We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & Quiet Choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy & Quiet Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel was fantastic and we loved it. It might not be the most *posh* resort in Aruba (the amenities definitely get the job done, but are not the best), but this boutique-type hotel is wonderful. It is situated on its own beach - which is easily the biggest and quietest beach in Aruba, without hesitation - and has just about the friendliest staff at any hotel I have ever stayed at. They have great happy hours too and are far enough away from the main strip of hotels in Aruba that you have plenty of peace and quiet, if you want it. If not, the 'strip' is within walking distance and has everything you could want from activities and excursions to restaurants and bars. Not all of the rooms have the best wi-fi access, so be sure to ask for that if you really need it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but you might want to ask for a room close to the pool, which has full inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    664
    253
    64
    35
    20
See reviews for
173
595
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wind Gap, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort last April and enjoyed it so much we returned in April this year. We another great vacation there this year. The hotel is clean and friendly. The atmosphere is very laid back and easy going. The staff is very helpful and always happy and smiling. Our only disappointment this year was, a very different bartender this year. Last year Peter ran the bar and he was bright and cheerful and he just made you want to hang out there. He was replaced this year with a new person who may be in the wrong line of work. Everyone has bad days at work and perhaps we hit his one bad day. We had just spent the better part of the day in an airport and a 5 hour flight to get there and we just wanted to relax, kick back, have a snack and enjoy a drink. The front desk had given us two cards for complimentary drinks as a welcome so we were using them. What we witnessed was a temper tantrum, and the drink I received was a complete mess after watching him literally slop it together and throw it into a glass. I wasn't sure I wanted it after that. He totally messed up our food order that we weren't about to dispute after his temper tantrum. Then he tried to charge us for our complimentary drinks after taking our cards. To be fair, maybe we caught him on a bad night but that is the last thing you wish to experience after travelling all day and you are ready to experience an awesome vacation. Needless to say we did not return to the bar all week and just took note that not many people went there throughout the week either. So that was the only disappointment to what was another awesome week at the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel for the beautiful view of the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This really is a nice hotel for a family; the two bedroom is perfect for a family of four, and you get a nice size porch. One problem we found with our second floor room was that there was large building trim at head level, so I was always warning my family to watch their heads. I read another review regarding the bugs….we never saw one, thank god. The location is very good, as the beach was not crowded at all. I am not sure if that is because we went in mid-April. One should realize that the hotel has a very small pool, and the beach is actually across the street……because you feel relatively secluded, these things are easy to overcome. I read somewhere that the there is a grocery store walking distance from the hotel…..this really is not true; it is close, but you really need a car.
This has nothing to do with this hotel, but I wish I knew this before I booked my trip. The wind is consistent and very strong. During our trip the wind was 20 plus mph….everyone said this was normal in April and May. While we really enjoyed the vacation, I would have chosen someplace else for our April vacation.

Room Tip: The two bedroom rooms are perfect size for a family of four, and they are all located on the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Amsterdam Manor is awesome.It is very clean,confortable, best beach, food is delicious, service is excellent.We will definitely go back and stay at the same place.All inclusive is the right thing to do.They are not joking when they say all inclusive, you can order everything and anything you want. Menu is awesome and drinks are great.You have to try their frozen drinks.Hope you have a chance to meet Juan,Elenor,Jennifer and Napoleon, they will make your stay even more enjoyable.One happy Island! The happiest Island. You can take a 5min cab ride and you will be able to enjoy Cassinos, shopping and live music. We also enjoyed our "private" Passion's bar at the beach til midnight :)!!! Amsterdam Manor in Aruba is our favorite destination now!!

