We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were looking forward to” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort to your Saves list
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new york city
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not what we were looking forward to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed at the Amsterdam Manor for the last full week in March. We will not be returning. It wasn't awful, just mediocre.

What we liked:

1. The location was almost perfect for a beach lover. Right across the road from an uncrowded beach with sun, clean sand and plenty of chairs.

2. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful.

3. Mango's restaurant had a split personality. The buffet breakfast was poor with dry eggs, lousy pan cakes and french toast. Dinner, on the other hand, was very good with tasty dishes and large portions. Be prepared, however, for very slow service if on busy nights. We ate lunch at Passions on the Beach several times and were happy with everything. We did not eat at Passions for dinner.

4. A large supermarket (Super Food) is within a 5-8 minute walk of the hotel allowing us to purchases meals at decent prices. For a simple delicious breakfast, eat at the cafe just inside the entrance. It is both better an cheaper that that at Mangos.

What we did not like:

1. The rooms were no more than glorified motel rooms. The furniture was plain and serviceable. The kitchenette was tiny and poorly laid out. The so called veranda was tiny and barely fit a lounge chair and table with chairs. The beds were comfortable. There are no sills on the showers and, except for some rolled up bath mats, water would have leaked all over the bathroom. Water pressure was almost non existent.

2. The coffee in the restaurants and in the rooms was uniformly awful, both bitter and weak.

3. The pool was tiny and only 4 feet deep, more suited to children than adults. As all of the pool umbrellas had tables attached to the center poll, one got little of no shade when using the pool lounges.

4. The room service menu consists of two appetizers, two entrees and two deserts despite the restaurant menus being quite extensive. How to you have a caesar salad with no anchovies in the dressing and tastes like it was made with mayonnaise (argghh).

Considering the price we paid, this hotel was a poor value.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We're very sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't what you expected. Although we try to comply with every guest needs we can read that we did not meet your expectation. We would like to thank you for your positive and negative comments, so in the future we will keep on improving our service.

We do think we have a nice resort, rooms and facilities and most importantly as you have mention a friendly staff. Most of the guest that stay with us share this opinion too. Also our water pressure is controlled with aerators in all rooms to reduce the water flow but maintaining sufficient pressure. We are sorry to hear you experienced the water pressure as too low, but this is one of the ways how we contribute to the environment because we are a green hotel.

We hope that despite the inconveniences, you still enjoyed your stay on Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    284
    74
    39
    23
See reviews for
202
690
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Preston, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent 8 perfect nights at the AM from 2-21/3-01. We stayed in 108A and couldn't of asked for a better location! The resort was exceptionally clean, the people were very friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed Mangos, "love ya Quintin" and Passions on the Beach. Had an outstanding time with Peter the bartender at Horizons at the resort. They have a great happy hour every day from 5-6 and 9-10. They also have a managers cocktail party with free appetizers and lots of fun!
The rooms are very clean, and the maids even leave Dove chocolates on your bed every evening.We checked out the high rise section while we were there and were so glad we had decided to stay at the AM! They treat you like family and it's so less crowded on the beach. I could go on and on on how much we loved it!Eagle beach is a great beach...white sand, clean and clear water and you can walk for quite a ways. We will def be back again next year and booking at the Amsterdam Manor!!! ! Thank you for making our first trip to Aruba so enjoyable. It def wont be our last! Allan & Nancy
P.S. The sunsets at dinner are amazing!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a bottom floor room! Perfect for everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Allan and Nancy thank you for taking the time to leave a nice review. Our staff works very hard providing you great service so you can enjoy a wonderful vacation experience. As you mentioned the beach is beautiful and it is truly relaxing.
We will be waiting for your next trip to Aruba and the Amsterdam Manor and we hope to see you one more time at our famous cocktail party. Thank you very much for your feedback and for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The staff was very friendly, but the location is by the road so it's not an isolated place. The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff also friendly.

