We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L.G. Smith Boulevard 101, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Warm Up in Aruba
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed last week of April.
Can get groceries/alcohol 15 minute walk down the road.
Lots of restaurants that are within walking distance that are much better than the resort restaurants...Much better prices off the resort too. (Down in front of the holiday inn)
Taste of Belgium was our favourite restaurant. Located in Palm Beach Plaza.
People are extremely Friendly in Aruba!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,098
    952
    214
    100
    34
See reviews for
778
1,791
52
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited the Marriott Stellaris in mid April 2013 on our honeymoon, staying in the tradewinds floor. The check in process was very easy and the staff was very friendly. Our room wasn't ready but we were able to change and enjoy the beach immediately. The rooms were well kept, but very standard. Enough space for everything you would need and a nice balcony, but nothing spectacular. We spent so little time in the room, that I was not concerned with it specifically at all. The beach was wonderful, we were able to get a Palapa any time of day without issue. Never were they completely booked, although we were rarely in the front row by the time we made it down around 8AM to reserve one. The pool was very nice, with a swim up bar and a water fall. There were quite a few kids, but they were all behaved for our entire vacation. There is a ton of attractions within a 10-15 minute walk, including restaurants, shopping, tours, and pampering. The adult only pool closed every day but 1 at 3pm for receptions for weddings, which was extremely annoying but understandable. We went to the regular pool or the adult pool at the ocean club when this occurred.

Tradewinds specific:
- Palapas were wonderful, we spent most of each day at the beach reading or enjoying the scenery. These come free with the tradewinds floor, along with two ocean floats, cold water, chilled towels, and friendly beach service.
- Pillow Menu - never saw, didn't care about though
- Bar - full free bar from 6 - 9PM each day, beer from 7AM - 9PM each day.
- Breakfast - huge delicious spread of hot and cold options. Definitely a huge win for me.
- Lunch different sandwiches each day, with a soup (that was delicious each day) and a hearty salad bar and left over breakfast fruit turned into a fruit salad, good but got monotonous towards the end and we ended up going to a few restaurants for lunches.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A nice choice of resort, relaxing, beautiful, nice service, family friendly... Particular the water aerobics and tropical drink serving in the bar inside the pool. However, their travel arrangement needs improvement -- we booked a snorkeling trip, double checked with them the night before, was picked up by bus to the spot, only to find out that the trip had been cancelled after 20 mins' waiting in the noon's sun at the pier. Hard to understand the reason that they could not find out earlier and inform us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at this property for six nights. After reading many reviews I was nervous about the beach/pool chair situation. However, it turned out that it was not a big deal. I had friends who utilized the adult pool and didn't have any problems getting chairs. None of my group sat at the other pool but when walking through, I noticed many open chairs. We primarily used the beach and once you learn the system, reserving palapas is pretty easy. We ended up paying for the palapas for 3 days which guarantees that you don't have stand in line everyday. The 20 bucks per day was worth the convenience. Beach space in front of other hotels seemed be smaller and reviews have indicated that other hotels have the chair/palapa issue.

The best part about this resort is the staff. Everybody is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are well appointed, the beds are ok, but the Marriott should upgrade their pillows (I'm a pillow snob). The only other facility type complaint is the noise level from room to room. We only noticed it 2 nights so maybe it's not the acoustics of the building but rather a noisy family on those particular nights.

Be sure to take advantage of the happy hour specials where you can buy 2 for 1 drinks. The other value that we found was room service for breakfast where a pot of coffee and the breakfast breads were $17. The first day we went down to the café in the lobby and spent $20 on about the same thing.

As for the restaurants on the property, the beach restaurant was good for lunch. I recommend the fish tacos and the grouper sandwich. We also ate at La Vista which was good. Both places are fairly expensive though.

Some other reviews have criticized Aruba as a vacay destination, but in my opinion it's pretty close to perfect. The weather is generally the same everyday, warm with a nice breeze and very little chance of rain. The people on the island are very welcoming and not pushy. The tourists are diverse. Although it's mainly travelers from the US, there were many people from Europe and South America.

If you're looking for adventure, I'd recommend renting a jeep and driving to the Natural Pool. The drive is challenging and required 4wd but was well worth the effort.

Room Tip: The north tower is on the side of the construction (Ritz Carlton is being built), so I'd request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is one of the friendliest resorts and its one of one of the most spectacular beaches in the Caribbean. This is my 2nd time returning to the Marriott Stellaris in Aruba and each time I am reminded that the service is exceptional and over the top friendly.
Nicely appointed and good size rooms with plenty of good bars and restaurants. Make a left at the beach and within 5 minutes you will run into some of the best beach bars on the island with plenty of good music, food and drink.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our second time at the Stellaris; went in 2009 and again this past April 3rd. I was a little hesitant because our first Aruban experience was so wonderful I couldn't imagine it could be matched - but it was and then some! We stayed on the Tradewinds floor which offers too many amenities to list (check out their website) and it far exceeded everything it promised. The service was "stellar", the rooms are beautiful, spacious and very well kept. Beach is great, new adult pool is a perfect retreat. The Marriott boasts excellent restaurants within however are happy to direct you to others on the island if your looking for something different. Each and every member of the staff makes you feel as if you are the only patron. You cannot pass someone in the hallway without a cheery "hello" and a beautiful smile. The diamond of this hotel however is Hermina Whyte who runs the Tradewinds Beach! She is one of the most wonderful, genuine people we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. She wrote the book on customer service and works to make your stay perfect from the moment the sun rises to the last dying ray. The small luxuries such as her famous "ice cold" essential oil scented towels, knowing just when you need a bottle of cold water or beachside waiter for a cold drink are second only to her dazzling smile. We will never consider staying anywhere else but here and plan to return next year! Worth every penny! Sue & Steve Lawrence West Warwick, RI

Room Tip: I have only stayed on the Tradewinds 8th floor however spoke to many people frmo different floors wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

As always Marriott meeting your expectations. Super nice rooms, the best breakfast buffet in the Caribbean, friendly staff, decent sushi bar, the staff in the beach super nice and friendly. I recommend this hotel for holidays, for bussines is not the best choice as they dont have wifi in the rooms. Manicure in the Spa also super good ( the lady from Jamaica) . Excellent! I will for sure stay in this hotel in my next holidays in Aruba!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 101, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruba Marriott's adults only pool H20asis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Marriott, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Aruba Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott Aruba Hotel Stellaris
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.