We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend your hard earn money somewhere else.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill Resort & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mill Resort & Suites to your Saves list
The Mill Resort & Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 330 | Aruba, Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spend your hard earn money somewhere else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

First this is not a Resort. It is a very low end cheap motel.
First the Pro's:
1) The pool area is clean. There is a 5 foot, 3 foot and 1 and 1 1/2 foot pool. The 5 foot and 1 1/2 foot are in one pool but seperated by a fence.
2) Towels supply is very good. Exchanges are made without any problems.
3) Rooms are semi clean, did not see any bugs in the room.
4) Towels changed daily
5) Walking distance from shops and dinning.

Cons:

1) Cofee maker in room, but you must supply coffee, milk, sugar.
2) No wash cloth
3) One ice machine only. You must share with the bugs that are crawing inj and out of machine.
4) Free cofee between ^am and & am only. $2.00 US all other times.
5) Your welcome drink is a fruit punch.
6) No real activities.
7) Older units furniture is extremely old and not well cared for. Stains,Scratches and other abuses are very noticable. Newer units have motion sensor lights, if you get up at night to go to the bathroom all the lights come on.
8) Bring your own bar of soap, theirs is paper thin.
9) Hope you don't have a problem, management does not care. To them the money is in the bank, no refunds.
10) When their front desk entered a 78 year olds womens room at 2 o'clock in the morning for no reason. Front desk and management did not care.
11) Place screw in room temperture control keep room freezing.

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    207
    116
    65
    58
See reviews for
122
232
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at The Mill for our Honeymoon. On the positive side, the room was nice and clean; however, the bed was very uncomfortable and hurt both of our backs. We were on the first floor near the laundry room, and every morning around 8 am like clockwork the staff would be screaming to each other directly outside our room and banging on our door. We finally got a privacy sign for our door, but staff would take it every morning and then bang on the door again. It took my husband going to the desk three times asking for a new one and asking the staff not take it. The third time the man at the desk laughed at him to which my husband didn't take kindly to and told the man we were on our Honeymoon and that the behavior would not be tolerated. Finally the man called over a handheld walkie talkie in Spanish so that he couldn't understand the conversation. The banging early then finally did stop for the last few days of our stay. We also didn't have any patio furniture, though every single other room had two chairs and a table. I called the first night to the desk to ask for some and the woman stated that they had no more but would look into it. They apparently did not "look into it" because we didn't receive any until we personally went to the desk the next day and asked a young gentleman at the desk. Miraculously, we received a nice set within the half hour.
Also, our fridge made a terrible noise and kept us awake at times. Very annoying.
We did enjoy being off of the main strip of high rises and loud cars, etc, but I would never stay there again. We learned the hard way.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, which I do not recommend, stay AWAY from the laundry room. Possibly the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having stayed in Aruba 4 times previously, we were aware of The Mill's location, and as we love Aruba, and this was the best deal we could get, we were willing to put up with non water front location. I only had one request, a balcony. We enjoy our balcony for morning coffee and evenings enjoying a nice glass of wine after a day at the beach, however upon check in we were given a horrible ground floor room facing a busy street. If we had left it at that, my review of this resort would have been horrible! This room felt very unsafe, even the exterior was unlit, like an invitation to a robbery. However, we promptly took our suitcases back to the front desk and insisted on a balcony room. We weren't leaving the desk area until we were given something else. Suddenly, a balcony room became available after all! Instead of the run of the mill room (pun intended) we were given a royal suite! Lovely balcony overlooking the pool and bar area. This room had a whirlpool tub in the bedroom, and a separate large walkin shower room with toilet. Double sinks, small refrigerator and coffee maker (although you need to supply your own coffee or tea etc.) toiletries are minimal, and no wash clothes to be seen. (I almost thought I was back in Cuba!) When requesting washcloths at front desk, they were delivered to our room, but each day I had to do so again. The king sized bed was quite comfortable, and the room was kept clean. The bar played fairly quiet Abba type music, which we enjoyed off our balcony, as we ordered their delicious pizza for room service a couple of nights. We did their BBQ supper one night also, and dined outside poolside, and had a very lovely Columbian waitress. They did provide some live music as well that evening. We also sampled their lunch menu one day and they did have happy hour every day or precisely one hour and the bar tender wasn't too motivated, more interested in what was in the tv then serving customers. The pools were relaxing, with plenty of loungers and some shade, although some were reserved with towels, and were never even used. Lizards lounged around the pool by the waterfalls, as well as walking back and forth to the outdoor shower to drink, quite amusing to watch and completely harmless. The access to the beach area was walkable through the Westin, or past the tennis courts, you could o to the Holiday Inn beach, since their towels were practically identical to The Mills, and they have wonderful sunsets and happy hours there, unlike The Mills beach area were they kick you off their loungers to clean up before sunset! The Mills beach area is quite nice though with a gradual, very sandy walk into the water, unlike the drop off at The Holiday Inn. Their is also a platform out in the water that you can swim out o and dive off or sun on. Native Aruban children share their swimming lessons on the same beach as The Mill. The beach attendant is very friendly and happy to set your chairs up in sun or shade and is an expert and putting your towels on them so they won't be blown away by the ever present trade winds. Over all, you get what you pay for, but I will say, our second room was a vast improvement upon what we were first given, and we love Aruba!

