and old and even looked like we were at an oversized Motel 6 room in the 80s. I didn't take any pics of the room, because I was too embarrassed to come back and show my friends the tom foolery I bragged about prior to going. The beds were hard as a brick...really!!! I wasn't sure which would be more comfy, the floor or the bed...I opted for the bed, wasn't sure if there were any creepy crawlies around:) The bathrooms were totally renovated with a jacuzzi tub...but, who takes a bath in a hotel bathroom...I'm Just saying! Nonetheless, the bathrooms were updated and very nice. Back to the room...they had the old skool big butt TV. Really??? We were located in the main building on the 9th floor. Our balconies were huge and had a very nice view!!! The food was good! The buffet had good food, so if you don't get to sign up for a restaurant, no worries, you will not be disappointed in the buffet. Now, the dishes in all of the restaurants were not all that clean. There was ALWAYS something on the dishes, in the food, etc. Yep, so, make sure you bless your food before diggin' in. The activities were mediocre. The best one was the water Zumba with the instructor GLEN...OMG!!! Whew!! He blew our minds:) The worst thing was the MOSQUITOES...they were EVERYWHERE!!! Bring your repellent...they will get you!! WARNING...WARNING...MOSQUITOES WILL GET U!!! They are inside the restaurants, at the pool, beach, in the bathrooms, in your room...EVERYWHERE!!! YIKES!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgettstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Will never go on a vacation that is not all inclusive. What a wonderful pleasant venue. Pool beach facility staff in every part of hotel were wonderful, Although out of the country felt I was in America. The Buffett was excellent every meal, Theme changed nightly. Sushi, Mexican, Chef's special.Would not recommend Krystal Restaraunt unless you are an eclectic diner. I enjoyed ,but definitely a waste of time if meat and potatoes are your thing.Did not go to the Italian reastaraunt because I couldn't get better than I do at home. Many who ate at The Nautilus said it was the best steak house restaraunt ,but all said they were bitten up. Take bug spray. Chose not to go.. This was one awesome friendly week. Would go back in a heartbeat

Room Tip: We had Junior suite ocean view, Carribean was distant but room balcony overlooked pool area, Wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned from Aruba and stayed at the Riu Palace for 5 days. We initally were placed on the 2nd floor of Building B but had to request a room change because the room and entire floor smelled like mildew. We were immediately switched to a room on the 5th floor of the same building and from that point forward everything was great. Other than the rooms being very outdated (hard beds, old tv sets) and the entertainment a little dull at night, everything else was perfect. The front desk staff and customer service rep (Lis) were very friendly and helpful. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived. The waiters (Robert and Lee) were friendly and very rarely were our glasses empty. The staff in the restaurants made every meal enjoyable & the food was EXCELLENT. The room was cleaned timely, there were always additional fresh towels brought nightly and the in-room bar was kept stocked with drinks at all times. The spa was amazing and the prices reasonable. The pool was wonderfull and we never had a problem getting a spot near the poor at any time of day. Even the cab drivers were nice and always offered us a piece of Aruba history while driving us to your destinations. This resort offered us a wonderful and stress free vacation. Last but not least, Aruba is a paradise island!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful 1st anniversary vacation in Aruba at the Riu Palace. It was our first time to the island and we can't wait to go back!!! This review may be long, but I want to provide details! The negative comments others have posted are ridiculous - so if you're thinking of booking a trip here, just do it! :)

Flight/Arrival/Check-In:
We flew from Toronto with Sunwing, flight delayed by about an hour or so, otherwise no issues. Arrival was very smooth in Aruba. The flight crew announced the procedure before we left the plane (ie: where to go, what to do), and they told us to avoid the time share sellers in the terminal - however, we did not see any when we got there. We got through customs and got our luggage quickly. There was a Signature Vacations/Sunwing rep waiting with a sign and he directed us to our bus. There was a separate truck for the luggage - our bags did not travel on the bus with us, which was fine. The ride to the hotel was about 20 mins or so. Upon arrival at the hotel, they had a separate table set up for our check-in, as there were two flights arriving at the same time, and the lobby was packed. The table was divided alphabetically by last name and the process was relatively smooth. There was some confusion afterwards though, regarding actually taking our bags and going to our room. There were only a few bell boys, but we were told to have one of them show us to our room. My husband got tired of waiting, so we just took our own bags and went to the room ourselves, which was fine. Other than this minor issue, our arrival was fine.

Room:
We had a junior suite in building B, with a partial oceanview and a view of the Westin Hotel next door, lol. Unfortunately, we did not get the side that had a pool view and an oceanview, but it was okay. The partial oceanview we had was awesome as it faced the sunset every night! Furthermore, we hardly spent time in the room anyway. It was a good size, decent storage/closet space (in the closet, there is an electronic safe that you can set your own code for), huge bathroom with double sinks and a jacuzzi tub/shower combo. The king size bed was enormous but very firm/hard. We tried sleeping on it for the first two nights, but I couldn't continue, it was just too hard. We called the front desk for a mattress pad and within 30 mins, it was delivered to our room and set up on the bed. It made a very very big difference for me!!! There were no issues with the elevators while we were there, they worked fine. There was a mini bar fridge in the room which was stocked every day with water, pop, and beer. There were also liquor dispensers in the room which were great to use! The hotel was having problems with the internet while we were there, as our travel rep told us. We were able to log on at times in the lobby, but even this was not consistent. Not a huge deal for us though. The maids kept our room extremely clean (the entire hotel was very well kept). Our towels were changed twice a day and the maid also left little mints for us. For our anniversary, we were surprised with some flowers, a bottle of champagne, and a little note from the hotel. I think this was because our travel agent informed the hotel that it was our anniversary beforehand.