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view! The balcony facing the ocean is AWESOME!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter ME
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent nine glorious days at Amsterdam Manor the first week of April. My husband and I had never been to Aruba and finally went on our first real vacation. Let me just say that I work in a very nice hotel in North Conway NH, so as a long time hotel employee, my expectations of service is high! Until you work in the hotel industry, you never know what it's like to be on both sides of the counter, bar, or menu! I'm a server and bartender and have worked in housekeeping so I have a lot of the positions covered in a resort. Let me tell you, Amsterdam Manor is fabulous ! We got there early and our room wasn't ready, no biggie, just go to beach and have a drink and relax. We went all inclusive for the simple fact that we were going to spend a lot of R and R right there, so eat, drink, and be merry and we did! Food was outstanding, the drinks well made and the service was great! Juan was so funny and cheerful in the morning that he just made you so welcome! Stephan our hotel bartender was great! Always remembered our names and what we drank. Entertaining us with card tricks and laughs, and island information! These people work a lot and hard, but they seem to truly enjoy there jobs, and we made sure to reward them with extra gratuity that I know from experience is always welcomed! Nathley was a complete delight she always had a warm smile and made it a point to say hello and how was our day! Our housekeeper Gloria made sure our room was spotless every day, and we truly appreciated it, leaving soft music on the radio daily that just relaxed you and was inviting when you got back to your room. Dinner at Passions on the beach was fantastic, food and service just stellar ! We had set up a renewal of our wedding vows on the beach that was carried through by Anne from the sales department when Lizzy couldn't be there due to an injury. She stepped right up and made sure that our "special day" was going to happen and it did! Above and beyond is what it's all about! We plan on coming back to Aruba and will most defiantly stay with the friendliest staff we meet in Aruba at the Amsterdam Manor! Go there, stay and be prepared to truly enjoy your stay, these people really do make you feel special! Other employees we like to recognize is all of the beach bartenders, all of the beach servers, and Humphrey who made sure our reservations were always made top priority as hotel guests. You should be very proud of the employees that work for you, they made our stay that much more special! I'm sorry I didn't get all there names but they all were great and deserve a big thank you from supervisors and owners they are the ambassadors of your property and they are the reason we had such a great time and will be sure to rebook our next Aruba vacation back at the Amsterdam Manor!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing this great information with us and others. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we could contribute to a perfect (first) Aruba vacation. Make our guests feel at home is exactly what we want to achieve, so thank you for letting us know you did feel that way. Your comments are forwarded to all staff members and for sure we are all waiting for you to welcome you again, hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a laid back place with a beautiful beach. We booked a superior room and were upgraded to a suite. Booking a suite is well worth the additional cost and can easily be recouped by eating a few meals on your patio. The well stocked grocery store is close by. Would definitely recommend a car so you can explore the numerous snorkeling beaches, Arikok park, and bars/restaurants (recommend Ike's Bistro, Barefoot, and Modern White Cuisine). Service staff friendly and efficient. Drying rack for each room and onsite self service laundry is a plus. Security staff always present in parking lot. Great place for couples not looking for a party scene and families. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spring for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you're interested in a hotel with phones and wifi that don't work, bugs in the kitchen, beds that feel like you're sleeping on concrete, toilets that consistently clog, and the worlds WORST manager, Amsterdam Manor is the place for you! Catch my drift?

On the other hand, the location was great, we were right across from the beach and it wasn't overpopulated. Our group probably could have overlooked ALL of the above listed issues (and honestly, I'm actually leaving out a few) had it not been the utter disrespect we experienced from the hotel's management staff. They decided to add $240 to our bill the day before checkout and stated that they did not have to tell us about the charge...pardon?

I would not stay at Amsterdam Manor again if SOMEONE ELSE paid the bill, it's not worth it.

You've been warned!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Ashley, Alanna, Amy and Chastity
As your reviews all concern the very same stay in the very same penthouse S2 and contain the very same complaints, we will address you all together.

Thank you for taking the time to make an account on tripadvisor, making this your first review ever and share this information with the rest of the world.

We are truly sorry you encountered some inconveniences during your stay with us, we apologize for this. We indeed had some minor problems with internet for some days, we do have fiber internet, the fastest and all free of charge but with the only provider on the island.

The beds comfort level is something personal and we’re sorry it felt uncomfortable for you. We would have been more than happy to provide you with a comforter if you would have notified us of this problem.

The other maintenance glitches were fixed upon your request, according to your conversation with Nilo, our bellman, you had a good stay with us until check-out.

Our cleaning service is between 9 am and 5 pm, daily. We happily grant requests for early cleaning service but also in this case we would need to be informed about this.

The phones were not working for a day because one of your party unplugged the charger of the base station to use it for their hair dryer, plugging it back into the socket, fixed the problem. This was fixed the same day and the phone was replaced by a charged one so you didn’t have to wait for it to be charged again.

Upon reserving your unit you requested a 2-bedroom suite for 3 persons, not 6, additional persons are being charged additionally, this information is very clear in our confirmation email and on our website!

Upon check-in you were informed on this matter, you decided to address at a later time as the room was not ready at check-in, we addressed the additional charges several times during your stay but always the answer was, that you have to get back to us as you are with 6 persons, conveniently always another person came to the front desk.

Please be informed that your room is our most appreciated penthouse suite S2 overseeing the ocean with the best view on Eagle Beach, you received a free upgrade.

Our pool is what it is, it’s definitely not the largest pool but to be perfectly honest with you it is hardly used as we have the best beach on the island in front of our resort with all conveniences. Eagle Beach is voted the best 5 beaches of the world, I trust you do agree with this as you did not complain about it.

Upon check-out the additional person charges was addressed by our front desk manager in a professional matter, we take pride in our work, we do not insult our guest nor our staff, it is just not part of our business culture, we expect the same from our guests. However you felt you did not have to pay for this as you already agreed upon a price however this was based on a 3 person occupancy.

Bottom line is that you paid what was duly owed and threatened our front desk manager that you would each post individual bad reviews on TripAdvisor if she would not remove the additional charges. Since the additional charges were correct, they were not removed and, as promised, you proceeded to post your indiviual bad reviews with many false and/or erroneous claims.

It speaks for itself that anyone can have their own opinion which is a good thing, however, we feel that you have abused the system.

The positive side are the other comments posted on the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, they cannot all be wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.