We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aruba a hassle free Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Aruba a hassle free Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

spent two weeks in the Riu Palace from 13th October, Check in was swift and were allocated a junior suite in Block 2 the, room was large well equipped and had a good view over the pool. As with most hotels in the Carribean it had a musty smell although ours was worse than our friends room. The bed was very firm and I spent an uncomfortable first night, I mentioned this to reception the following day and a mattress pillow (topper ) fitted to the bed that fixed the problem. We did get bitten by mosquito's at night as the maid, mini bar man and the maid turning the beds always left the room open allowing them in. We had taken fly spray with us and sprayed the room but I found the local fly spray far more effective than the can of raid I had taken with we In the end we found the only was to kill them off was to spray in the evening when we went out and just before bed.
The food and drinks in the hotel were very good and most of the staff very friendly the only not so nice people were arrogant guests some of whom treated treated the staff with no respect. When we arrived hurricane Sandy was just brewing so we had a few cloudy days a bit of rain and big waves which was fun on the downside it was very humid and had little wind .

I loved Aruba walking out of the hotel it was like being in Europe, safe, modern shops restaurants and foot paths and no hassle from any of the market traders or shops, the only exception being the jewellers, they are mainly owned by asians and these guys jump on you as soon as you walk in .

We did a full day jeep safari with ABC tours ,Hugo our guide was excellent as was the food, we toured the whole island I have never seen so many cacti, warning it gets very bumpy when you go off road, you also have the option to drive one of the land rovers following the guide , I did not take up the offer but wished I had afterwards as it was safe to drive and the roads mainly good. Unfortunately the snorkling in baby beach was not as good as it usually is because of the big waves and the lagoon was not safe to go in because big waves were breaking over the edge all caused by Sandy. Sandy did provide us with one spectical and that was a water spout just off the beach I have never wittnesed on before it was amazing the spout was sucking up huge amounts of water into the sky

The Capital has Orangestad has lots of designer shops but don't go to town in the evening as they all shut around 7.30 as there main trade seems to be the cruise ships that set sail in the evening whereas the shops in the high rise hotel area all stay open until late.

Really loved Aruba, its beaches, the RIU has one of the biggest in this area loved the people , they are very polite even the cars stop to let you cross the road and you can drink the tap water

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,517
    1,054
    455
    207
    189
See reviews for
711
1927
35
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Riu Palace has beautiful grounds, awesome food, good variety at the buffet, the 4 a la carte restaurants are decent, we did get bitten by mosquitoes like crazy at the steakhouse since the Nautilus restaurant is outside. The weather was perfect all week event though the forecast wasn't the greatest when we left. The front desk does call you to make sure you are satisfied with your room after you check in. We stayed in the older building (we booked a regular room), the mattress was very hard, everything looked old but clean which was fine since we were really only in the room to sleep. There is no good nightly entertainment at the resort (no disco or good shows). The beach (water) is gorgeous, you only find a spot with shade if you reserve your chair around 6 am... the beach is a public beach and there is only one way from the beach to the resort.
We did rent a Jeep to drive around the island for a day, i highly recommend to visit Baby Beach. There is a Senor frogs and a few bars within a 5-10 min walk from the resort. The island is very safe.
My husband did get sick the last day of our trip (stomach flu), i was able to have a Dr. come to our room, it did take about 2 hours for the physician to show up. Make sure you wash your hands to try to avoid this! I did ask for a wheelchair when we left and the reception did accommodate us right away.
Overall we had an amazing time in Aruba, the weather was perfect and the food/drinks were good. The room and entertainment could of been better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Beaches are lovely but windy so spent most of the holiday by the pool, however good luck getting a nice spot as loungers start getting reserved at 4.30am.

Rooms are average. Don't bother upgrading to a junior suite all that guarantees you is a step up to your bed not a balcony (that you can sit out on) or a guarantee that you don't get a view of dumpsters and the alley! Had the usual well stocked Riu fridge and optics and they were kept lovely and clean.

Food was really good. Excellent variety and choice. Service was slow to sometimes non existent, usually with other Riu hotels this wouldn't bother me however there was no way to self serve your drinks so sometimes we were nearly finished our meal by the time staff offered us a drink.
Location of the hotel was great. Just a short walk to shops and restaurants. Hotel facilities were very good,Wifi in massive lobby quick and easy to use.

Overall I felt the hotel lacked the usual Riu standards. Wouldn't hesitate to go back to Aruba but would stay somewhere else that is better value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Riu palace Sept 21st till Oct 6th 2012. A beautiful hotel, a few hicups in the begining but the reception staff really helped us and management desk was very helpfull. That and a little patience goes a long way.The rooms were big and very clean. Our daughter and her new husband got a amazing upgrade room. The food was excellent and so much choice and there was always something for you to pick if you are picky eater on the theme nights.
Our daughter was married on SEPTEMBER 28th in Aruba town Hall and had her blessing on the beach at the hotel at 4.00pm her wedding was the only one that week. She had long dark brown hair, her long white wedding dress. The groom wore beige trousers with a white shirt as so did the father of the bride and the grooms father. The bridesmaid was dark haired wearing apple green long dress. Brides mother wore pale mint dress and the grooms mother wore a long orange dress. The wedding planner Corrine was great and everything was perfect. Our daughter looked amazing and she seem to float all day. Thank you to Corrine and everyone behind the scenes. We picked the right destination for the wedding and the right hotel. Aruba is a friendly beatifull place.
BUT PLEASE IF ANYONE HAS ANY PHOTOS OF THE BEACH BLESSING, PLEASE, PLEASE CAN YOU SEND ME THEM - WE HAVE LOST THE MEMORY CARD FROM OUR CAMERA AND WE SAW LOADS TAKING PHOTOS OF THE HAPPY COUPLE, PLEASE CAN ANYONE HELP...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

first: this was the best palace I've been. I mean Aruba. I love Aruba.
resort: Riu Palace Aruba - i have no complains. maybe bathrooms could get a new touch, maybe the stage for night shows could get some improvements... but other than that i liked everything very much. food ... wow. drinks, real, not sugar and water only. all personnel seem to have one thing in mind: the guest.
before I left I read only the bad reviews. what can I say; i completely disagree with almost all of them.
snorkelling: we took the jolly pirates: i'll give them a 10. ok ? no. 10+. also we went at Arashi beach (by taxi) and snorkelling from shore is perfect. lots of fishes all kinds.
scuba: the shop beside Riu. I don't remember the name. excellent services. I've did 2 dives, Antilla and a plane wreck. Nice ... very nice.
Aruba : this was my first trip to Aruba. I love Aruba.I'll go back again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We were at the Riu for a week and never once had the opportunity to sit by the pool or a shaded area on the beach.
There are plenty of other chairs on the beach in full sun but with the intense heat it was unbearable.
I don't know when this all started but leaving your towel on a chair at 6am does not make it yours!
Some chairs would sit open most of the day. If everyone took their belongings with them as they come and go through out the day there would be plenty of opportunity for everyone to enjoy some time at both the pool and beach.
You can rent an umbrella for $20 a day but why should some travellers incur this expense due to the lack of courtesy of others. This obnoxious behaviour from fellow travellers was definitely the most disappointing part of the trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great hotel, very nice rooms and staff, pool area is amazing and they hold daily events which are fun to participate or watch, the beach is very close and a great experience. The hotel is also close to the downtown area for further exploration around the island. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 ft. from various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.