We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It and Will Go Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Linda Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Linda Beach Resort to your Saves list
Playa Linda Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 87, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved It and Will Go Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed at the Playa Linda Resort, June 19-26 in Unit 231 with a friend who has been staying there for years. The unit was in good shape. The only thing that needed work was the bathroom door needed to be adjusted. The unit was a one bedroom (could sleep five using the sofa bed and day bed) with an ocean view over the pool area. It was well outfitted and my friend fixed several meals in the kitchen. Had two flatscreen tv's and you can purchase wifi cards for use with your laptops on the property. There was also an internet access company in the lobby if you don't want to pack your laptop. My Blackberry worked everywhere on the property. All of the public areas were clean and well maintained and all of the staff was very friendly and professional. The pool and beach had enough ckickees (palapas) that everyone was able to find shade, if needed from the strong Aruban sun.The beach in front of the resort was beautiful and clean.

There are so many bars and restaurants in the immediate area that I will not list them, but here are a few. The Dunkin Donuts/Baskins Robbins right on the beach was terrific for early risers. Dushi Bagels and Burgers was great for a casual lunch. Azzurro Ristorante Italiano was fantastic the night we ate there. We liked Amuse Bistro so well that we ate there two nights in a row. If the chef has cherry ice cream on the menu, don't miss it! We also ate lunch at Cafe Belgium at the shopping mall nearby and it was good. My friends had dinner the week before at Texas de Brazil accross the street and said it was extremely good.

Since this is a condo property there were a number of families with children, but they were all well behaved at the pool and the beach. The week I was there, the crowd was pretty sedate, so if you are looking to party hard or hook up with someone, this is probably not the resort for you. It was perfect for us, a perfect "chill pill" vacation for the stressed professional. We sunned, swam, drank, ate and got really relaxed. Hated to leave.

We did a half day tour of Aruba with another friend and I have to say that for a desert caribbean island it is a beautiful island, very clean and well organized. Everyone spoke fluent English and accepted US dollars. I found it refreshing also, that no one tried to sell me anything on the beach or approached me to sell timeshares the entire time I was in Aruba. Hated to leave.

I flew from Dallas through Miami. I understand there is a flight from Houston every Saturday, so next time I will go through Houston.

Room Tip: All rooms have at least a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    96
    22
    5
    7
See reviews for
227
180
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This hotel was fine for families as most of the guests were there with kids. If you didn't have kids then the property was "just okay". The beach was fine but the sounds of jackhammering at the hotel drove us away from it. Nothing like the tranquility of the ocean with construction sounds all around. It wasn't for us, but if you have kids, it may be for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We rented the townhouse on this resort from a timeshare owner. The room was impressive, (granite countertops, nice furniture, beautiful tile) cleaning service daily except Thursdays, kids club on site with daily activities and night time theme nights for the kids 3 times a week which gave us the opportunity to enjoy adult only dinner from 7-10 p.m.!!!! The beach was of course beautiful, warm water, sandy and clean. Resort pool has a zero depth entry which was great for the younger ones. Rooms are equipped with stove and refrigerator and even the smallest studio was larger than a normal hotel room. We don't want to stay anywhere else, most certainly our home away from home!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Everything about our trip is amazing..location, rooms, food, weather but, if i had to say one bad thing about Playa Linda is that the hunts on the beach need to be reserved very early in the morning at like 5:00am otherwise you cannot sit by the beach....I felt that getting up early on our vacation was not a pleasant feeling...compeeting against all the old folks that get up soooo early to reserve the hunts was not a fun!! The resort should have priority reserves for the families that have kids so that they may watch over them closly by the beach for safety reasons. Otherwise, this is the Mercedez of all the hotels in Aruba!!! Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Playa Linda Beach Resort is one of the best hotels in Aruba. It sits on the best stretch of Palm Beach next to the Hyatt Hotel. All the rooms have been refurbished this year and are wonderful. The rooms are very clean and appliances are new. All units have either a kitchenette (studios) or full kitchens. The beach is a few steps from the hotel. This beach is the best in Aruba!! Water is calm and a beautiful turquoise color - almost doesn't look real from the balcony! The pool here has recently been upgraded and has a waterfall.
They have many amenities here including manager's cocktail night, barbeque night, 3 restaurants, happy hour on the beach, etc. etc.
I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel as I really could not find anything wrong with it! You will not be disappointed if you stay here!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Aruba was our honeymoon and it was a great vacation! We ended up at the Playa Linda after a last minute change to our reservations and we sure are glad that we did! The staff were friendly from check-in to check-out. The restaurants on-site were great, especially Azzurro (which we ate at twice, along with their sister restaurant off-site, Daniel's). The coffee shop out in front of the hotel was FANTASTIC and the service all around from the clothing stores to the concierge was top-notch. We loved the pool with it's cascading waterfall and off course, the magnificent beach and views of the water. Our room was clean and comfortable with just the right amount of space for a studio, including the kitchenette and full-size refrigerator. We can't say enough good things about this resort and are definitely looking forward to returning!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Playa Linda is located in the middle of the amazing beach area, and the rooms provide an incredible view. It is right across the street from a great shopping center. The people are incredibly friendly, and make you feel welcome. Beware if you are going to make any phone calls using a calling card- only the local calling cards will work (even if you buy one that says it will work there and it deducts the minutes when you call; when you go to check out you will be surprised by all of the phone charges) Aruba is an amazing island and very easy to travel throughout.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Linda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Linda Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 87, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Linda Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Linda Beach Resort offers you all of the unspoiled pleasures of tropical island vacationing at it's best. Situated directly on World renowned white sand Palm Beach one of Aruba's finest and overlooking six miles of breathtaking Caribbean coastline. You'll especially enjoy the resort's swimming pool featuring a lovely waterfall and lush, tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Linda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Linda Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Playa Linda Beach
Playa Linda Aruba
Playa Linda Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Linda Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.