We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Amsterdam Manor for 7 days.Its big plus is its location. Right on a beautiful beach, but for the rest a mild disappointment. We had booked a superior studio with all inclusive.
The room was ok, clean but on the dark side with a connecting door to the next suite.However, when the occupants in the next room cooked, our room was smelling like a kitchen, not a pleasant situation. Also the television was set next to the connecting door so we could hear everything. When we complained, they sent housekeeping to spray deodorant in the room and their solution was to place a towel at the bottom of the door to stop the smell out: it did not work. When we complained again they did nothing more. When we asked for another room, the reply was we are fully booked. However, someone who checked next day was upgraded to another one. The room was cleaned well, but late, not before 14:00 or 15:00 every day. The staff at the reception were friendly but not all were helpful.

The food at Mango restaurant is one of the worst I had ever had. It is advertised as international, but I have rarely eaten so badly prepared food. The staff was friendly and helpful, but they have to get a real cook. The all inclusive option is not recommended and definitely not a good value deal.

Would I stay there again? Doubtful, even though the location is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We're sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't what you expected and you didn't got the help you wished for. We addressed the problems you encountered to the persons in charche to see what we can do about it. We're also sorry to hear you didn't enjoy dining at our restaurant. We do hope your overall experience was good and you enoyed a nice vacation on Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    659
    244
    62
    35
    19
See reviews for
166
577
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place, great people, stayed 7 nights. Started a little bumpy with a couple of repairs needed in room upon check-in (closet doors, safe) Reported the problems and had maintenance fixing everything within a half hour. The rest of the stay the concierge, front desk and even the mini-mart staff could not have been more helpful, warm and friendly. Bus stop right out in front is great to have, beach, beach bar and Passions restaurant on the beach were also great. Pool area is adequate but nothing fancy compared to other places. Rooms were good size, clean and very comfortable. We had the standard efficiency and for anyone planning on utilizing the kitchenette it will work for you...cabinets are pretty utilitarian but you have counter space, small frig, 2 burner gas stove top, microwave, blender, toaster, service for 4, pots and pans, silverware, utility knives, full size coffee maker etc. If we weren't already planning on eating out we could have made all meals in without much problem. Still made our own lunch sandwiches and eggs in the morning with no problem. Someone here mentioned the Upper Deck Bar, along with the beach bar, have happy hour 5 to 6 and 9 to 10 with 2 for 1 drinks, we took advantage a few times with no complaints. After going up to the High Rise area with all it's activity we had fun but we're glad we stayed with the low rise, not far from the action but much quieter, best of both worlds unless you're looking for Vegas type action all the time. Didn't go into Oranjestad much but if that's your preference it's an easy bus ride too. If you're there for more than a few days get a rental car, especially for snorkeling, Eagle beach doesn't have much to offer along those lines and it's not easy to get to good snorkeling beaches by bus, but if you're looking for sunsets walk over to the beach and enjoy...spectacular every night! Would stay here again in a heartbeat, even over fancier/newer places. Can't imagine nicer more accommodating staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have been to the Amsterdam Manor beach Resort in Aruba eight times and every stay has been fantastic. The hotel staff are very friendly and professional which makes you feel at home from day one. This time (christmass 2012) they also helped us with planning a deep sea fishing trip, no catch but we got the best tan ever.

The icing on the cake is Amsterdam manors restaurant, Mango's. Their breakfast (especially their special smoothies) are the best way to start a day.

We will be back for christmas 2013!

Room Tip: Take the 108, it is about 50 m from the beach and 5 meters from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great spot with great dining right on the beach. I would recoment to book a beachfront room!
Managers happy hour has a good admosphere and don't ming drinking a cocktail or two at the beach bar.

Breakfast looked good, but we had a room with a kitchen.. Staff is friendly and the have fast internet.

Need a rental car if you like to get around the island quik. The bus stops in front incase you have no hurry. ;-)

Room Tip: Make pictures of the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our honeymoon got off to a great start our first day at Amsterdam Manor, where we were greeted with rum punch, a room upgrade, and a bottle of champagne - as well as early check in. A very attentive concierge, staff, and front desk helped us plan our activities, and all very super helpful and courteous. The short trip across the street to the beach was a bonus, and the hospitality of other hotel guests was amazing. Air conditioning worked fabulously, and it was a bonus to have our own cafe table out in front of our room to people watch at night at. Would highly recommend, and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We loved our time at the Amsterdam Manor. We had a two bedroom, two bath suite, which was very clean, spacious, and nicely laid out. The balcony looked out on Eagle Beach, which is absolutely gorgeous. Everyone was very friendly, and even though we only spent four nights, we felt right at home. The rum punch provided to welcome us was just the start of a great vacation. The pool is very nice, although it is on the small side. Who needs a pool, though, when you have the Caribbean just steps away? Definitely stop by the hotel's Upper Deck Bar, which looks over the pool. Stephan is great at making you feel like an old friend, and encourages everyone to talk with each other. We met people from all over the world. A few tips for future travelers: the front desk will rent you snorkel equipment, if you prefer to explore on your own. They may rent other equipment - it is always a good idea to ask. The concierge is very helpful, but she does represent DePalm, which is a good tour company. However, if you prefer another tour company, it is best to contact them directly. There are two casinos in walking distance, as well as a large supermarket and Dunkin Donuts (at the Tropicana), and the bus stops right in front of the hotel. However, we found a rental car to be very helpful, so we could easily explore the 'tamed' side of the island, since Eagle Beach is in the Low Rise Hotel area, which is much quieter than Palm Beach. Don't try to take a rental to Arikok, but make sure you go!

Room Tip: The two bedroom, two bath suites are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This was my first trip to Aruba and I can tell you it will certainly not be my last. Amsterdam Manor was a great choice being in the middle of the high rise area and downtown and having full access to the beautiful Eagle beach steps away. After a long delayed flight we were greeted by wonderful helpful staff. We were upgraded to a two bedroom villa, with each room equip with a full washroom was a blessing for two single women travelling with lots of luggage and supplies.
Having wifi access was a great asset which was also accessible from the beach area with some sporadic down times.
Ate both at Passions and Mangoes. Both places were great. Spent four out of seven nights at Sopranos Piano bar until 1AM close at one then headed off to the old mill bar till three. That one is open later.
Anyways, as for Amsterdam manor the place is great and would highly recommend it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.