We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard | 55, Palm - Eagle Beach 99999, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE MOJITO & WIFI
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great beach, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We loved this resort. We came to Aruba for a relaxing family trip and the Manchebo resort was just the ticket! The beach is beautiful, the rooms are clean and the service was great. The restaurants at the resort were good, but we chose to sample other restaurants on the island as well. We definitely would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Great to read you felt in love with our resort, the beach and our people. See you back on your next Caribbean vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    362
    93
    26
    17
See reviews for
198
1,058
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Manchebo from 1/11/13 to 1/18/13. the spot is one of the best for quality of beaches...we went for a long beach walk and realized that there are many rocks in front of some of the hotels, but not Manchebo, we lucked out, pure sand with no rocks and great surf. Bucuti may be the only other spot that has the room and no rocks...most hotels Have a narrow beach as well. that is the pro, the next really isnt a con, but just understand that the place is quant and quiet, which is nice sometime, just not all the time. This area is considered the "Low Rise" area, then there is the "High rise" area that has a ton of restaurants, stores and activity. it is a short cab ride away $9. you cannot walk there. there are also shuttles and buses that are cheaper but more time consuming.there is also the "old down town" where the cruise ships come into. this is old and rundown, we spent a day there but didnt need too. they High rise area is the new down town. I would recommend renting a car, we saw so much with the car, the island is diverse with cliffs and deserts. Baby beach was beautiful and on the other side of the island...
Back to Manchebo, the rooms are nice, the people are so kind the restaurants are excellent, just quiet at night. I would go again and stay in the same spot, the beauty and convenience of just walking right out to the beach with no fighting for a chair or shade far exceeds any trouble I saw at the crowded beaches where all the high rise hotels are.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Glad to see you got to enjoy the island and our resort to the fullest. See you back next time for another Aruba vacation. By that time the downtown area should be rejuvenated further with the tram line being in p;lace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I have been going to see Marilyn at the Spa Del Sol at Manchebo and it's always a wonderful experience.Don't miss this spa if you love to get a massage!The sounds are so soothing and a massage outdoors is amazing.Love,love,love it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our exotic outdoor spa facility is indeed a serene place where one will come to full relaxation. Its outdoor setting in he tropical gardens overlooking the turquoise blue Caribbean Sea is picture perfect. See you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I just returned from a 5 day trip to Manchebo with my girlfriend. All in all we had a great time (even though it rained a few of the days). While this hotel isn't very aesthetically pleasing or very luxurious, it's great if you're looking for a quiet, casual, relaxing vacation on an amazing beach. There isn't loud music or hundreds of people or 5 pools or 8,000 different activities going on at once - such as in the high-rise section- which is nice for those looking just to let loose and enjoy the sun and water.
The area of beach at this hotel is the best out of probably all of the hotels on the island. The palapas are spread far enough apart that you definitely feel a sense of privacy (unlike most of the other hotels in both the low-rise and high-rise sections where everyone is squished together). There's also always shaded palapas and chairs available (also unlike the big, high-rise hotels -Hyatt, Marriott, Riu, Radisson, Divi Phoenix, Holiday Inn, Westin, etc - where you have to get up at 6 to reserve one or stand in line waiting). The water is crystal clear and great for swimming.
While the staff was all very nice, the service is very slow. Apparently everything is run on "island time," including city buses and service at some restaurants, but this was our first time to Aruba, so I don't know how speedy service is at the other hotels on the island.
The rooms are simple but have nice decor, beds, and a bathroom.
