We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good but no wows!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Peize, Drenthe, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good but no wows!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The word 'Resort' is misused. The Amsterdam Manor is a fine hotel, located on beautiful Eagle Beach, but is too small and has too few extras to call itself 'Resort'.
That does not mean we did not have a pleasant stay. The rooms we rate as good, we had the superior room with partial seaview, and everything you need was there. The rooms however need to be updated to meet the standards of nowadays. The television set for example must be from the nineties.
The beach is brilliant and we do recommend you to dine there with the setting sun as your romantic candle light. It is like in the movies.
The members of the staff are nice and helpful and they contribute to the relaxed atmosfere by not running too hard for you. I like that about Arubans. They are willing to do anything for you but they do at their own pace.
Overall we think it is a good hotel on a beautiful beach that has to be modernised if they want us to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing this information and we're happy to hear you had a lovely vacation staying with is. We always try to update were we can and therefore new televisions are on its way to replace the current one. New fridges are coming, as well as new mattresses. Overall we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    257
    64
    35
    21
See reviews for
173
604
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Location is great - bus stops for both directions right outside the hotel. 5 minute bus or taxi ride to the high rise district so it's easy to go eat or whatever and then leave all that crap behind. It was only about 15 minutes by bus into Oranjestad as well. I don't think any hotel is better situated unless you are the high-rise sort.

We stayed in the penthouse. It was nice, plenty of room and well-appointed with its own porch... that overlooked the bus stops. You can't see the beach from anywhere on this property, it's too small of a building and there is a road and a lot of trees in the way. I didn't really need the view since the beach is a 1 minute walk away, but the noise from two bus stops was less peaceful than I'd prefer. I think we'd have been better off in a smaller room positioned farther back on the property. Otherwise the road being there is no big deal - there is not enough traffic to slow down your walk to the beach most of the time, and really you aren't any farther from the beach than you'd be at a different hotel.

There were several bugs in our room. Not the biting kind and we aren't squeamish, and hey, it's an eco-friendly tropical resort so some of that is to be expected so we didn't complain about it. I forgot to complain about the hair in the shower -

We had a flight delay, and straggled in a day late, tired and a little smelly, looking forward to showers and naps. But our room wasn't ready when we arrived (it should have been ready yesterday!). When we asked why, the desk clerk didn't even look up, just said it wasn't check-in time yet. When I said we had reserved starting yesterday, he gave an "ohhh" of realization and then told us to go sit at the bar for a few hours. In terms of personal interaction that was the nicest the desk staff was to us at any point in the stay. They did knock off the charge for that first night that we missed, which was a very nice surprise and very much appreciated.

On the other hand, Mayra at the concierge desk was a real pleasure. Always smiling, remembered me by name, helpful with every last detail from excursions to directions to car rental to dinner reservations. She was a treasure. I didn't use the wedding planner but I did have occasion to meet her and talk for 15-20 min and she seemed to really enjoy her job. The couple who were renewing their vows were happy with her as well. I think she works other hotels too.

In the evenings we often came back from dinner to find chocolates left on our coffee table. Hey great, chocolate! Until we decided to stay in and forgot to hang up the do not disturb sign. 9:15pm is awfully late to get a pounding on your door, and awfully late to have someone enter your room when you don't answer the door quickly enough. There are a few things I would rather have than chocolate, and privacy with my wife in my hotel room is one of them.

The beach is very nice, the just about the best stretch of beach we came across. Cleaner than the others - the Dutch seem to smoke a lot, but there were not many butts and no other litter on AM's beach, which was definitely not the case elsewhere. If you want a palapa, get out there early - first come first served, and people go out before breakfast and lay belongings on the chairs to stake out spots they don't fill until much later. Seems a lousy way to be, but it happened every day.

The Passions Bar service was fine. Drinks are expensive but not more so than the rest of the island. A couple of times they were quite strong but most of them seemed very watered down.
Mangos restaurant was fine. Breakfast is a fixed price no matter how much you eat, with a lot of options. We ate well in the mornings. Dinner was fine, nothing really special. Note to remember: theme nights also mean "we close early" which we found out the hard way. My fault for not reading the in-room guide more closely, I suppose.

Passions the restaurant is all ambience. The food was good but not great and the service was almost maddeningly slow, although friendly and polite. I get it's island time and also a European style, but it was s-l-o-w. No matter - reserve about half an hour before sunset and tell them it's a special occasion so you're seated in the front. The view and the atmosphere are incredible and make it worth the price - it is as romantic as a restaurant can be.

In the end it's a good place to stay but I wish I had just rented a 1 BR instead of the penthouse. We wanted something special for our special occasion and instead just ended up spending more money.

Room Tip: Save your money on the penthouse. There is no view but a lot of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also to read the comments and thoughts you have. We're sorry for the inconveniences you encountered. Your comments about our staff are addressed to the person in charge. We're glad you had a lovely stay on Aruba and we do hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a very good holiday staying at the Amsterdam Manor for 7 nights. We are a family with two young children. We were looking for a relaxing break where we could enjoy family time in an easy atmosphere. We are currently on international assignment in Santiago Chile and the purpose of the trip was to relax. We certainly managed it.

The hotel staff are very nice and their service was excellent. The hotel is very well positioned on the beach (it is across the road from the beach though which I wasn't aware of). The beach is beautiful, the sand clean and the water clean and warm. Very safe for our wee ones. There were plenty of sun loungers and shade. The pool was very nice - it isn't huge but there never seemed to be too many people for it.

