We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   85 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan Ahead and Save
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

This is our third visit to Aruba in 8 years and we very much wanted to stay at the Hyatt Aruba on this visit. Upon our arrival, we were told that our room was not ready and that we should come back in an hour. We decided to have lunch at The Palms Restaurant, where we found it to be extremely crowded and the waitstaff overworked and overwhelmed. The food was so so but we noticed a huge crowd, all wearing similar clothing. When we went to finally check in, we inquired about this group and asked if there was a convention at the hotel. We were told yes and that the hotel was primarily booked for this convention. That was an understatement - these people were everywhere!!!!

In less than 24 hours of our arrival, we noticed more and more of this group, all with families and all loud and not concerned that there were other guests at the hotel besides them. No one on property was asking people to watch their kids and we noticed other non-convention participants becoming as frustrated as we were.

I approached a manager and asked if the convention would be here all week and she expressed her frustration and offered to change our room, however, the room was not the issue, the issue was that the hotel was being overrun by this group. We asked if there would be a penalty if we checked out early and we were told no, so we did indeed check out after one night and rebooked at a nearby hotel. Other hotel guests seemed to be doing the same, while others simply complained to management and shared their dissatisfaction.

We have friends who LOVE this property but unfortunately, our experience was not a good one. Perhaps without a large convention taking place, the Hyatt would have served us well.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattregencyaruba, Manager at Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to offer feedback regarding your recent stay at the resort. I sincerely apologize that we did not live up to the expectations that you have come to expect from Hyatt. I understand your point about the group and apologize that you had to cut your stay short with us. I hope we will have the opportunity in the future to regain your confidence in our resort.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Sincerely,
Resort Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    931
    464
    146
    51
    38
See reviews for
395
779
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It is very beautiful property located in a wonderful place. We are in love with Aruba for last 12 years and usually we are staying in Bucuti hotel, but this time Bucuti was fuly booked and we decided to stay in Hyatt. We were very dissapointed because:
1 . Every morning you have to awake at 5.30 am in order to stay in line on the beach and at 6.30 am you will be able to get umbrella an chairs on the beach or at the swimming pool. At 6.45 am all of them are occupied for the whole day
2. The beach and swimming pool area are extrimly croweded not only by the guest of the HYATT but also by a lot of other people who are just comming to use this facilitty
3. Twice a day Red Sail sport is bringing groups of 10-15 people from outside for diving lessons in Hyatt swiimimg pool and these groups fully occupy the pool
4 The quality of food in the swimming pool area: smell of burning oil from the frying food all over the swimming pool area for the whole day from Balashi cafe, even in the" healthy bar" they are offering smoothies from frozen berries in syrup.
5. They are charging resort fee but you are not allowed to use the steam room in the health club , they are trying to charge extra $ 35 per person per use. In past they were offering sauna and steam room for free for Hyatt guests. No there is no sauna and for use of steam room you have to pay.
It looks like there is big problem with the management of this hotel , who is trying to make as much money as possible on outside people and do not provide any comfort for the guests of Hyatt hotel . I tried to adress the problems with umbrellers to the management while staying on the hotel ,but did not get any response.






















'
It looks like there is big problem with the management of this hotel

#

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattregencyaruba, Manager at Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to offer feedback about your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this trip. We are continuing to look for a permanent solution for the hut system on the beach. We continue to make improvements to the resort, such as the spa, with the guest in mind. We do not charge a resort fee. The resort charge is a component of the 23 percent tax that is charge on the room rate. I realize that this does not make up for the less than satisfactory stay. I hope you will give us another chances to regain your confidence. Again, thank you for taking the time to offer comments.