As for the food…Ike's has the best food by far, and Pega Pega (the beach bar) has good food also. While the ala carte breakfast items were delicious (especially the oatmeal pancakes!), the breakfast buffet is WAY overpriced, seeing as how it's comparable to a continental breakfast at a Best Western or Days Inn. Including service charge it costs about $16.65 for a small selection of fruit, bacon, really dry bagels and toast, yogurt and a couple types of granola, as well as a daily special such as a mini spinach omelet. Like I said before, go for the other items they offer off the menu. We ate at the French Steakhouse on the last night and were really disappointed. It's overpriced, we had the slowest most ambivalent service and waiters, and I probably could have gotten a better steak dish at Applebee's. I got the Beef Croustades - tenderloin wrapped in a puff pastry with mushrooms and boursin. While I thought that beef tenderloin is usually sliced into pieces, inside my puff pastry was a giant block of meat that was really hard to eat! My girlfriend got filet mignon wrapped in bacon and said it wasn't very good either. (We're not picky, judgmental foodies, FYI).
All in all, we had a good experience. If more attention had been given to the appearance of the middle of the resort (between the main entrance and the beach - not including the restaurants), and the service had been a bit faster, I would have given this hotel 5 stars.
Basically, if you're looking for a calm, quiet, relaxing vacation on the best stretch of beach on the island (even better than the more expensive low-rises that it's sandwiched between -ie. Bucuti & Tara, Costa Linda, Casa del Mar, and Divi All-inclusive) and don't mind waiting a little more for service, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: you MUST get an ocean view room!! All of the rooms are close to the restaurants and beach, though
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Glad we fulfilled your desire for a quiet, relaxing, casual vacation on Aruba's best beach. Your specific restaurant comments have been reviewed with our chef and our breakfast buffet just got another upgrade with more choices to fulfill your expectations on your next Aruba visit. See you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Compton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here from 01 Jan 13 - 11 Jan 13. The past 10 years we have travelled throughout the Far East and the Maldives and that is why I just mark the hotel average as in comparison to all the hotels we have stayed in. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view room, the room was nothing special.
The staff were really friendly Diana our waitress was lovely always smiling and soon caught on to what we wanted at breakfast and lunch We stayed on a B&B basis
Carlos who works on the beach goes out of his way to find you the spot you want. Works really hard and again always smiling. If it is not available he will come and see you when it's free to ask if you want to move.
We ate in the French Steakhouse has I had read so many good reviews however I was really disappointed my mistake was probably ordering the seafood supreme. It came on a platter not well presented just lots of different fish, the calamari was like rubber and my salmon was overcooked. Needless to say we did not eat there again. Did not eat in Ike's so cannot comment.
An asian restauraunt I would definately reccommend is just a 5 min walk away by the shops and casino called Ginger we ate there twice and would have gone back even more if we had eaten there earlier in the holiday.
There are plenty of restauraunts and shops in Oranjestad and down by the high rise hotels we got the bus into both these places most nights only $5 for the 2 of us and the buses were reliable and convenient to the hotel.
The hotels fitness suite was undergoing renovation but we were allowed to use the gym at Costa Linda just a few mins away which was an excellent gym.
Went on 2 trips the 4hr snorkelling trip on a catamaran, if you haven't snorkelled before you would find it ok, but has we had swam with Manta Rays, turtles and so many fish in the Maldives
last year just didn't compare. The second trip was the Jeep safari with ABC Tours what a great day out and saw the whole of the Island if you are lucky enough to get the 2 tour guides we got Funny Ronny and I am so sorry can't remember the other name you will have a great fun filled day out. It was pouring down for the first hour or so of the trip but that couldn't dampen anyones spirits with Funny Ronny.
Overall we still had a lovely holiday. We are a British couple, would I return to Aruba year after year like lots of the Americans we met NO!!! Just too many other countries to visit.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe ocean view room number 33 but these rooms just have a slight view of the ocean has t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which is always much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed our great beach and the service provided by our excellent team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our third trip to Aruba, First stay at Manchebo. Cannot wait to return The staff are all very pleasant. Everyone made it very hard to leave! The food at steak house and Bistro were adequate. Pega pega, you are all the best and made our stay so pleasant. We miss you all and cant wait to see you in July.This is the nicest beach in aruba. The rooms are very nicely redone and very comfortable. Thanks again Christine and Rick Hickman

