We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas vacation 2012-2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Linda Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Playa Linda Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playa Linda Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 87, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
roswell
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Christmas vacation 2012-2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were privileged to stay at the Playa Linda Beach Resort for 4 weeks. It is beautiful and
right on the beach. The entire staff are great and made our trip wonderful. There are so many
activites available if you choose to participant for adults and kids. It is located in the best
location within walking distance to so many great restaurants and a new mall with a movie
theater across the street. New Year's eve in Aruba is magical. You have never seen such
breathtaking fireworks. The Playa Linda along with other hotels along the Palm Beach area
put on a show that just can not be described it is so beautiful.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a large patio that over looks the beach and ocean, however at the Playa Linda it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLBRARUBA, Front Office Manager at Playa Linda Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our resort. I am glad to read that each of our staff was friendly and helpful. Our resort offers plenty of things to do for the entire family and glad that you were able to enjoy so many of them

We hope when your travel plans bring you back to Aruba, that the Playa Linda Linda Beach Resort will be at the top of your list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    62
    18
    1
    5
See reviews for
138
125
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Aruba and will definitely be back same time, same place!!! Playa Linda is centrally located to everything, staff was phenomenal with anything you needed, they were friendly, food was very good, rooms are spacious and clean. Not a single complaint. Sure there are nicer places for alot more money. Why would I! Majority of people who stay here have time share and have been coming for years. They are friendly and by the end of the week you can't wait to get back next year to spend time with them!!! Loved it and Aruba!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLBRARUBA, Front Office Manager at Playa Linda Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
With our friendly staff and upgraded facilities, whether it was front desk, restaurant or housekeeping, or any other department, we all strive to make all our guests feel welcome. I am so glad your experience was so positive. It is always nice to know that our staff members make our guests feel welcome here at our resort. Thank you for your comments and letting the readers know that you would come back again. We certainly appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

For the money you pay, its great. But there are lots of nice hotels in Aruba to choose from. The staff at this hotel aren't the friendliest or nicest and I doubt I would stay here again unless I was on a tight budget. When I booked my reservation over the phone, the lady who did it was rude and couldnt answer any questions. When it was check in time, there was confusion over how much I had to pay because they failed to mention I had to pay a deposit. And, they made me change rooms in the middle of my stay which was a nightmare. They tried to force me to pack ll my belongings and check out at 12 and then come back at 3 to check in? What kind of crap is that?

I wouldn't recommend this place as I have been to Aruba 6x before and never dealt with such nonsense. The staff need training in how to communicate effectively and how to treat guests. My vacation was nice but it wasnt because of this hotel. The rooms are old, not updated and smell musty. Theres so much more I can share about this place but I will stop here. Dont stay here is the bottom line.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLBRARUBA, Front Office Manager at Playa Linda Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post the review about your recent stay at the resort. While we have always received positive feedback about our product, services and staff, we realized that we have not met your expectations. Our rooms were recently refurbished and we continue to make improvements to the resort. You might be required to change your assigned accommodations during your stay if you do not arrive on a Sunday, however there’s no excuse for the way you have been treated.

