We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard | 55, Palm - Eagle Beach 99999, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE MOJITO & WIFI
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The best beach in Aruba and one of the best beaches in Caribbean. We have been to this hotel at least 10 times, may be more. It used to be a little bit rundown. I believe it is the first hotel in Aruba going back to the 50s. A couple years ago they did a major renovation and now rooms look very up to date. But the best feature of this hotel is its beach. Huge, with beautiful white sand. The hotel has only 70 rooms and that's why there is quite a distance between every beach umbrella. Casino is within 5 min walk for anyone who is interested in gambling. (Not my cup of tea). But I would not say that this is a space with a lot of action which is perfect for us, a couple in their mid 50s.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room, garden view has very little of a garden, but a lot of a/c. :) We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for returning year after year. Glad you enjoyed our rejuvenation program of the past years. Manchebo indeed goes back quite some years. The resort opened its doors in 1966 making it 47 years this coming December - and looking better than ever!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    362
    93
    26
    17
See reviews for
198
1,058
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second visit to Aruba - 1st time was about 10 years ago and on that trip we stayed in high rise area. We specifically wanted to get away from that throng of crowded hotels - where people have to wake up at 7 am to reserve a chair on the beach. Manchebo Beach Resort served us well as that escape. We never had any issue getting a palapa on the beach any time of day. The beach itself is wide, and gorgeous. The staff were universally excellent - very friendly and attentive.
Our room was garden view - the bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever had on vacation - both my wife and I slept better than we do at home (probably something about Aruba helped that too). There were some small issues -the bathroom door didnt stay closed, and a top drawer in the dresser stayed halfway opened - but really these were non-issues and we didn't ask for repairs, The 2 headed rain shower setup was great - plenty of hot water. It's nice that they give you a fridge, a microwave and a beach cooler.
Regarding the onsite restaurants - we ate at Ike's 2 nights - and found the food to be very good to excellent for the most part. I would take off a star for serving my wife a tuna steak that was slightly overcooked. (we prefer good quality tuna - rare/seared - but waiter did not ask how she wanted it done). I had great mussels & linguini one night. We were not blown away by the food at the pool/beachside bar. I also found the bar drinks to be on the weak side overall (which may be standard when getting 2 for 1 at happy hour) - I am somewhat accustomed to bartenders doing pouring a little heavy but these folks measured carefully. Eventually I started bringing my own glass of scotch to the beach (yep..scotch on the beach! try it!). FYI: we did not eat breakfast at the hotel - there is a little shopping area across the street attached to the casino that had a market, with coffee shot, dunkin doughnuts, and there was a little stand called Dushi Bagels right next store.
You might want to be aware that the low rise section of Aruba seems to attract a somewhat elderly crowd - At least during our particular weak there were lots of guests 65 years + (I did see some younger people checking in on our last day)
Overall considering the quality of the beach, the comfort of the bed, and the excellent staff, we have no regrets about this stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are pleased to see you enjoyed our laid back ambiance on Aruba's widest stretch of beach. Our staff looks forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Lets start with the positives of this hotel:
Very nice property. Small hotel so not overcrowded. There are not a lot of people on the beach so you don't feel like a sardine. Property is clean and well maintained. Restaurant is good with good service. Beautiful grounds right on the ocean

Negatives: Lots of things are missing here. Maintenance chooses to rearrange stones outside our room at 9 in the morning. This is the first time we are sleeping in since the baby so very annoying. Then housekeeping starts knocking at the door. Why they don't provide a do not disturb sign is beyond me. Lets continue with housekeeping. They clean the room and don't leave any shampoo . My wife has long hair and uses almost the whole bottle but they never replace it. So our nightly ritual is to call the front desk to drop off some shampoo. They also don't replace the instant coffee packs. Keep in mind we did leave a tip, but this had no effect. We bought a deluxe ocean front room. Our room was not ocean front. I would say it was a partial ocean view at best. Beware of this. If your room is near the spa, you will not be able to see the ocean especially if it is on the first floor. There is a big pavillion in front that blocks everyones view. I think this is dishonest of the hotel. If it is a partial ocean view then it should be advertised as such and not priced at the same level as the true ocean view. The worst thing was the management of the chairs on the beach. The hotel says that anyone who leaves a towel on their chair for more than 2 hours will be removed. This is not true. I watched as multiple great spots on the ocean were occupied by lonely towels for the whole day with not a owner in sight. This is the same dumb game that I see all the time at these resorts. People leave their towels to claim a chair in the morning and never show up the whole day to use it and the hotel does nothing about it. Consequently, every morning when we asked for shade from the attendant, he told us "it is full". Annoying. Even more, the attendant would start putting away the chairs at 1 PM, so even if you vacated your chair and took your towel, he would put the chair away. This reinforces even more people leaving towels on chairs they probably will not come back for.