Food:
The food was spectacular! No complaints whatsoever! We tried all 4 of the a la cartes, the steakhouse (Nautilus), Japanese (Sayuri), gourmet (Krystal), and Italian (Milano). Our overall favourite was the Italian because it had a hot/cold appetizer buffet in addition to the seated menu. However, my favourite main course was at Krystal - the beef sirloin with sweet potatoes. Yummy! The service at all of the restaurants was just superb! Yes, you do have to make reservations each morning that you want to eat at a speciality restaurant, and the desk is only open from 9am-12pm. However, it was not a huge hassle. There was usually a short line right at 9am, but shortly after, around 10-11am, the line completely died down, and I just walked up to the desk and made my reservation. There were never any issues getting the restaurant and time that we wanted. There are only two times/sittings available, 6:30pm and 9pm.

The buffet was also amazing! My husband even said that he preferred eating at the buffet due to the amazing selections! Breakfast at the main buffet consisted of every variety of egg, including a make-your-own omlette station, breads, cheeses, french toast, pancakes, waffles, pastries, fruit, fresh fruit juices, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, yogurts, cereals, bacon, hot dogs, other meats/veggies, etc. Lunch was served either at the main buffet or at the Nautilus buffet (this is the steakhouse a la carte at night but during the day it serves as the beach/pool buffet). There was always so much variety, fish, chicken, steak, potatoes, fries, pastas, veggies, breads, cheeses, hamburgers, hot dogs, endless snacks, etc. Dinner at the main buffet was also fantastic, there was a theme each night. We ate at the buffet for three nights, Mexican night, Gala night, and Chef's night. We are not sure what the other theme nights were. Every time we ate there, it was awesome, no complaints, but our fave was the Mexican night! Nachos, quesadillas, fajitas, tacos, oh my!!! Everything was extremely tasty! The buffet staff also offered impeccable service.

There is also unlimited snacks (sandwiches, hot dogs, nachos, and popcorn) at the 24-hr sports bar, which is attached to the lobby bar. The sports bar also makes awesome drinks! Our fave bartender, Ana Victoria, made the best Coca Rosas at the sports bar, which was our number one drink for the week!

Honestly, we are glad that we did an all-inclusive. Aruba's food is great and I know there are tons of awesome restaurants around. But, we didn't want the hassle of having to think about food. The value that you get at this hotel is superb. The food is top quality for the price of this hotel.

Pool/Beach:
The pool is huge and gorgeous and there is a pool bar (swim-up) as well. The beach is also very wide and very beautiful. However, if you want to get a decent spot in the shade at either the pool or beach, you have to wake up early and reserve your chair or hut with towels and other items. Although there are signs everywhere saying this is against hotel policy, nobody listens and it is not enforced by hotel staff. Therefore, get up early if you want a good spot. We never did this and we paid for it. We couldn't get a spot until the afternoon, after 1pm or so, when people left for lunch and took their stuff with them. It is pretty windy in Aruba at times, but the place is scorching hot so the breeze is welcomed. Just secure your towels with towel clips!

The beach is pretty long and many other hotels share the strip, the Westin, Occidental Grand, Holiday Inn, Hyatt, Radisson, Mariott, etc. We took a walk once and were met with several time share sellers who work at the different resorts. They will try to get you to come watch a presentation and if you do, you will get a "free gift". We just politely told them no thanks, and kept walking. But beware, they are persistent and will really try to persuade you. We even had one come up to us while we were relaxing and laying on the beach, not cool. But again, the beach is public so, there's no stopping them.

Entertainment:
It appears that entertainment was lacking at this hotel, compared to the other resorts we've been too. During the day, the staff did activites by the pool, which seemed to have good participation. But at night, there really wasn't much going on. Sometimes, they had some live singing and other times they did a few shows, which were just average. My husband and I preferred to hang out in the sports bar for drinks and to play pool (they have two pool tables and some arcade games, but you have to exchange dollar bills for tokens, these games are not free). There is a casino attached to the lobby, but we did not go in. We were thinking of watching a movie at the cinema which is just down the street from the hotel, but we did not get the chance to. We heard of other people doing this and it seemed like a popular night time activity.

Excursions:
We did a few excursions that were offered through our travel company, the full-day jeep safari, the Atlantis submarine, the full Jolly Pirates snorkelling cruise, and parasailing. All of these were totally worth the money and were completely unforgettable experiences! The guides were all terrific and nobody demanded or expected any tips, which made us all the more happy to tip them! We also took the public bus and travelled downtown to sight see and shop on our own. Aruba is so safe, we felt comfortable, and it is almost impossible to get lost. Just ask your travel rep or the hotel front desk and they will give you all the directions. There is also another shopping area/mall down the street from the hotel, where the cinema is located as well. We walked there after dinner one night, it's only about a 10-min walk, and it was very busy. We felt safe with all of the other people around. The stores are great but I found that I got better deals on souvenirs at the downtown shops.

Check-Out/Departure:
Our flight was delayed by an hour or so again, the hotel had this information in the morning and we learned of this when we got to the desk to check out. They had delayed the time that the bus would be there to pick us up. We still had to check out and turn in our wristbands but they gave us day passes to use, which enabled us to still eat, drink, and use the facilities. We had brought our own luggage to the lobby as we didn't want to bother to wait for a bell boy. The luggage was loaded into the separate truck again and we picked up our bags at the airport. There were no issues with this. Everything went smoothly at the Aruba airport as well. There is a small food court there and some duty free shops to keep you busy while you wait for your flight.

Overall, we had an awesome time in Aruba and we will probably go back one day!!! :)

Room Tip: Rooms in building C are the standard/lowest category and do not have proper balconies. Rooms in buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.