We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting To Decline” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   85 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Starting To Decline”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Hyatt 3 out of the last 5 years and have enjoyed its location, cleanliness, and wide beach. This year, however, some negatives stand out where they've previously been non-existent. A light fixture in our room was broken when we arrived. A small hole in the wall below the flat-panel tv was glaring. Machines in the "business center" were inoperative. Customer service -mostly in the restaurant - was spotty. With the Ritz opening next year, we'll be re-considering where stay on our next trip to Aruba.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    490
    152
    53
    38
See reviews for
421
834
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautiful property, clean rooms and the nicest staff. The location could be the best on the strip.
However, there were several shortcomings. The worst one was the failure of the air conditioning system during the middle of the night for most of that night. The management acknowledged that there had been a major problem. Upon complaining, the gave me a $100 credit. The next night, it again felt as though the A/C went off for a short period of time around 4am. The front desk denied any problem so I let it be. That afternoon, I was chatting with another guest and mentioned the problem of the most recent night and he too said that he thought something happened again but not as significant. Then again the next time, there was again a problem for a short time in the middle of the night. It doesn't take long for a room to heat up in the tropics when the A/C is off, even in the middle of the night.
Another problem with the rooms is the LACK OF LIGHT. They have pathetic light bulbs next to the bed and across from the bed. If you need light near the entrance of the room, you have to open the closet so that the good light in there will let you see the mirror on the opposite wall. The bathroom, spacious, could also have had better lighting.
You're really not supposed to stay in your room. As noted, the balconies are useless as are the sitting chairs that always seem to be in the way no matter where you move them. There is no desk. There is a table attached to the dresser that is too high to use while sitting in the chairs.
The newish flat screen seemed a little small for the room in this age of oversize TV's.
We ate breakfast in the Palms one morning. We were promptly seated outdoors (where we requested), offered coffee and juice that was brought to our table...and then nothing. We saw people coming from inside carrying food. Oh....a buffet. We tried much of the mediocre offerings and then later saw that others were given an a la carte menu. The buffet was $22pp plus tax and service charge. A high price that good have been justified if the food was good..but it wasn't good. We returned the other days to Salt and Pepper across the street and Delifrance a couple of miles away for good meals for about $10pp. My best food was the hamburger and fries that was "reasonably priced" at $14.
The little market supposedly had free Wifi, the only place on the property with free Wifi, but I could not get it to connect. Instead, I used the free Wifi at some of the local restaurants during my meal. I didn't want to pay the extra of $7.50 per day or $35 per week PER DEVICE for my few mins of access per day.
In summary, it's a very good hotel in an excellent location but not worth the premium price. Two years ago I stayed at the Westin that had slightly larger rooms with real balconies and free Wifi. The property was getting a little dated but a better value for the money than the Hyatt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I love to carry books on vacation, but this year we lightened our load and carried our iPads instead (we were going to download books to read).

However, the Hyatt Aruba hotel charges $35 per device to use the Internet inside their Wi-Fi zone. So, we paid the $70 to use both of our devices and eventually downloaded books from the Barnes and Noble website site.

Later on the beach we ran into another couple reading books on their Kindle Readers. I asked, 'how much is the Wi-Fi fee in your hotel?' They said they were staying at the Marriott where Wi-Fi is totally free. I was totally disgusted.

Bottom line, I paid for a great hotel room, wonderful meals, and lots of mixed drinks. In my opinion Wi-Fi should be free to cash-paying guest. My next Aruba vacation will not be at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattregencyaruba, Manager at Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you for the feedback. We will be improving the Wi-Fi service over the next year. The improvement with increase Wi-Fi coverage and improve the speed of connectivity. We expect to have this completed by end of first quarter 2013.

Again, thank you for the feedback.
Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our second year at the Hyatt and the hotel property is undergoing some renovations. The hotel spa just opened and we had very nice massages. The property itself is kept very clean and the lobby is an open air lobby which I particularly love. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the security at the hotel is top notch. Security is always present, walking the halls and making sure that the property is secure and safe at all times. The staff are very pleasant and always helpful. The pool is beautiful as is the beach. If you're spending anytime at your hotel this would be the one to choose. It's also convenient and within walking distance of the new outdoor Palm Beach mall.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice not sure there is a bad room at this hotel. You can see the water and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattregencyaruba, Manager at Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We have received the wonderful comments you entered on TripAdvisor and want to thank you personally for sharing your positive experience with us. It is very gratifying to receive such positive feedback and your comments have encouraged us to continue looking for ways to exceed our guests’ expectations.

