We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Palm/Eagle Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   85 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Mar Del Plata, Argentina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Palm/Eagle Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

We've been in Aruba last week and stayed at the Hyatt from Oct 13 to Oct 20.

-The hotel is way better than you can see on the Internet or in a brochure.
Pricey, as it's been said. But in the additional items, not the room rates.

-We booked the room with the lowest rate available (U$199+ taxes) and the room was partial ocean view, with in safe, and fridge -no extra charge. All you could need was there (iron, hairdryer, etc..) Very clean!
We got 2X1 chips or coins, and 2 Daikiris at the Casino, as a gift.

-In October, not many guests at 7 am, waiting for towels and palapas. In our case, we woke up early and did it, but always there was place, if you weren't looking for the first row, to leave your things . Some people seems to be very complicated about this issue....if you're going, you wouldn't....you are in Aruba! Enjoy!!!
The hotel has a big, big hut....so shade is not a problem (plus, the Allegro, nearby, was under re-construction, so....all the palapas are empty, until December....just in case!)

-Important: check out times is at noon, 12:00. If you need to stay longer due to flights schedule, the hotel allows you to leave your luggage at the front desk, and use all the hotel facilities, as if you're still a guest: even the Health Club, to take a shower (all the toiletries you'll need are there!)before you leave!

-If you have children as we have....helpful tips: a cooler (you can buy softs and juice for less, everywhere and an Ice Maker is at the corridor, at least at 5th floor!), cookies, Mc D.,Subway, Donkin Dounuts & Baskin Robbins, Haagen Dazs just steps away from the hotel.....

-Restaurants: our favorite: Smokey Joe.
Also argentine Charlie's Grill, Aromi d'Italia.
At Hyatt: Ruinas del Mar and Pool's Bar were ok too.

-We've rented a car to tour the Island: great choice. You don't need to follow any schedule. Bushiribana ruins, the California lighthouse, Donkey sanctuary, Baby beach.....

Jolly Pirates! Don't miss it! A beautiful "pirate's ship": we took the afternoon 3 hours tour: 3 snorkel stops ( we've been guided to one of the Caribbean's finest dive sites, a 400 foot World War II German Shipwreck), open bar, and rope swing (like a real pirate!). The crew is superb!

I personally visited all the other hotels in the high rise area....the Hyatt is the most beautiful and well kept one. No doubt!

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    903
    448
    144
    52
    36
See reviews for
375
757
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2005

We stayed the first part of our trip at an all inclusive resort and then moved to the Hyatt.
Both places were enjoyable, but the Hyatt was great. Great Pool, Calm beach, Great food. Pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2005

My husband and I went to Aruba for our honeymoon in September. The minute we got out of our cab at the hotel, the staff was exceptional. They had cold drinks waiting, cold rags because we were so hot. They were all very very kind and helpful. They knew me by name also. September was the perfect time to go because it was not busy at all. The prices at the hotel were the only down fall(expensive), but the scenery, and the pool and the hotel itself were all amazing. I am spoiled now because when I go back to Aruaba I will want to stay at the best, the Hyatt!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

Had a great flight down from Boston. No delays....Took about 1/2 hour to get luggage....
When we got outside of the airport, it was thundering and lightening, and raining very heavy...
Got to the Hyatt around 12:30PM...They said that our room wouldn't be ready until 4PM, maybe even 4:30PM...They were rude, and didn't care about our requests at all
I had booked "Oceanview/Poolview" and requested the highest floor possible...When we finally did get our room, it was on the 4th floor ( the lowest floor of that class)...They said that there was nothing that they could do about it...
Rooms were decent, basic, nothing fancy...
At the poolbar/regular bar, you got so ripped off for drinks...8.75 for a frozen drink, with VERY little alcohol....A soda was 3.00
Everywhere you went at the Hyatt, you felt like you were getting ripped off....
I've been to Aruba 6 times, and never felt like that before
Pretty much every day it rained....I'd say the total amount of sun for the whole week was about 10-15 hours...It was terrible

The best food I ate was Madame Janette's

Overall, a very dissapointing trip...

Email me if you have any questions!!

sarah279@hotmail.com

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2005

The Aruba Hyatt by far was the best choice we could have made to stay at for our honeymoon. The beautiful grounds, beach, people and food were top notch. We had a wonderful time and will go back as soon as we can as many times as we can. All I heard from other people who stayed at other hotels, was that "we should have chose the hyatt"

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2005

July 26 - August 3, 2005. My Husband and I spent 9 wonderful days at Hyatt Regency for our 1 year anniversary (Hyatt sent a bottle of champagne and desert to our room).


Rooms: Our room was cleaned every day and looked perfect. All of the balconies were really small, but it is just enough for two.

Grounds: Absolutely beautiful and very well kept. They have Macaws, a Toucan, an African Gray and some other parrots.

They have a health club which was really clean and the best couples massage.

The stores were pretty expensive. sm. water was $15! (across the street you can find things much cheaper.)

Three level pool with slide, a jacuzzi and swim up bar. They have a lot of lounge chairs. I was reading the other reviews people said they were hard to get, but we never had a problem.


The beach is really crowded. It's hard to get a private hut. We did not get up at 6am like most people did.

Use SUNSCREEN! and Bug spray! The sand fleas are horrible, but with bug spray you don’t even know they are there.

If you are at the pool or beach, bring your room card, they will be checking. The staff will also come around with cool towels & take your drink order.

