We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aruba Nov 1-8 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Aruba Nov 1-8 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I don't know why people complain so much but I had a good time at Riu Palace in Aruba. I went from Nov. 1st - 8th and the property was not as crowded. Yes I had to wake up at 6am to reserve a hut on the beach but if you come out anytime there are still shaded areas to sit. It was kind of windy but without the wind it would be so hot. The drinks were good and were not water down. Foods were good, esp the Steak House and Krystal. The only inconvenient thing was there were so much mosquitos at night. My daughter and lots of other guests got bitten pretty bad. The hotel finally sprayed the property against mosquitos on the day we left. The pool is the biggest compared to other hotels in Aruba. I got room 0435 in Building B and Building B has the good view of the pool and the beach. Room was very clean and beutiful. Housekeeper came twice a day. The fridge was always stocked. The major drawback for me at this hotel is that there is no baby changing station. I traveled with an infants (there were lots of families traveling with babies) and not a place to change the baby. Found other parents and myself had to change the baby at the lounge chair. The public restrooms look dark due to the tile color and were not very clean. The beach is beautiful. Took the cab to Eagle beach to visit the Divi trees (signiture of Aruba) and it was worth going. Beautiful beach with soft sand there too. However, that was the second time we stayed at Riu. If we are going to come back I probably will try to stay at Divi Hotel. Divi looks nice and the sand is softer than at Riu. At Riu the sand is somewhat course with lots of broken seashells. At Divi there are hammocks also.

Room Tip: Rooms in building B. The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,545
    1,079
    469
    211
    192
See reviews for
730
1965
36
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Overall, a great vacation. Location is awesome. Beaches are beautiful.

Positives:
Great rooms - great space, great bathrooms, large beds
Great views from main building (floors 6 and up)
Housekeeping service is awesome
Overall facilities nice (tiles slippery all around resort; pool could use some repair; kept very clean)
Food is fabulous - variety is awesome in buffet every night
Activities are many... zumba instructor (women, he is awesome!) almost every day... lots of fun
Internet service in the room was started while we were there (free for 10 days); otherwise it was that you had free 90 minutes in lobby only

Opportunity areas:
Restaurants are run like cruise ships - two seatings only (6:30pm means leaving beach early; 9pm means full stomach at night)
No real night life at the resort... no "nightclub"
Not any premium liquors (but really no Jack Daniels and Coke); Only 2 choices for beer
Runs out of important things like... banana, limes,etc...
Doors have to slam to close,... noisy at night/early morning
Front desk Operator takes a long time to answer phone
In general, seems like the staff is trained to say "sorry, we can not do that" - efficiency over customer service
Room service options very limited; but sports bar (snacks) open all night
Elevators really small...
Limit one beach towel per person... really?
Activities... maybe a litle bit too many!!! But, people got involved.. so some liked it!

Room Tip: Main building for sure... recommend asking for a room that absolutely faces the ocean. Floors 8 thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

after looking forward to our 2nd vist to this hotel was dissapointed with it even though it was very clea ven the hotel in need of some tlc is very much needed swimming pool very shabby entertainment the same as 3 yrs ago but waiting staff rnd pool & bar was top class as was the food love aruba but not riu it was 1st class 3yrs ago but would put it at a4 star defo not a 5

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I went on our Honeymoon from Oct 29-Nov 5 and stayed in a full oceanview junior suite in the main building 5th floor. We were picked up right away at the airport by RIU Reps. There were 3 buses in total taking people to the RIU and they had a boxed truck take everyones luggage due to the number of people so at first I was worried that this place was going to be rammed all week.

CHECK IN: took approx 25 mins due to the amount of people but it was smooth and we got our room around 2:15pm. We had arrived at the hotel around 12:40pm.

BEACH: Flawless! One of the best beachs we've seen but it is windy. They have "trade winds" due to the island location so this aint avoidable but the winds are nice otherwise it would be extremely hot and no one complained . Me and my wife ended up meeting other couples and no one once complained about the wind.

Regarding the HUTS!!!!!!! here's my tip of the week. The beach and huts are owned by the government not the resorts. We were told this during our orientation so no one should be paying anyone for huts on the beach. Apparently some locals will try and rent you a hut for the day but this is BS. If you tell them there provided by the government for free there shouldnt be any issues. Aruba only has tourism as its main money maker and they take this seriously so anyone trying to rent you a hut on the beach is illegal and will face jail time so no one should have any issues with this.

FOOD: THe food is by the far the best in the carribean. We've been to DR, Cuba, Mexico, Jamaica and now Aruba and this place has so much selection of different foods your head will explode. The food is just like home and no one had an stomach issues which usually happens at the other islands. We had planned 2 dinners off the resort but there was no need to once we had the food. We went to the Italian a la cart 2x and steakhouse once. The italian was our favourite. Plenty of selection, great food, just awesome. Steakhouse was also good but it is outdoors and we had a 9:00pm reservation and yes bring bug spray for this otherwise you will get bitten so I would highly recommend doing this.

With resprect to the a la carts, yes you have to book your reservations the day of but we had no problems getting a spot. We prefer the 9pm time so that may have something to do with it but there was never any lines up when we booked so im a little confused how people say theres lines up out the door when we had none all week so I ll let you the reviewer figure this one out!