On behalf of all our associates thank you!

Warm regards,

The Hyatt Regency Auriga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Beautiful and elegant but just one flaw: they keep these amazing parrots in super small cages in the pool area, which is very depressing to see. If you stay here please mention to desk that an appropriate sized aviary might bring the hotel into the 21st century!

Otherwise great spot, rooms, breakfast buffet and really nice staff. We had to spend an extra 3 days because of Hurricane Sandy and couldn't imagine a better place to be trapped!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattregencyaruba, Manager at Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and for taking your time to leave a review. We value your business and we will certainly evaluate your suggestions. We appreciate your comments as this feedback allows us to further improve our services provided to our loyal guest such as your self.


Warm Regards,

Hyatt Regency Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great Hotel. I have stayed here 3 times and have never had a bad expierence. Pools are beautiful, amenities are great, on site restaurants are awesome. Great for couples and families. Rooms are beautiful and well maintained. The grounds are open and airy. Just an all around beautiful place.

Room Tip: If you have kids and want some privacy the family suite is perfect..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattregencyaruba, Manager at Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and for taking your time to leave a review. I echo your sentiments with regard to our exceptional service team. We are sincerely grateful that you selected Hyatt Aruba, and look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future.

Warm Regards,

The Hyatt Regency Aruba Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We just returned from our 9 night stay for our honeymoon. The trip was extended due to not being able to fly home after the hurricane and the staff (especially Jacky on the regency level) was very helpful with flight information and changing accommodations. Overall I was thrilled with the location of the hotel given that we could walk to the restaurants and other casinos. The rooms were modern and clean and the grounds and pool immaculate. We were thrilled with the live band at the outside bar and wished there was more entertainment like that for the other nights. I feel that it was mostly couples at the hotel when we stayed and we met some really great people.
Cons -
-I feel shortchanged with their current restaurant situation. Yes they had a sign about the renovations but the only restaurant left, the Palms was not good the night we ate there. Luckily the location makes it very easy to go somewhere else to eat but I can't believe they didn't offer a credit of some sort.
-I can't believe there was no music at all around the pool. I saw one review that complained about someone bringing music and I was there that day and I personally loved it. I understand that not everyone has the same taste in music but really a little island music couldn't be played?? Bingo is so loud at 1 pm everyday but apparently that is okay (which we found incredibly annoying repeating numbers over and over).
- Construction outside our room on the days we slept in was pretty upsetting. Sure we weren't in the room much but 8am on Saturday was just not considering the current guests.
- The Marriott casino is much better than the Hyatt. But it is walking distance so not much of an issue.

The entire staff was awesome and we really enjoyed the manager's reception where they impressed us with flowing drinks and good appetizers. I think once the construction is over and restaurants are done it is the best honeymoon hotel in that strip. You get a relaxing classy clean hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattregencyaruba, Manager at Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your honeymoon! We appreciate the great post to TripAdvisor and want to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with the world. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to serving you again soon.

"Masha Danki" Thank you on behalf of all our associates.

Warm Regards,

Hyatt Regency Managemnt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino

Address: 85 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an oasis of gracious elegance and warm hospitality. This jewel among beachfront hotels in Aruba offers a welcoming combination of superb amenities, ideal location and outstanding service. Discover countless ways to spend your days at our luxurious Aruba hotel and spa. Play tennis, relax on the white-sand beach, race down the waterslide, or pamper yourself at Stillwater Spa. Savor delicious cuisine from around the world. Take a chance in the casino. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled family vacation, a romantic getaway or a memorable business gathering, this year-round Palm Beach Aruba hotel destination is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort And Casino Palm - Eagle Beach
Hyatt Palm/Eagle Beach
Palm/Eagle Beach Hyatt
Aruba Hyatt
Hyatt Hotel Aruba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.