We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trusting...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort to your Saves list
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“Trusting...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2005

Both my husband and I stayed at the Amsterdam Manor for our honeymoon and it was a treat. Upon check in the front office clerks did a great job and handle everything with grace.

Filo at the Upperdeck bar was a blast to be around he made us feel like we were in heaven GOOD JOB FILO.

We ask about the telephone calls and one of the clerks told about a prepaid card. so we bought one but for some reason it didn't work. This is where trust comes in two of the clerks i can remember their names still Naika and Ellis. first time Naika gave me her cellphone to make a call i could have called all over the world but it was ok with her, you go girl. then again the phone service i guest was down from the island then Ellis offered me his cellphone with no hesitation. This kind of trust you cannot find anymore, that is trust and love for another human being GOOD WORK.

The Amsterdam Manor feels like a home away from home and that was a great feeling for me.

Mango's was great as well MArk really knows how to treat a guest Its like something in the watyer with these guys . Both my husband and I are planning to return to Aruba and there is no other place i rather stay

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    270
    70
    36
    22
See reviews for
181
651
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2005

We had a terrific vacation in Aruba early September and a major part of that was due to staying at the absolutely wonderful and charming Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort! We loved the beautiful architecture, tropical landscaping, and very friendly/helpful staff! They made us feel very much at home! It was delightful to sit on our patio and gaze out on the beautiful Carribean with palm trees framing it. It is an excellent hotel which has left us with great memories from our 25th wedding anniversary trip. We would definitely want to stay there again if we return and highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

It's better in person than viewing it on the computer. Checking was a ok the staff handle all the check-ins great there was so many at the same time, I know I would not be able to handle so many people at the same time so hats off to the front office staff. When you get say hi to one by the name of Ellis he helped us the best that he can. keep the good work up.
The restaurant was ok. had more fun at hte beach bar Deigo was great.
Housekeeping missed cleaning our room the first few days but they were on their game after that keep the good work up.
This is a small resort and the staff go out of their way to make you comfortable as possible. Ellis told us that "you are on vacation so let us handle everything for you, as in making reservations to different things" and we did good work guys.

We read about the reviews about a smell well maybe it was our luck because we had no problem with any kinda smell.

again
HATS OF TO THE AMSTERDAM MANOR BEACH RESORT

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2005

My sister and I stayed at Amsterdam Manor for a week and loved it. We are rather independent people, and this was just what we were looking for! We were never told the reason, but upon check-in we were upgraded from a superior studio to a 2-BR suite. What a great way to start out the vacation!! It was very spacious with a nice view. The decor is nothing too special, but having the space and a living room and kitchen more than makes up for the comfortable but plain decor. We rented a jeep for the week we stayed at the Manor, and explored just about every part of the island. I highly recommend having your own wheels in Aruba. The island is small enough that you don't really need a map, as long as you know if you are headed north, south, east or west.

The staff at the Amsterdam Manor were very friendly, and we felt well taken care of. It's more than worth the moderate price compared to other hotels in Aruba in the high-rise area.

A note about the smell.... what smell? We stayed there in 2004 and I never once smelled any sewage. I was surprised by the other reviews I read about the place. Maybe we were just lucky? We were also not on the hotel grounds all that often. We were on the beach, or driving around the island. Anyway, it wasn't an issue for us!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2005