Room Tip: Second floor balcony overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was my first time staying in ARUBA and i was here for only 3 nights so i did not need a high rise hotel. I wasn't expecting much, and to my surprise the Mill Resort delivered a wonderful experience. My room was spotless at all times, very quiet and close to everything. I really enjoyed their buffet breakfeast, a great way to start off the day, the wait staff was friendly but did not speak much english. The walk to the beach was less than 5 minutes. the only complaint i'd have is that the people at the front desk seemed confused, and unorganised. I loved the pool, but they had a strange and strict towel policy. Over all i got much value for my money and would be happy to refer this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The mills was a great place, we stayed a week. The resort is within walking distance to the beach, sores and a bus that can take you much further into town. The pools were good, lounge chairs adequate and the staff were very friendly. I don't have one single complaint. Wish it were an all inclusive!

Oh they have this crazy list of all the prices in your room in case you take something your well informed of the cost added to your bill. If you get a suite room with a kitchen make sure you once over the items and let them know what's not accounted for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We decided to stay at the mill to see the high rise area in Aruba. Lets just say it was the worst experience we ever had.
The staff there needs a reminder of customer service. It was advertised as the friendliest resort in Aruba, however it was the meanest resort in Aruba. They give you a towel and your expected to hold onto it for your stay, despite they fact that they staff the towel stand???
Lets talk about the rooms. Not only is the room completely lacking and sort of comfortable feeling; I really appreciated sleeping on a futon! I have never slept on a more uncomfortable bed in my life! Beds nowadays use box springs as well! They post signs stating how expensive water is in Aruba and not to abuse it. Where they need to write, our plumbing is terrible! The walls are paper thin, so expect not to have a restful stay. The best is their "mote." Besides the smell of dead fish, attracting Mosquitos is not a good idea.
They tag you with a bright yellow wrist band to inform everyone that your staying there. They make you walk through the Westin to get to their beach. That was the biggest reminder that you made a wrong decision. The Westin was decorated nicely and was friendly, not the mill.
Just do yourself a favor and avoid this hotel at all costs!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was anxious to stay at the Mill Resort after reading some of the reviews regarding location and age of the resort. First, the Mill Resort is located directly across the road from the beach - a few minutes walk. I was quite amazed people used a shuttle to take you right across the road!?!! Second, we stayed on the first floor, back side of the resort near the tennis courts. Few was lousy but it was a newly renovated room with a full kitchenette. We made breakfast, made a daily beach picnic lunch and a number of times cooked dinner here too! Perfect! Yes...the walls are paper thin but the drone of our room's air conditioner and bathroom fan kept the noise at bay. The room was super clean and cleaned to a sparkle every day! I suggest you ask for a suite and not their standard rooms - they looked terrible. BTW...you don't have to wear those silly yellow bracelets. Just keep them handy for getting a chair at the beach. That's all you need them for. I would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mill Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Resort & Suites

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 330 | Aruba, Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Resort & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mill Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Resort And Suites
The Mill Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Mill Resort Aruba
The Mill Resort & Suites Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.