They have two bars open at night. One has lounge singing and the other one is Karaoke

Casino: Not even worth going to gamble, but they have a great band that plays, ask about times, they don’t play for long.

Food: The food at the hotel was really expensive. Breakfast buffet was 17.00 a person, and I don’t feel that it was that great. If you don’t get the buffet you will end up paying $5.00 for a sm. OJ, but across the street and other hotels had cheaper buffets.

Lunch at the pool and Karaoke bar was great and reasonably price.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, Ruins del Mar, it was expensive and it wasn’t worth it.

Piets Pier's food is gross, I got sick the first day... It was nice for the sun rise/set.

Dinner outside the hotel: Texas de Brazil, $95 pp. (across the street from the Hyatt). Smokey Joe’s - the ribs were out of this world. Drinks were cheap (across the street from the Hyatt) Sea Grill is a must (across the street as well) El Gaucho - Bring your appetite. (Downtown)

Activities: We went to the following places: BRING YOUR SNORKEL GEAR EVERYWHERE YOU GO!! Natural Pool (go on your own, less crowded. It’s hard to find but worth it), Natural Bridge, Jolly Pirates (snorkeling, lunch, open bar & Rope Swing $50), Baby Beach (our favorite place on the whole island, GREAT reef, lots of fish (they love hot dogs and cheese). Rental for two lounge chairs and a cabana $25), Kukoo Kunuku Bus!!! (ONLY if you’re looking to get DRUNK, it was great), horseback riding at Rancho Daimari (2 hours $60)

We used rental cars a couple of times through Hyatt. 4X4 ($70) and smaller car ($40). Rent a car it was great to go off on our own and explore the island, you can’t get lost. The best map is in the AM paper.

We had a wonderful time and can't say enough good things about the Hyatt. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2005

I stayed at the Hyatt in Aruba from August 27th to Sept 3rd with my wonderful wife and three kids (4 yrs. and 2 1/2 year old twins). What a fabulous vacation. Aruba is great, not a drop of rain, barely a cloud and yet never felt too hot despite being 91 most days (tradewinds help). In addition the people are friendly and I felt safer in Aruba than in downtown New Rochelle or Manhattan.
The rooms were fine (it's not the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton), clean and reasonably sized, we had two connecting rooms for the five of us. The one often noted drawback to the rooms is the uselessness of the French balcony but with small kids a balcony can be more hassel than benefit anyway so we really did not miss it. Ask for a fridge in the room, it is complimentary if you ask.
The grounds of the Hyatt are spectacular! The pool is the multi-level, waterslide and waterfall variety and even the little ones were able to enjoy the three story water slide on the laps of their parents (they don't enforce the height requirement on the water slide). The pool was also surprisingly kid friendly (it's not exactly zero entry but the next best thing). The beach is beautiful white sand, fairly deep and you can walk a long direction past other hotels to the north and south on the beach or a concrete boardwalk. I like this "Cancunish" aspect to Aruba. The location of the Hyatt seems fairly ideal, from the beautiful beach to the number of casual eatieries within walking distance. My four year old loved Camp Hyatt. They even take them to off-site excursions such as Bowling and the Butterfly Farm for a nominal additional fee. At $30 a day, including lunch, it is a bargain.
I have to say we under-utilized what we heard were good restaraunts at they Hyatt because there are so many casual eateries within walking distance and fine dining available by cab. The one breakfast we ate at Ruinas del Mar was excellent as was the lunch at the Palms. We arranged a babysitter through word of mouth before leaving the States and were able to enjoy four excellent meals without the kids. Majame Jannette's is probably the favorite, huge portions at reasonable prices in a beautiful courtyard with music. Flying Fishbones and Mariandi's were each terrific with beautiful tables by the sea and excellent food (and each are well worth the somewhat long, pricey cab ride). El Guacho's had great steak in an air conditioned setting downtown. Our kids enjoyed the nights we took them to Carlos N Charlies (go early with kids) and Iguana Joes.
The only downside to the Hyatt is the ridiculous culture of getting up at 6 am to secure a beach palapa or just plain chaise's at the pool. I got there each morning at 7 when they opened, was between 20th and 50th on line and got nice covered chairs by the kiddie pool each day. The person who started this "tradition" should have his or her head examined - but if you don't do it you just can't get three or four chairs together or a beach palapa. The staff couldn't be nicer in handling it though as they serve coffee while you wait and once your chair is assigned you can leave, go to breakfast and come back.
I spent a little time at the Radisson since it is the Hyatt's main competitor and can honestly say I like the Hyatt better. It too has a great beach, unbeatable location (two doors away) and very nice pool complex. The swim-up bar and water slide which the Hyatt has and the Radisson does not though clinches it for me in the Hyatt's favor.
All in all a great vacation, wonderfully family friendly and I cannot wait to go back to Aruba and the Hyatt.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino

Address: 85 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an oasis of gracious elegance and warm hospitality. This jewel among beachfront hotels in Aruba offers a welcoming combination of superb amenities, ideal location and outstanding service. Discover countless ways to spend your days at our luxurious Aruba hotel and spa. Play tennis, relax on the white-sand beach, race down the waterslide, or pamper yourself at Stillwater Spa. Savor delicious cuisine from around the world. Take a chance in the casino. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled family vacation, a romantic getaway or a memorable business gathering, this year-round Palm Beach Aruba hotel destination is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Amex, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort And Casino Palm - Eagle Beach
Hyatt Palm/Eagle Beach
Palm/Eagle Beach Hyatt
Aruba Hyatt
Hyatt Hotel Aruba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.