The restaraunt that the build by the sea every night is a nice but expensive experience. Aruba is very pricey all an all. A nice hotel, but with the money paid we could've had a better hotel on another island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for leaving your comment for us. As you have mentioned we are situated by the road, however it is not a concern for most of our guest as the walking distance is not far from the beach compare to various other resort on island.
Thank you for your comment regarding our cleanliness of our rooms; we try to do our outmost best so that every guest can feel as comfortable as possible in their room. We regret that you felt that you could have invested your money elsewhere, but we hope that you still had a lovely stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I just got back from my first trip to Aruba and we stayed 7 nights at Amsterdam Manor from March 18th - March 25th. Our flight landed in Aruba at around 1pm so we got to the hotel fairly early and our room was not ready yet. So we went across the street and had lunch at Passions which is affiliated with the hotel. I loved how close the beautiful Eagle Beach is to the Manor and Passions does serve some pretty good food and snacks as well as drinks.

There were a few hiccups with our stay but all of them were addressed by the staff at the Manor. First was the check-in, I believe regular check-in time was 4pm, since we got there early we just waited along with the rest of the people who arrived early as well but as 4pm approached it seemed as though everyone else was sent to their rooms except for us. We booked a Standard Studio with partial ocean view. The staff didn't address what the delay was but just kept telling us that our room will be ready soon or in 10 minutes...let's just say quite a few 10 minutes passed by before we were able to go to our room. I think we checked in around 5pm.

The next two issues was with our balcony door and our shower. We were told our balcony door was not functioning correctly and it needed to be fixed (and this might have been what caused the delay in checking in). So they advised us to not open the door for the time being, which was fine. They fixed the door the next day while we were out on the beach, so that was addressed fairly quickly.

The issue with the shower was that the water temperature was not stable. It would go from very cold to very hot on it's own. So you can imagine this made showering very difficult and especially with sunburns, when that water suddenly got really hot it hurt! We mentioned this issue to the front desk a couple of times before they finally got maintenance to come take a look. So we did have to endure a few days of this shower situation.

They said that the whole faucet for the shower or piping had to be fixed or replaced because the room above us was having the same issue as well. So, they decided to move us to a new room for the remainder of our stay and offered us a complimentary breakfast at Mango's. The new room was a slight upgrade because it seemed like a Deluxe Studio with a private sitting area in the front. We did appreciate how the situation was handled but we just wished it didn't take 3 days.

Overall, the staff at Amsterdam Manor is very friendly and nice as with the rest of the locals on this happy island. There are two restaurants affiliated with this hotel Mango's and Passions. The service at Mango's can be a little slow during the dinner rush. Both places serve pretty good food. Breakfast is served at Mango's for an additional $17.50 per person.

And lastly, I thought it was such an interesting gesture for the housekeeping staff to bring us 2 dove chocolates every evening at around 7pm. It definitely made our trip that much sweeter.

