We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort to your Saves list
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are a family with four children (1 year the youngest), we visited Amsterdam Manor in December and January.
The apartament are fantastic, the staff professional and friendly, the restaurants: the best, you can not miss the sunset dinner at Passions and in Mango´s we had all the choices we could immagine.
So comfortable and convenient to have the beach just few meters, specially with the baby :) And the free palapas are something we loved!

We have been traveling around the world, and we highly recomend Amsterdam Manor we will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    259
    65
    35
    22
See reviews for
174
612
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was the first time my husband and I traveled to Aruba, and we were not disappointed. Overall we thought the hotel was very good, but one or two big drawbacks kept us from giving it an "excellent" rating:

Pros
- got upgraded to a one-bedroom suite upon arrival, which was fantastic! (we heard this hotel does that often)
- room was HUGE, quiet, and had good climate controls/air conditioning
- beautiful beach with lots of available chairs & free palapas (some high rise hotels charge for that!) across the street
- several restaurants in walking distance, and big grocery store across the main road
- maid service was very thorough without ever disturbing us
- service at the front desk & beach bar was good, and getting a cab was always easy (only 5 minutes to the High Rise area)
- fellow hotel guests were respectful and all our stuff was completely safe unattended on the beach

Cons
- had trouble getting hot water from the shower during our entire stay; the water was still somewhat warm, but we complained on the 4th day and we don't think anyone ever looked at it
- dined at Passions and were not impressed by the food or slow service (but the ambiance is hard to beat)
- without being able to take a hot shower, we wished the hotel had a jacuzzi :-)

We never ended up going in the pool, and although it's small, it was clean and never crowded. We had a great experience for the most part and would go back to Amsterdam Manor, but we hope the hotel does something to get hot water more easily in the showers (others have posted similar reviews).

Room Tip: We booked a standard room about 5 months in advance, and we think the early booking might have helpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, WV
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our fourth time staying at Amsterdam Manor this February and had an amazing week as usual. The reason we love Aruba is that the weather is always perfect... warm and sunny with a cooling tropical breeze. It is the one place we get away and truly relax and reconnect...our joke is that the only thing we have scheduled each day is to watch the sun set. This year we watched six perfect sunsets from the gorgeous beach at Amsterdam Manor. We come back to this place each year to stay because the lovely beach area is not crowded and we can walk right out of our room onto the patio and be on the beach in no time. The rooms are clean and uncluttered. I think we've been upgraded on each of our return trips, which was special. The little kitchen area is just fine for preparing simple meals that we enjoy on our patio in the evenings with live music from the beach restaurant enhancing the atmosphere. The resort service is excellent and the restaurants are top notch. Sometimes we have a romantic dinner on the beach at Passions restaurant with our toes in the sand. The resort offers a movie on the beach once a week and this is always a novelty to enjoy. I could go on and on but I'll just say we're already planning our escape trip next winter to Amsterdam Manor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just got back from a four day stay. At first we were disappointed with our room ( 114a - an upgraded one bedroom facing the ocean but no real ocean view) because it was fairly small and pretty basic withou any real patio area or ocean view. We asked to move but the other room they offered us was the same so we didn't. It was fine but if you want any ocean view at all you will need a two bedroom with a second story and even that is partially blocked by palm trees. The property is well maintained and clean, the staff was very nice, the pool is small but no one uses it anyways since you are just across from a fantastic beach. Overall I would recommend this property as long as you don't think you are in for a luxury stay. The beach itself (just across a small street) is beautiful with lots of umbrelled (palm fronds) areas to put your chairs (note - if you want a good chair either get up early or pay the beach guy to save you one). The water is a pretty turqouis and fairly clear though nothing like you would find in the Bahamas or BVI. There is a little surf and we had lots of seaweed the first day but none on any other days. There are buses that can take you into town every 20 minutes or so. Would I stay there again? Probably if I went back to Aruba but there are many spots I like better than Aruba so I probably won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent 11 days at the resort. We had a wonderful time, everybody at the hotel was very helpful and polite. Both restaurants are very good, serve very good meals and have efficient and friendly staff servng.
Our room was n. 206, a two bedroom villa with a nice balcony right in front of one of the restaurants. Even though, it was quiet at night and in the morning. The view is fantastic. It has everything you need and more. I hardly can find something that I didn´t like.
The beach is definitely the best on the island. It´s beautiful and not crowded at all. Palm beach is as nice but full of peolpe. If you´re looking for some relaxation Tha Amsterdam Manor is your choice.
There´s a bus stop in both directions just at the entrance of the hotel.So you don´t really need to rent a car, it´s just a 10 minute ride to Oranjestat. There's also the best supermarket at less than a 5 minute walk away from the hotel and if you forgot something ther´s a minimarket inside the hotel open until 8 pm.
I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: i would try to get one of the rooms in the first floor because of the spectacular view, but those ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day stay at this hotel and are very pleased with our choice. This hotel is lovely, in a perfect location and all the staff was pleasant and very helpful. We are so happy we did not stay in the high rise area as that seemed a bit too busy for us. It was a quick bus ride to palm beach or town and they arranged several activities for us. The beach is stunning and getting a beach hut was simple enough. I would definitely return to the Amsterdam Manor!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Amsterdam Manor.

Arrival - we were greeted efficiently by the front desk staff with a choice of punch or rum punch. Even though we were a bit early to check-in (around 2:00) they called housekeeping and verified that our room was ready. They called a staff member to show us to our room. In the meantime my husband ran back to the car to get our luggage and when I mentioned this to the staff member he said okay and walked away. When my husband came back we waited for a few minutes and when nobody came to show us to our room we went and found it by ourselves. Some nice quests pointed us in the right direction.

Room - We had a one bedroom suite. It had very nice decor and plenty of room. The one thing that I didn't like about the room was that it was dark (and based on the layout I would guess this is the case with all the rooms) with only two small windows and the patio door. And our view out the patio was Mango restaurant. Having a full kitchen was great - and this is the first vacation where we actually took advantage of it! We did have a hard time finding the right balance between the A/C and dehumidifier. The bed was a bit hard for our taste and the shower (without a door) made a big mess. I did like the back door out to the parking lot - it was very convenient.

Concierge - Everyone at the concierge desk was great. We only used them to book dinner reservations but they were always quick to help and give suggestions.

Beach - The sand and water was fantastic! It took us a few days to figure out the beach "system". Maybe this would have been explained to us if we had been shown to our room as part of the "tour" you often get when checking in to a new place. We would head to the beach around 10 or 10:30 each morning and find the palapas were full. There were plenty of chairs stacked up - just not shade for us very pale easily burnt people! What we didn't realize is that if you went past the bar and kitchen that there was a beach attendant. AND that most of the people under the palapas (on towels - not lounge chairs) weren't guests. So if you actually went over to the attendant he would take care of telling the non-guests that they had to move and he would set up the chairs for you. soooo wish we had known this earlier in the week. We could also tell what days were cruise ship days!

Location - was great. You could walk to a few restaurants and probably to the super foods. We did have a rental car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.