ROOMS: The rooms were beautiful, clean, and large. Bar fridge restocked daily with water, pop, beer, etc. The beds are firm yes and we did order a pillow topper which made it perfect. We prefer a firmer mattress but the pillow topper does help. Regarding room views, all i can say is what you pay for is what you get. It drives me crazy people complain about the views since there are price differences between the rooms for that reason and how you can justify complaining about your view is beyond me seriously. We did pay the highest out of the group of 10 we hung out with all week but we were in the main building 5th floor centre view of the ocean. The other couples were in other buildings and yes some had views of the Westin Hotel which is to the hotels leftside but keep in mind they paid approx 1 Thousand less for the week for 2 people. My tip to you is that there are 3 buildings, building A, B and C. Building A are all partial ocean views or your viewing the Westin Hotel. Building B is the main Building with full oceanviews hence the most expensive to stay in and building C is the older part of the resort which is the "standard room" the cheapest out of them all and not newly renovated like Building A and B. When you book you will see price differences and this is why.

The staff were friendly, kind, quick and did not expect TIPS. The other island workers expect the TIPS but here this was not found.

Lastly, the resort is top notch, the best looking facility on the beach based on us going for walks, talking to other tourists and its all inclusive. The food and booze at restaurants are expensive so you decide to stay at a hotel be prepared to pay. Aruba is the best island we've been on and will be going back in the future!

Room Tip: -Higher floors for the oceanview in building B -Building B is the main building and have full ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

spent two weeks in the Riu Palace from 13th October, Check in was swift and were allocated a junior suite in Block 2 the, room was large well equipped and had a good view over the pool. As with most hotels in the Carribean it had a musty smell although ours was worse than our friends room. The bed was very firm and I spent an uncomfortable first night, I mentioned this to reception the following day and a mattress pillow (topper ) fitted to the bed that fixed the problem. We did get bitten by mosquito's at night as the maid, mini bar man and the maid turning the beds always left the room open allowing them in. We had taken fly spray with us and sprayed the room but I found the local fly spray far more effective than the can of raid I had taken with we In the end we found the only was to kill them off was to spray in the evening when we went out and just before bed.
The food and drinks in the hotel were very good and most of the staff very friendly the only not so nice people were arrogant guests some of whom treated treated the staff with no respect. When we arrived hurricane Sandy was just brewing so we had a few cloudy days a bit of rain and big waves which was fun on the downside it was very humid and had little wind .

I loved Aruba walking out of the hotel it was like being in Europe, safe, modern shops restaurants and foot paths and no hassle from any of the market traders or shops, the only exception being the jewellers, they are mainly owned by asians and these guys jump on you as soon as you walk in .

We did a full day jeep safari with ABC tours ,Hugo our guide was excellent as was the food, we toured the whole island I have never seen so many cacti, warning it gets very bumpy when you go off road, you also have the option to drive one of the land rovers following the guide , I did not take up the offer but wished I had afterwards as it was safe to drive and the roads mainly good. Unfortunately the snorkling in baby beach was not as good as it usually is because of the big waves and the lagoon was not safe to go in because big waves were breaking over the edge all caused by Sandy. Sandy did provide us with one spectical and that was a water spout just off the beach I have never wittnesed on before it was amazing the spout was sucking up huge amounts of water into the sky

The Capital has Orangestad has lots of designer shops but don't go to town in the evening as they all shut around 7.30 as there main trade seems to be the cruise ships that set sail in the evening whereas the shops in the high rise hotel area all stay open until late.

Really loved Aruba, its beaches, the RIU has one of the biggest in this area loved the people , they are very polite even the cars stop to let you cross the road and you can drink the tap water

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Riu Palace has beautiful grounds, awesome food, good variety at the buffet, the 4 a la carte restaurants are decent, we did get bitten by mosquitoes like crazy at the steakhouse since the Nautilus restaurant is outside. The weather was perfect all week event though the forecast wasn't the greatest when we left. The front desk does call you to make sure you are satisfied with your room after you check in. We stayed in the older building (we booked a regular room), the mattress was very hard, everything looked old but clean which was fine since we were really only in the room to sleep. There is no good nightly entertainment at the resort (no disco or good shows). The beach (water) is gorgeous, you only find a spot with shade if you reserve your chair around 6 am... the beach is a public beach and there is only one way from the beach to the resort.
We did rent a Jeep to drive around the island for a day, i highly recommend to visit Baby Beach. There is a Senor frogs and a few bars within a 5-10 min walk from the resort. The island is very safe.
My husband did get sick the last day of our trip (stomach flu), i was able to have a Dr. come to our room, it did take about 2 hours for the physician to show up. Make sure you wash your hands to try to avoid this! I did ask for a wheelchair when we left and the reception did accommodate us right away.
Overall we had an amazing time in Aruba, the weather was perfect and the food/drinks were good. The room and entertainment could of been better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Beaches are lovely but windy so spent most of the holiday by the pool, however good luck getting a nice spot as loungers start getting reserved at 4.30am.

Rooms are average. Don't bother upgrading to a junior suite all that guarantees you is a step up to your bed not a balcony (that you can sit out on) or a guarantee that you don't get a view of dumpsters and the alley! Had the usual well stocked Riu fridge and optics and they were kept lovely and clean.

Food was really good. Excellent variety and choice. Service was slow to sometimes non existent, usually with other Riu hotels this wouldn't bother me however there was no way to self serve your drinks so sometimes we were nearly finished our meal by the time staff offered us a drink.
Location of the hotel was great. Just a short walk to shops and restaurants. Hotel facilities were very good,Wifi in massive lobby quick and easy to use.

Overall I felt the hotel lacked the usual Riu standards. Wouldn't hesitate to go back to Aruba but would stay somewhere else that is better value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 ft. from various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.