Thank you to everyone at Amsterdam Manor!
Mr. & Mrs. Li

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs. Li,

Thank you very much for your feedback and sharing your experiences. Our apologies for your inconveniences that you have encountered during check in, balcony door and the shower problem. We will address these comments to the manager in charge to prevent this in the future. We will for sure send your compliments regarding the food to the chef’s and the housekeeping department. We’re happy to hear that besides your inconveniences you enjoyed your stay and glad you choose us as your vacation destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Amsterdam Manor and they did not disappoint. They continue to maintain the high standard they have set for themselves. From Samuel at the beach to Juan at the restaurants and Vincent at the bar everyone is friendly and gracious. The one thing that impresses me the most and will keep me coming back is the people and the cleanliness. They do a fantastic job keeping the place maintained and take pride in the resort. Eagle beach is a great beach...white sand, clean and clear water and you can walk for quite a ways. We will be back again next year!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
It is so great to read when our guest go back home satisfied. Thank you for your posting and for the compliments of our staff. We will be welcoming you back next year for your 3rd trip to the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, IA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our family of 6 stayed at the AM March 16, 2014 for a week. We had the two room suite, which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. This was our first time in Aruba, and we would come back and stay at the AM again! The kitchen was very nice and we ate in a lot of our meals to save some money, as it is pretty expensive to eat out in Aruba. The really nice thing about this resort is the super food grocery store is a 5 minute walk, making shopping for groceries so easy as we did not have a car. The resort was always sparkling clean, very friendly staff everywhere we went, and nice amenities. We rented snorkel equipment from the front desk for $5 for a mask, and snorkeled right off the beach near the rocks and saw lots of cool stuff. You can also rent bikes for $10 per day! Good deal! We LOVED the beach, nicest one in Aruba! Several days we walked to the high rise hotels for various excursions (1-2 mile walk, depending on where you were going) and it was crowded, busy and not as nice of a beach. Eagle beach was quiet, not crowded at all, plenty to do as far as water sport rentals, etc. We never worried about "getting a chair" on the beach, and whenever we showed up there was plenty of chairs available, and foam floatation rafts for free! We rode the bus a few times to get us around the island, which is super easy, cheap, and the bus stop is right in front of the AM. We ate at Mango's for dinner one night and the food and service was outstanding! REALLY, REALLY good experience at the AM - we just loved it! We had a nice balcony overlooking the beach and ocean, with a little table and chairs, and two lounge chairs also. Oh, the bathrooms are pretty nice, new, modern, which is important to me! Wi-fi is spotty, but you're on vacation! The walk across the street to the beach is literally closer than the walk from the high rises that are on the beach because they are set back so far. We will be back - we loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
As you have mentioned the resort has a friendly staff, the resort is always clean, the food is great, the beach is quite and relaxing, and we offer nice amenities.
We try to focus on giving you as our guest the best memorable experience possible and we hope to see you and your family back soon enjoying the beach life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Our USA family of 4 (2 parents, 2 late teens) stayed at Am Manor in a 2BR suite for a week in March 2014, and enjoyed it greatly! Our first time in Aruba. Beautiful beach, beach bar, super happy hour bartenders. Many of the staff speak 4 languages-- Spanish, Dutch, English and Papimiento. Our dinner at the onsite Mangoes restaurant was terrific. But best of all about Amersterdam Manor was its genuine Arubian feel-- every moment, you know are you someplace different/ foreign/ distinctive-- from the hotel's yellow concrete walls, brick hardscaping, desert landscaping, blue pool, gables, outdoor dining and bars, eaves, rafters, vaulted ceiling (in our 2nd floor unit), patios (facing sunset), tile roofs. I could go on ...

Simply, the gestalt of the place is just way cool! So take a chance and forget the standard USA-type hotel fare over in the high rise district, which you can enjoy anywhere. Sure, go to the Hi Rise District for a dinner or 2 (we did like Smokey Joe's) and some garish shopping, lights, crowds, and chintzy tourist shops (we went to several and bought some "stuff"). But leave behind that district's crowded beaches and "anywhere" feel and spend most of your time at the AM. The staff is great and courteous, the friendly (4 language) Concierge Marllyn will make all your dinner reservations, and the beach always had a straw parasol for those wanting shade, and plenty of sunny beach when one wanted heat.

There are some minor downsides: Arubian design has "smallish windows", and one might quibble with particular room sizes or layouts (or, say, the room dehumidifier that was in our unit) but all that to us was very small potatoes. And a road divides the hotel and beach, but drivers honor the "Zebras" and we found the road to be a non-problem.

Restaurants we liked: Barefoot (near airport), Mangoes, Smokey Joes, Passions on the Beach (at AM!). Day trip we liked: To the National Park: Go in the morning and check out the Cunucu trail (easy), then hike up to the cell tower for a great 360 degree view of the island. You can be back at the AM pool by noon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your detailed posting on Trip Advisor.
Certainly we are quite diverse than the other hotels. The infrastructure of our hotel makes it unique, the perfect relaxing beach area and of course our staff gives you the Arubian feeling.
Please do not be a stranger and come back soon at the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.