Resort Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Hyatt 3 out of the last 5 years and have enjoyed its location, cleanliness, and wide beach. This year, however, some negatives stand out where they've previously been non-existent. A light fixture in our room was broken when we arrived. A small hole in the wall below the flat-panel tv was glaring. Machines in the "business center" were inoperative. Customer service -mostly in the restaurant - was spotty. With the Ritz opening next year, we'll be re-considering where stay on our next trip to Aruba.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautiful property, clean rooms and the nicest staff. The location could be the best on the strip.
However, there were several shortcomings. The worst one was the failure of the air conditioning system during the middle of the night for most of that night. The management acknowledged that there had been a major problem. Upon complaining, the gave me a $100 credit. The next night, it again felt as though the A/C went off for a short period of time around 4am. The front desk denied any problem so I let it be. That afternoon, I was chatting with another guest and mentioned the problem of the most recent night and he too said that he thought something happened again but not as significant. Then again the next time, there was again a problem for a short time in the middle of the night. It doesn't take long for a room to heat up in the tropics when the A/C is off, even in the middle of the night.
Another problem with the rooms is the LACK OF LIGHT. They have pathetic light bulbs next to the bed and across from the bed. If you need light near the entrance of the room, you have to open the closet so that the good light in there will let you see the mirror on the opposite wall. The bathroom, spacious, could also have had better lighting.
You're really not supposed to stay in your room. As noted, the balconies are useless as are the sitting chairs that always seem to be in the way no matter where you move them. There is no desk. There is a table attached to the dresser that is too high to use while sitting in the chairs.
The newish flat screen seemed a little small for the room in this age of oversize TV's.
We ate breakfast in the Palms one morning. We were promptly seated outdoors (where we requested), offered coffee and juice that was brought to our table...and then nothing. We saw people coming from inside carrying food. Oh....a buffet. We tried much of the mediocre offerings and then later saw that others were given an a la carte menu. The buffet was $22pp plus tax and service charge. A high price that good have been justified if the food was good..but it wasn't good. We returned the other days to Salt and Pepper across the street and Delifrance a couple of miles away for good meals for about $10pp. My best food was the hamburger and fries that was "reasonably priced" at $14.
The little market supposedly had free Wifi, the only place on the property with free Wifi, but I could not get it to connect. Instead, I used the free Wifi at some of the local restaurants during my meal. I didn't want to pay the extra of $7.50 per day or $35 per week PER DEVICE for my few mins of access per day.
In summary, it's a very good hotel in an excellent location but not worth the premium price. Two years ago I stayed at the Westin that had slightly larger rooms with real balconies and free Wifi. The property was getting a little dated but a better value for the money than the Hyatt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I love to carry books on vacation, but this year we lightened our load and carried our iPads instead (we were going to download books to read).

However, the Hyatt Aruba hotel charges $35 per device to use the Internet inside their Wi-Fi zone. So, we paid the $70 to use both of our devices and eventually downloaded books from the Barnes and Noble website site.

Later on the beach we ran into another couple reading books on their Kindle Readers. I asked, 'how much is the Wi-Fi fee in your hotel?' They said they were staying at the Marriott where Wi-Fi is totally free. I was totally disgusted.

Bottom line, I paid for a great hotel room, wonderful meals, and lots of mixed drinks. In my opinion Wi-Fi should be free to cash-paying guest. My next Aruba vacation will not be at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattregencyaruba, Manager at Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you for the feedback. We will be improving the Wi-Fi service over the next year. The improvement with increase Wi-Fi coverage and improve the speed of connectivity. We expect to have this completed by end of first quarter 2013.

Again, thank you for the feedback.
Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our second year at the Hyatt and the hotel property is undergoing some renovations. The hotel spa just opened and we had very nice massages. The property itself is kept very clean and the lobby is an open air lobby which I particularly love. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the security at the hotel is top notch. Security is always present, walking the halls and making sure that the property is secure and safe at all times. The staff are very pleasant and always helpful. The pool is beautiful as is the beach. If you're spending anytime at your hotel this would be the one to choose. It's also convenient and within walking distance of the new outdoor Palm Beach mall.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice not sure there is a bad room at this hotel. You can see the water and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattregencyaruba, Manager at Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We have received the wonderful comments you entered on TripAdvisor and want to thank you personally for sharing your positive experience with us. It is very gratifying to receive such positive feedback and your comments have encouraged us to continue looking for ways to exceed our guests’ expectations.

On behalf of all our associates thank you!

Warm regards,

The Hyatt Regency Auriga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Beautiful and elegant but just one flaw: they keep these amazing parrots in super small cages in the pool area, which is very depressing to see. If you stay here please mention to desk that an appropriate sized aviary might bring the hotel into the 21st century!

Otherwise great spot, rooms, breakfast buffet and really nice staff. We had to spend an extra 3 days because of Hurricane Sandy and couldn't imagine a better place to be trapped!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattregencyaruba, Manager at Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and for taking your time to leave a review. We value your business and we will certainly evaluate your suggestions. We appreciate your comments as this feedback allows us to further improve our services provided to our loyal guest such as your self.


Warm Regards,

Hyatt Regency Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino

Address: 85 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an oasis of gracious elegance and warm hospitality. This jewel among beachfront hotels in Aruba offers a welcoming combination of superb amenities, ideal location and outstanding service. Discover countless ways to spend your days at our luxurious Aruba hotel and spa. Play tennis, relax on the white-sand beach, race down the waterslide, or pamper yourself at Stillwater Spa. Savor delicious cuisine from around the world. Take a chance in the casino. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled family vacation, a romantic getaway or a memorable business gathering, this year-round Palm Beach Aruba hotel destination is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort And Casino Palm - Eagle Beach
Hyatt Palm/Eagle Beach
Palm/Eagle Beach Hyatt
Aruba Hyatt
Hyatt Hotel Aruba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.