Room Tip: Deluxe oceanview .I would definately book in these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Appreciate your nice review and glad to see that Manchebo is the place for you to turn to for the year to come. See you later this year - our staff will be waiting for you with two nice mojitos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in December 2012 and found the place to be very nice and very quiet and relaxed. The rooms were clean, the staff was nice and the beach was great. We always got a beach hut and chairs were more than available.

Restaurants and all inclusive option

We booked our stay directly through the hotel's website and opted for the "all inclusive" option. Most guests at the hotel did not opt for this (as we could tell with the number of people who didn't have the all inclusive bracelets). I personally would not get the "all inclusive" option if I were to come back here. The reason being is that the options are very very limited. There are 3 restaurants one of which is open for breakfast, the other option for lunch and then 2 of the 3 are open for dinner. Breakfast and lunch were definitely far from anything special. Dinner was fantastic at both restaurants (quality wise) however the choices were limited and both my wife and I got bored quickly with the variety of choices. There were more restaurants outside the resort and in the other resorts around as well all within walking distance including some fast food choices like Subway and Little Ceasers Pizza which I would have gladly eaten for lunch had I not already paid for it at the hotel's restaurant. The only reason to consider the all inclusive option is if you're a heavy drinker but don't expect to find anyone that'll join you in your drunken adventure. Most guests were families and older couples.

Watersports

There's no designated watersports desk in the hotel or watersports hut on the beach or very near by in case you want to rent a kayak, paddle board or seadoo or go out snorkelling or scuba diving like you'd find if you stay more upwards in Palm Beach. The closest hut is approximately half an hour walk on the beach down towards the airport. If you want to do watersports, rent a car and drive up Palm Beach to where the strip of beach hotels are (Riu, Radisson, etc.). You'll find plenty of huts there with all kinds of options. For us, I went scuba diving with Dive Aruba which was great and we also rented a Jeep Wrangler and went around the island for the day going to the other side of the island (the north east coast) as well as various snorkelling spots. The do-it-yourself option was something we always strive to do now as we're not fans of large organized tours. If you do rent a Jeep, our route started by going north to Malmok beach (great snorkelling), Boca Catalina beach (amazing snorkelling), California Lighthouse (tons of tourist groups), 4X4 offroading the east coast (tons of fun if you've never done it), Natural Pool (hold on to your hats!!), Baby Beach (great snorkelling) and Magel Halto beach (amazing snorkelling). We also went to downtown Oranjestad which was nothing more than expensive touristy stores and some nice buildings as well as a strip of street vendors.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel but without the all inclusive option given the location, price point, service and cleanliness.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room I don't think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar-Manchebo, General Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you had a nice stay and for recommending the resort.
As for the optional all-inclusive program we offer a fully a-la-carte breakfast, lunch and dinner program for our guests in addition to a breakfast buffet. The popular part of our program is the fully a-la-carte part and the premium open bar. So no lunch and dinner buffets but freshly prepared meals. The down-side could be that we are only a small intimate 72-room resort so the number of restaurants will be less than at one of the larger 400+ room resorts. Our guests can dine a-la-carte at French Steakhouse and Ike's Bistro both featuring jointly over 20 appetizers and 35 main courses. Our chefs are always looking to surprise our guests so menus are continuously updated to meet the high expectations. In fact the pool-side Ike's Bistro features a totally new menu with Mediterranean & Caribbean dishes just introduced 3 months ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard | 55, Palm - Eagle Beach 99999, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Caribbean vacation experience begins at our intimate, 2-story boutique resort located on the shores of majestic Eagle Beach, an ideal place for romantic and rejuvenating getaways. The newly-renovated Deluxe Ocean and Deluxe Garden View Rooms offer attention to details and amenities, including spa-like bathrooms offering a rain/waterfall shower. The beach-side exotic Caribbean-Balinese style spa offers a variety of massages, body treatments and yoga & Pilates classes. Optional premium fully a-la-carte all-inclusive program available featuring Ike's Bistro and French Steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchebo Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Manchebo Beach Resort And Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.