We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want to know about Amsterdam Manor and it's environs...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Everything you want to know about Amsterdam Manor and it's environs...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Amsterdam Manor Resort on Eagle Beach in Aruba from March 20-26, 2013. There were three adults, a teen and an infant. I think I can speak for all of us when I say we genuinely liked the hotel.

It's a short bus ride from the airport, perhaps 15 minutes including stops at other hotels. The airport is on the south side of the city of Oranjestad and the Eagle beach hotels ("low-rise") are just north.

The hotel is situated, like most in the area, facing the beach, but with a medium-busy road intervening. If you're careful this isn't an impediment. The beach is just a short walk.

We stayed in a two-bedroom suite on the second floor. It had plenty of space and a nice little kitchen for meal preparation. We were on the breakfast plan and went out for dinner, but typically we made our own lunch (There is a large, quite nice grocery store about a ten minute walk away, called Super Food). There is a balcony which is nice for an evening relaxation. The walls are just a little too high to comfortably watch the sunset over the beach, unfortunately.

The beach is lovely; white sand. This area of the island is not for major partying, so the Spring Break crowd was not in evidence. If that's what you're looking for - go elsewhere. Conversely, if that's what you want to avoid - check out this property.

I'd recommend getting to the beach relatively early, but in truth there are no bad spots and there are plenty of lounges and chairs. Snorkeling is not good here, by the way.

One day we did want to snorkel and we rented a car, then drove to the other side of the island to the Baby Beach. If you're into snorkeling I'd highly recommend this, especially with kids. renting a car is easy and inexpensive ($44 per day).

We had our breakfasts, per the plan, at the hotel restaurant, Mango's. This was standard buffet stuff, with a Dutch twist. Not bad, not great.

I can't recommend dinner at Mango's, I'm afraid. It was, in our opinion, somewhat subpar. There are a number of better options close by. Madame Janette's was wonderful, as was the nearby Suisse Chalet (we actually booked another reservation there while leaving one night). Even Passions, which is also run by the hotel but is on the beach, was better (make reservations for all these places, by the way).

If you get tired of the salt water there is a nice, small hotel pool which is particularly well suited for children, not being very deep.

One can't review Amsterdam Manor without discussing Stafon, the charismatic bartender in the evenings at the pool bar. He is a good conversationalist in multiple languages and mixes a solid drink. Like a good bartender should, he only speaks beyond formalities when the patron initiates conversation, but if you do - get ready to chat.

On the whole I would recommend Amsterdam Manor without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    257
    64
    35
    21
See reviews for
173
604
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I just back from our Aruba vacation. We spent 9 days at the Amsterdam Manor and everything was great. The hotel location is perfect and it is very easy to go to the town and other areas. We were in room B7 that didn’t have direct ocean view but it was nice, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good enough, definitely and sufficient. The atmosphere at Mango and Passions restaurants was fantastic. The beach which was clean is just across the street. The beach bar is very good. The staff was friendly and everyone did fantastic service. We had a wonderful time and would and recommend it to someone who plans to visit this Happy Island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent 10 days at the Amsterdam Manor and loved every second. Everything in our room was really clean. The glasses, silverware, dishes...spotless! it is such a pleasure to stay somewhere that takes pride in what they have to offer. The beach was exceptional with beautiful white sand, plenty of palapas and a very good beach bar. The cook at the beach bar does a fantastic job with the meals. Simple and fresh ingredients prepared well. All of the staff we encountered were friendly, smiling and pleasant to talk with. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Amsterdam Manor. The beach is beautiful with fine sand that didn't get hot. The swimming was lovely. The palapas were not hard to get which was important since we burn easily (I had to put 50 SPF on constantly). We were in C-4 which was large and had a kitchenette of course. We didn't have a real ocean view but it was still nice to sit out on our small patio and eat. Everyone was very friendly, cabs were super easy to get and we used them to go to the high rise area or town. Although since the beach was so lovely we really weren't motivated to go far! We ate at Mango's and Passions and enjoyed both.

The one hiccup was that the hotel was overbooked for some reason when we got there. I feel that they more than made us whole for this inconvenience. They paid cab far to and from an even nicer resort a few minutes away - Manchebo Beach Resort and Spa and paid for that night. They gave us a free dinner at Passions and they sent a bottle of wine to our room. Unfortunately when we came back the next day (since we had to check out of the other place at noon), the room wasn't ready yet for awhile. That was the only real inconvenience. But it wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and glad you choose us as your vacation destination. Sorry again we had to relocate you for one night but we're glad to hear this didn't affect your vacation in a negative way. We do hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just got back from a trip with my wife, and all I can say is "go". Everything about this place was fantastic. The second we arrived, without asking, we were upgraded to a suite, the food was very good, the service was phenomenal. Really some of the nicest people that we have encountered at any hotel, anywhere.

We are people who like to travel, and we usually will not go to the same place twice without trying something new, and by our third day, we had already planned our return trip here. Hopefully you have the same experience as we did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and sharing your experiences. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We're happy you choose us as your vacation destination and we could contribute to a memorable vacation which you decided to spent with us again! We will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Quiet area of aruba with a pristine beach. 2 good restaurants located within seconds of walking, one on the beach one by the pool, Passions and Mangos. away from all the high rises the beach is minimally crowded during the day. theres a beach bar right there. its gorgeous. the hotel room was nice very clean, neat, many amenities in the kitchen. Could have used a bigger shower, more comfy bed, and bigger pool in the hotel, so those are the biggest complaints if you wanna call them that. Great service at the hotel. The concierge lady was fantastic and helped us plan a bunch of fun things. De Palm tours were really fun also, and run well, professional and fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barsinghausen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent a weekend in March 2013 at the resort. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean. The bed was truly comfortable The continental breakfast was basic, but definitely sufficient and satisfying for a quick and easy breakfast. The ocean is just across the street, which was certainly a plus.
The atmosphere was perfect, quiet and peaceful. We had a wonderful time and would definitely consider and recommend it for a future visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.