Overall, a nice property with a lot going for it, but definitely not high end service for the money. Could be easily remedied though with a push from the management.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to see you had a good time. Your detailed comments are very useful as we always strive to make it a better place for our customers. We look forward to welcome you back some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Aruba and I was very happy with our choice of hotel. The hotel grounds were beautiful with palm trees and lots of palapas around. We got to the beach around 9 every morning and got a great palapa, so no need to line up and reserve your palapa at 5 am. The beach was wide with plenty of room between palapas.
The room was large and very clean. I suggest an upgrade to an ocean view room. It was very relaxing sitting out there at night and in the morning.
We went up to the Palm beach area one afternoon and I couldnt wait to get back to Eagle beach. Too many people up there, we were glad we didnt stay on Palm beach.
We ate at Pega Pega bar for lunch every day and the food was good. We didnt eat at the other restaurants so I cant comment on those. We enjoyed happy hour at Pega Pega. They made good strong drinks. The bartenders were great! Very friendly!
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing vacation away from the crowds.I would have had hotel envy if I stayed anywhere else! We will stay here again if we come back to Aruba.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Glad to read you enjoyed your recent Caribbean getaway at our resort. We very much appreciate you recommending us for a "a relaxing vacation away from the crowds."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Hall, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is my 2nd time to Manchebo and it's just as great as last year with a few extras added. (Welcome drink and cooler for the beach). I brought my neice for her 40th birthday and Manchebo went way beyond our expectations to make our stay wonderful. She loved it and can't wait to go back. For me I'll be back soon with my husband middle of February for 10 nights. Manchebo is truly paradise and we will be back for many years as we have found our vacation dream place at Manchebo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
So nice to read that you found your dream place and paradise. See you back in February for some more Manchebo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

SO happy we chose the low-rise section of the island! Our first time in Aruba and we will definitely return! Manchebo staff are fantastic, room is super clean, bed is heavenly! But the BEACH!!!! We will come back here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review. Having been the manager at the resort here for almost 10 years I agree with you that we are looking better every day or like you say "absolutely gorgeous".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This resort is quaint and comfortable. AMAZING and friendly staff. Yoga is offered a few times daily and you'll practice in a gorgeous pavilion or yoga deck - both with ocean views.

The pool is gorgeous and the beach offers quiet shady areas to relax.

There is a great little sundries store on site as well as a small market across the street for drinks, beer, coffee, wine, ice cream, and of course sunscreen.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your Caribbean vacation. When it get to yoga Manchebo is probably your best option on Aruba if not the Caribbean with our 10-classes a week schedule on our beautiful wooden decks overlooking the powder white sand beach and the turquoise blue Caribbean Sea. See you back next time for some more relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard | 55, Palm - Eagle Beach 99999, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Caribbean vacation experience begins at our intimate, 2-story boutique resort located on the shores of majestic Eagle Beach, an ideal place for romantic and rejuvenating getaways. The newly-renovated Deluxe Ocean and Deluxe Garden View Rooms offer attention to details and amenities, including spa-like bathrooms offering a rain/waterfall shower. The beach-side exotic Caribbean-Balinese style spa offers a variety of massages, body treatments and yoga & Pilates classes. Optional premium fully a-la-carte all-inclusive program available featuring Ike's Bistro and French Steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchebo Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Manchebo Beach Resort And Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.