We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scala Restaurant

Scala Restaurant
J.E. Irausquin Blvd. 382A, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
+297 586 2277
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Casual but sophisticated ideally located on the high rise strip on a sprawling corner of Paseo Herencia Mall. Scala is a bustling outdoor and indoor restaurant wich features two European trained chefs with Mediterranean and Caribbean influences. The bar offers a great variety of cocktails and martinis and for the wine lovers there is a very extensive wine list, both by glass as by the bottle. Scala is a dining experience you should not miss while visiting Aruba.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Liliana, our waitress, was exceptional.
Food was good.I had the scampi stuffed grouper. My grouper was a tiny bit overcooked. My husband had the filet alfredo pasta dish. He said his was good.
They offered us a coupon when walking by for 2 free glasses of wine with dinner.
Dined outside, upstairs. Nice dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    94
    31
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Not Bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We were a group o 8 adults who walked over for dinner from The Surf Club. The host lured us in with a decent menu and a free glass of wine for each of us. Liked the balcony setting, very nice atmosphere, service was good. Food was good nothing to boast about good - not great.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“extraordinary food. environment. must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

excellent beef. unforgetable fish and perfect environment.
to start i suggest you to try the fried calamaretti
and as a main entree you will love reef and beef.
must visit while in aruba. enjoy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Dust”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The high-rise hotel area of Aruba is saturated with restaurants; many are the typical chains that appear at every coastal tourist zone (think Senior Frog's). Somewhat hidden on the second floor of the Paseo outdoor mall, across from the Holiday Inn, is Scala restaurant. Lured only by the menu that appears next to their steps, we had such a great experience, we went back for a second time in our short 7-day Aruban excursion.

Scala's fare is Mediterranean--lots of seafood and rich sauces are the theme. The dishes are chef prepared, with an impressive and balanced presentation and taste. The service is excellent--typical of higher-end restaurants in major cities and unexpected in the Aruba tourist zone. The staff was incredibly fun and friendly--they remembered us from days past on the second visit.

For starters, the Scala lobster and smoked salmon was mind-blowing. The menu description does it no justice: "Lobster tail served with cheese stuffed ravioli and smoked salmon in a creamy sun dried tomato and vodka sauce." Sounds interesting, but in reality, it is a lobster-bisque-lover's delight. What you actually get is a full-sized bowl of fresh salmon pieces and lobster tail drenched in a wonderful bisque with some tasty raviolis hiding at the bottom. The flavors are very vibrant, with the tartness of sundried tomatoes being perfectly balanced by the musky lobster and vodka essences.

Caesar salad comes with a choice of several meats and fish. Having chosen the smoked salmon and having expected (and would have been completely content with) the typical meager pieces packaged smoked salmon, I was astounded when the salad arrived with an entire butterflied salmon fillet, fresh off the grill. As a landlubber, I had never tasted freshly smoked salmon before and this was to die for.

The main courses make for a challenging decision. I went for the first one on the list: the scampi stuffed grouper. Like the appetizer, they were covered in an amazing sauce. They had achieved a harmonious buttery-soft consistency in both the grouper and shrimp.

The highlight is definitely the food and service, which more than make up for an average ambience. They have a lot of outdoor seating, but it overlooks the main drag in the high-rise area, so it can be quite noisy. The decor inside is modern--some strange artwork and lots of hard materials.

Having dined at several excellent restaurants on our visit, Scala was definitely the highlight.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Food was good. Located in an outdoor mall area. Our waiter pulled us off the street to get us to eat here. Fish was fresh, good Chianti.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scala Restaurant also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Scala Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scala Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.