Went to the Amsterdam Manor for 9 days with my husband and teenage son. We loved it there. The surroundings were peacefully beautiful. We had a wonderful 2-bedroom unit overlooking the ocean where the sun sets right before your eyes each night. The beach was awesome and you can actually see a few fish while snorkeling there. Shade umbrellas were almost always available no matter what time of day. And at night, the whole place feels magical with the breeze and the view and the palm trees rustling, Spanish music in the background and good rum drinks. The smell talked about was present nearly every day but only for a short time and we heard that remedies were going to be taken to correct the problem (something to do with working on sewers). The food at Mango's was good and the staff was always helpful and very friendly. Everyone knew our names after the first day and we knew theirs. There is one thing I want to mention in particular and that is with respect to the 15% service charge added onto your dining tab. We found out (much to our dismay) nearly at the end of our vacation that the 15% is not a tip for the waitstaff. I checked this out with people in the office, by the way, and they confirmed that it was, indeed, the truth. Luckily, I had left money after each meal to round out the tip to about 20%. Little did I know that they weren't receiving the 15% and, therefore, instead of being a bit generous, I wound up feeling as though I had cheated them (and tried to make up for it during our last day there). Apparently, the 15% service charge goes to the hotel and they use that money to pay the waitstaff, who really don't make much money at all. And that practice goes on at @90% of the hotels in Aruba. I think this is very unfair considering how hard everyone works to make guests happy (obviously, they're not doing it for the money). I think this is something people should consider into their budget while planning their vacation as the addition of a 15% tip to a 15% service charge can add up to a good chunk of change, especially when you're on all-inclusive. We loved Aruba, however, and the Amsterdam Manor, and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2005

We stayed at the Amsterdam Manor Hotel for a week in August. The staff was very welcoming and accomodating, especially Illis. He is a true professional who goes out of his way to make your stay pleasant. One day I needed to get a phone card and the hotel store was closed, so Illis actually gave me his own phone card. How nice!
Unfortunately our vacation was not totally relaxing because we made the mistake of renting from Amigo Car Rentals. When we booked our room we asked for recommendations on car rentals, the girl at AM suggested Amigo.
HUGE MISTAKE. The first car we had did not start on the second morning! We should not have been surprised since it had over 98,000 miles on it. We wasted the morning trying to start the car and waiting for Amigo. The fellow who came couldn't fix it, so he gave us his car which had over 103,000 miles on it....Fine, until the next night when we are out to dinner downtown at the Driftwood. The second car wouldn't start. We called for help. The main office is closed and there is no answering service. Finally we make contact with the airport office and the girl told us to take a cab but warned us that Amigo would not pay for it. We had to get a THIRD car. The third car got us through the rest of the week. When we got to the airport, the company refused to compenstate us in anyway for all our troubles. They would not even reinburse us for the gas we had in each of the two cars that were boken down. (On each replacement we lost about a half tank of very expensive gas) The manager was always off and could not be reached each time we tried. 3 CARS IN 5 DAYS OF STRESS AND FRUSTRATION.
Aruba is beautiful. We enjoyed the Amsterdam Manor but they should not recommend Amigo Car Rental. DO not rent from Amigo. They will leave you stranded LATE AT NIGHT DOWNTOWN.!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2005

My husband and I just returned from our Honeymoon in Aruba and chose Amsterdam Manor for it's unique and quaint atmosphere -- and especially after hearing about the wonderful staff there. However, we were a bit worried before our departure reading some reviews about the smell, but we figured people were just being nit-picky and thought we wouldn't notice and definitely would still give the place a shot. Well....it turns out as much as we tried to avoid it, the smell was there almost 24/7 and it really was bad -- who knows maybe the direction of the wind that week was to blame, but either way, we could not handle it. We also reserved the honeymoon suite which was roomy, but the bed really was dissapointing....very hard and very low considereing it was in this huge wood frame. If it had not been our honeymoon, we 'may' have toughed it out, but it just wasn't what we envisioned from the small beach ( a lot of topless women by the way) and not much to do with yourself there. We felt the need to leave the hotel when on our honeymoon we really wanted to relax and enjoy our surroundings that we were paying for. We did eat at Mangos' and outside at the beach -- both were just ok and the flies all around were also hard to ignore. We ended up switching hotels after the second day -- the Raddison was absolutely amazing! It may just be that we planned wrong for our personal preference, but I just wanted to share this for those making the same decision. With all this said, the staff at AM really was terrific, but it wasn't enough for us to stay and deal with the smell. Above all, ARUBA is fantastic and I woudl recommend it to anyone!!

Restaurants to visit: El Gaucho, Flying Fishbone, Sunset Grill, Driftwood, and we also did the dinner on the beach at Raddison which was most memorable!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.