On behalf of the resort, please accept our apology for the issues that you experienced and hoping you will once again return to our resort, We know you have a choice when it comes to hotel accommodations in Aruba. We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We arrived in Aruba early January 2013, took a taxi to the Playa Linda. We arrived approx 2:30pm. There were at least 8-10 couples/families ahead of us for check-in and once we got to the receptionist we were informed our suite was not ready. Despite our upbeat, happy-to-be-on-vacation mood, I have to say that the front desk staff weren't the most friendly group of people - maybe they were tired? (I did notice that their demeanor seemed to be consistently so-so throughout the week.) We had to keep checking back in with the staff to see if the room was ready. It might have been helpful if someone had offered to come tell us the suite was ready, or give us a means to be informed. By approx 4/4:30pm we were able to go to the rooms. Everything was very clean, welcoming and in working order. We were on the 4th floor, views out to the ocean (with the Radisoon to our left). The kitchen was well equipped - new microwave, traditional sized-stove, full refrigerator/freezer, dishwasher, dishes, utensils, pots & pans. There were papertowels and dish soap upon our arrival - I don't know if these items had been left behind or if they were provided...
There is a commercial washer and dryer located on each floor. Though a bit outdated, they were functional. To save yourself flights of stairs or elevator time, purchase your "tokens" in the concierge's office while you're on the main floor as they are not available on each floor with the machines ($2 per token; the washer takes one token for a regular load, the dryer didn't dry the clothes enough with one token, thus I needed 2 tokesn to dry the clothes.) We also made a point to bring our own liquid laundry soap - glad we did
The concierge is not always available - prep your questions and visit when you see her in her office. We noted no concierge available on Saturday - didn't notice if she was there on Sunday.
The pools are delightful, clean and spacious. The beachfront is superb - per other reviews, you must see the beach attendant in order to obtain your tiki cover. We connected with Rupert who was very helpful on our first day. Most days we were too late to get a cover despite being early risers. In obtaining your towels at the towel hut - note that you have to bring your towel card that you receive upon arrival from the front desk. The hut staff keep your towel card until you leave. You must return your towels prior to 5:30pm to be recorded as having returned the towels. If the hut is closed, hang on to your towels until the next day for exchanges - you don't want to be charged for the towels!
The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job maintaining our suite.
We took a taxi to "downtown" - approx $11 from the resort. Be mindful of cruise schedules - unbeknownst to us, there were several cruise ships in port. This may limit/hinder your restaurant selection but adds lots of fun for "people watching!"
Note that Internet access was challenging. Many bars/restaurants have free wi-fi, ask for their password.
Overall, a wonderful resort - many happy voices heard throughout the week; ours amongst them! ENJOY
There are many restaurants, stores, casinos, etc. all within walking distance, we didn't feel the need to rent a car. There is a "Super Foods" grocery store a few miles before arriving at the high rise hotel area - the bus or a taxi works well.

Note: Arriving on Sundays - we noticed several places are closed on Sundays. If you are taking a taxi from the airport to the "high rise" hotels, it usually costs $25, however, there is an additional $3 fee on Sundays...it doesn't hurt to ask the couples around you if they, too, are going to your resort - share the taxi fees!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLBRARUBA, Front Office Manager at Playa Linda Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Having reviewed your comments on your recent stay with us, we’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for notifying us of your observations. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service, we continually strive to best serve our customers during their stay with us. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important that the matter to be brought to our attention so that it can be corrected as soon as possible. Of course, there are those that require a bit more intensive training, and the observations made by our guests will allow us to continue reinforcing the basic aspects of Customer Service to those who’re most in need.

Customer satisfaction is a top priority for us at Playa Linda and your comments will help make our products better. We apologize for the inconveniences experienced and we do hope that the remainder of your stay on the island was pleasant enough and that you were able to return home with favorable memories of your stay on Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Playa Linda Beach Resort is located right on the beach; close to everything; restaurants, shopping, movies, gambling, etc., etc. The units are wonderful, my last stay I had a 2 B/R unit and it was truly a beautiful, large unit providing everything your heart could desire for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was a very nice resort right on the beach. It was located right across a large shopping center and within short walking distance from some good restaurants. If you want to get a beach tiki cover (called "chickee"), you better get up and "claim" your chickee no later than 5am.....or they may already be taken. I'm not kidding, people get up that early to get one! But you will love the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

other then the overly aggressive housekeeper trying to get in he room with security while I was sleeping, this place is awesome.

The beach is well maintained and the amenities are top notch. The shopping along the beach is cute and well maintained. I especially like the sports bar on the north side of the resort beach. the Sunday NFL ticket and happy hour specials are well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Linda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Linda Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 87, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Linda Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Linda Beach Resort offers you all of the unspoiled pleasures of tropical island vacationing at it's best. Situated directly on World renowned white sand Palm Beach one of Aruba's finest and overlooking six miles of breathtaking Caribbean coastline, Playa Linda offers you all the unspoiled pleasures of a tropical island, while providing you with all the luxuries of a 5-Star resort. You'll especially enjoy the resort's swimming pool featuring a lovely waterfall and lush, tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Playa Linda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Linda Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Playa Linda Beach
Playa Linda Aruba
Playa Linda Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Linda Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.