The food is excellent (a great treat after Chile) and the restaurant catered for our severely food allergic toddler (milk, egg and nuts) very easily (always a big worry for us).

The supermarket is very close and had very good choice including soy milk for our son and marmite (such a treat after 6 months in Chile). The concierge had gone ahead and bought us some groceries for our apartment after I had emailed her in advance as we arrived quite late.

We had a penthouse suite (2 bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, diner and lounge with big balcony). We had booked a 2 bed suite but were upgraded. This was perfect for us. The kitchen is very well equipped and we actually could cook easily which is rare in our experience where kitchens are often very badly equipped.

Our only slight negatives were:
1. somehow our taxi booking for going to the airport went wrong and was not promptly fixed. We ended up in a rush at the airport only after frankly I was rather rude to the concierge and demanded she get us a taxi pronto. A shame to end on such a note.
2. Our suite overlooked the service area (not from the balcony which overlooked the sea) which is poorly screened and often the bins were rather smelly in the heat. Didn't bother us too much but they could try to make it all a bit more discrete.
3. To make it equivalent to other beach retreats we have been on round the world, they could do with more equipment like kayaks for guests to use. There is also no bar service to sun-loungers at beach or pool - not an issue really for us as it is always easier with our son if there is less food around but others might expect it.

The bus service around Aruba is excellent and we zipped around as a family quite a few times.

Aruba is a great place for a young family. Clean and safe with lovely beaches. Amsterdam Manor is at the low rise hotel area which is Eagle Beach - by far nicer than a few kms up the road at the high rise end - next to the high rises the beach is VERY busy and noisy and the beach isnt nearly so nice. Personally I would have hated to have ended up in the high rise area - the RIU looks particularly horrid - but that is our taste.

Aruba is not as beautiful as say the Cook Islands (we are from New Zealand) or Lankawi in Malaysia - it is dry, flat and possibly a bit boring - but it fitted the bill for us which lovely beach and sea and good food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

we arrived by a bus (our little shuttle from the airport). then it began.. I know it was May.. but this place was A+. all the way. they started by giving us an upgrade. .from a standard room to a one bedroom suite.. OMG.. I have never had an upgrade before.. and it was my bd.. NOW I am excited.. thought it is to good to be true.. NO .. everything . .was good.. from Myra the lady at desk who does the tours and cars.. to the lady in the little store .. she was the nicest .. we used the pool coming back from the beach. also.. clean kept and not that many people at this time.. the beach .. wonderful no stones sea weed or beggers.. just lush. .the room .. is a must. one bedroom suite. OMG.. wow. .I came in and said that and then the bellboy came with our luggage.. wow. .we went with something other then AI.. but I will never do that again.. it is AGA.. buy food coupons before you leave for fancy restraunts and then eat there.. half the food is not allowed to you .. but some of the places are.great.. you have to look at the fine print i guess.. next time I will stay at AMB.. but go with there AI.. for sure.. can't wait to next year. .

Room Tip: get a suite faceing the ocean .. well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
It's a smaller hotel but appreciate it! I went to the larger hotels and it was crazy large amounts of people everywhere (but if that's what u want go for it) the hotel itself is pretty and well maintained the gardeners are up everyday to keep the land scaping to a t! The cleaning ladies were especially helpful and brought us extra hand towels when we needed them. The room was 2 bedroom 203 and was amazing the furniture and kitchen were up to date and the thoughtfulness put into what type of things that should go into a kitchen was amazing. In addition to the essesntials they also gave you a hot water maker a blender toaster and even Tupperware :) now that's thoughtful

Rooms
Master bedroom was extremely comfortable and huge and nicely decorated the plus was the equally large and decadent bathroom with tub jacuzzi

2nd room

Two twin beds that were comfortable as well. Enough closet space to accommodate
2-4 people and nicely connected to the 2 bathroom

Overall The rooms were great and when you walk in the rooms play classical music to put you in the mood for relaxation

Location
Makes this place amazing it literally 20 steps from eagle beach which is great cause you can plan a day at the beach then run home for a snack then back out to the beach also the amsterdam manor patrons get free yellow floats to use in the water
It is also a ten minute walk away from super foods the market

Staff- nilo, Thelma, Juan were all amazing even the girls at mangos who do the room service but I must say to elevate this place even further the front desk staff should be more personable they were not rude but if they were a bit warmer it would make this hotel much better

In the end I will come back here and I will most definitely tell people to stay here it's beautiful clean and aruba is amazing

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is amazing. The best location in the island. It is nice an quite so if you want to relax this is the place. However it is very easy to grab a taxi or a bus to the high rise area or downtown where all the happening places are. My husband and I loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A very nice hotel, kept in the typical colonial style of the dutch antilles. The location is very good, easy hopping to town via bus. It is quiet there, with many rooms having seaview (class: deluxe room or above), where the sea and beach as such are very nice. A very good restaurant at the beach (rightly ranked highly on trip advisor: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g147249-d1046722-Reviews-Passions_on_the_Beach-Palm_Eagle_Beach_Aruba.html ) had a great and romantic dinner there, directly on (!) the beach, with torches etc.. Rooms are also nice, and the people working there are very friendly - matching the Aruba Island title "One Happy Island"). In case we'll return to Aruba one day, we'll definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the first floor have a better seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.