We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon spot!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort to your Saves list
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Me and My wife stayed at the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort for our honeymoon from 6/9-6/14/13. It was an amazing experience of hospitality, comfort and relaxation. As soon as we arrived we were upgraded to the 1 bedroom suite when we told them we were here for our honeymoon. Throughout the whole stay at this resort we did not encounter one problem! Every employee that we met went out of their way to accommodate us and assist with directions and suggest places to eat and drink. It was a very enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend this resort for any couple, newlywed or not!

Room Tip: If on your honeymoon present your marriage certificate upon arrival for a room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    268
    70
    35
    22
See reviews for
181
646
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The atmosphere and location of this hotel are fantastic. The staff is very kind, helpful, and responsive.The beach is perfect - great for walks and swims and never too crowded - and the view from the front rooms is great. Passions is a must for dinner at least once. Mangoes breakfast buffet is superb; dinner at Mangoes is just ok. There's a grocery store nearby and a well stocked shop on site. The only down side for me was the absolutely frigid temperature of the room. We had been told by email that condensation wasn't an issue with the two bedrooms; but it was. However, we were outside most of the time anyway. It is perfectly safe and comfortable to sleep on the balconies. The great thing about Aruba is that the constant breeze keeps away mosquitoes and humidity. There is so much to do in Aruba, it's great for singles, families, and kids. We will definitely be back to Amersterdam Manor next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

June 11, 2013
To whom it may concern:
My husband and I are experienced travelers and we were truly disappointed with our stay at the Amsterdam Manor. We were told not to adjust the air conditioner higher than 25 Celsius, which was too cold for my taste. In addition, every night the humidifier would fill up and shut off, leaving the floors wet every morning. Housekeeping was sent the first morning to mop and failed to do so. She adjusted the air conditioner to 19 Celsius, which dried the floor. The bed felt like sleeping on a brick wall. A room change was not an option according to the front desk, so they place a thin mattress pad on the bed. The water pressure was below standard, and lack hot water. A maintenance worker came adjust the heat but stated nothing could be done about the water pressure. I was so overwhelmed with disappointment we tried to check- into La Cabana or Tropicana but unfortunately, they were booked. Next time our stay will be at the more modern Hi-rise end of the island.


Disappointed,

Bridget J

Room Tip: do not stay in C10, also there is a storage room adjacent, which is utilized daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing this information and telling us about the inconveniences you encountered. We’re very sorry to hear your experience wasn't what you expected. The things mentioned are addressed to the person in charge. We hope that despite the inconveniences, you still enjoyed your stay on Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta, ga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was my wife and my first trip to Aruba. We decided to stay in the low-rise area and avoid the big-box hotels from the high-rise area. We selected the Amsterdam Manor from the reviews we read on TripAdvisor and it was everything we read and more. From the time we arrived, the staff was sincerely interested in making sure everything was in order for our stay. It started with Nilo helping us with our bags and answering any questions we had to the staff at the front desk helping with any requests. They even answered the questions we didn't know we had. The Amsterdam Manor has a European atmosphere and felt like the hotels we have stayed at in Europe. It was a great place to relax and have the beach time without feeling like we were in the masses like in any of the high-rise hotels. Its location was ideal with only a 5-10 -minute cab ride to the almost any restaurant. When we return to Aruba, we will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited Aruba 5 years ago and had a wonderful experience at Amsterdam Manor. This was our 2nd stay and I've got to say... this place is heaven on earth. The customer service, beach/location & atmosphere at this hotel is #1.

Let me start by talking about the customer service... The 2nd day after we arrived, I wanted to plan activities. We only had 5 nights/6 days to do stuff. We had done the ABC tour and a sunset cruise the subsequent visit and wanted to try something different. I browsed the TripAdvisor list of activities and found the "Segway Tour", "Stand-up Paddle Boarding", and for relaxation "Nafanny Massage". Somehow, someway I must have picked the right things to do because they were all excellent (I have written reviews about each on TripAdvisor as well). After researching my options, I went to the concierge. SHE WAS EXCELLENT. I sat down with her for about 30 minutes and she helped me plan all three activities, one a day. She called all the businesses to make sure of the price and if they provided transportation to/from the hotel. Keep in mind you need to make cash deposits for some of these activities with the concierge. She showed us the location of the activities on a map of Aruba she gave to us from behind her desk (a pamphlet). She was so friendly and helped us really enjoy our experience in Aruba. Other customer service things to note... the room service was excellent (no hassles), the front desk was exceptional (always called us a cab, helped us with directions and gave me change for 20 dollar bills for tipping/paying cabs & restaurants), the Amsterdam Manor store has easy access to drinks/junk food if you need a water for a trip or get hungry late at night, and the passions bar on the beach was great for mixed drinks (conveniently using your room key to pay and charged at the end of your stay).

The beach/location is unique at Amsterdam Manor. It is off the main strip where all the other larger/snobbier/noisier hotels are. The beach has a quiet demeanor to it. A mostly dutch clientele mixed with a few random tourists from US makes up the population here. The water is extremely calm (at least when we stayed in May/Memorial day week), clean, and feels like a private place where you can throw all your stresses away and exchange them for serenity. There is a bar right on the beach (passions) with excellent mixed drinks if you need help falling asleep while sunbathing.

In terms of atmosphere, Amsterdam is right smack in the middle of the high rise hotels (the strip) and downtown (near the Renaissance hotel). You can reach any restaurant around the area with a 8-12 dollar cab ride. The newly constructed "SUPER FOODS" mega grocery store is a great addition to the area. It is located behind the hotel, around 4-5 blocks walk away (you need to cross a semi-highway type road but it's totally worth it). Super Foods offers you so many options in terms of groceries and they even have a great cafe for breakfast/lunch (fresh squeezed orange juice!!). It is Dutch owned, very clean and very well maintained. We bought many meats, cheeses, spirits, fruits, and other items almost every day. Definitely recommend going here to stock your fridge for those times when it's too hot and you need a snack/break from the sun or a late night snack.

There is so much more to say about Amsterdam Manor but I cannot write it all in one review. Cheers to all who want to and have stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and sharing your experiences. We’re very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us again and are glad you will choose us as your vacation destination in the future. We will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our first time in Aruba and was wonderful. The staff at the Amsterdam Manor was great. There was not anything that I wanted for, just ask and they were there. The place was good for a quite time/vacation. The beach is a minute walk away with a nice "on the beach" restaurant and the sun will set right before your eyes....everyday!
Enjoyed every second of this vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We've stayed here 3 times, and wouldn't hesitate to go back. There are several different room styles, but all are spacious. On our last visit, there was a problem with the electric, but the staff handled it well - moving us to another room and being very gracious. We love the casual feel of this place. It is so easy to just walk across the street to the beach...order food from the bar there and have a wonderful day. The bus stop is right in front of this centrally located hotel and you can catch this very efficient transportation to anywhere you want to go. Aruba is fabulous - and this hotel experience is personal and "homey" versus one of the many hi-rise hotels that are available elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.