We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradewinds @Marriott Aruba Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L.G. Smith Boulevard 101, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Warm Up in Aruba
Great Yarmouth, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Tradewinds @Marriott Aruba Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Finally getting round to catching up with my reviews! Smooth check in within the Tradewinds club, January 2012. Slight mix up with our sons room (should have been twin, not double) sorted overnight with no fuss. Pretty nice rooms with good ocean views, having stayed on the property previously we agreed that our previous room was far better(full ocean view, twin aspect - huge room superb bathroom) but it was unavailable within the Tradewinds package. The package in general worked really well for us as a family, we made really good use of the food available at breakfast and lunch and also soft drinks throughout the day and alcoholic at night. At night we usually had a little try of the taster sessions available and even managed to make do (rather than go out for a full meal) one evening when we weren't too hungry. I imagine people with very small appetites could manage to make more use of the food available and not buy actual meals......well maybe!! More often than not we would walk to the nearby shopping area where there are quite a few restaurants.
Within the Tradewinds package there is a designated area on the beach with palapas & sunbeds also an area where water/towels available. Since our previous visit an adults only pool had been built at the side of the property, it's a really nice area although whilst we were there it was pretty difficult to get beds unless you're a stalwart 'early bird' bed reserver, it was also incredibly quiet sometimes even too quiet (if that's possible).

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,113
    959
    216
    100
    34
See reviews for
788
1,799
53
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Overall i was not impressed; i had really high expectations after reading previous reviews and was disappointed. First of all kept bugging us about joining the marriot club, and not just in the hotel, they try to sell this also at other touristic attractions, and they were quite pushy even calling in the room, after this experience i will never join marriott club. The number of chairs a d huts in beach and pool is extremely limited, and people get up early to leave their towels holding them. The quality of the chairs in the beach is not so good, if you are there take the white ones as the blue have a plastic bar that hurts in the back. One day i was given a hut full of flies, the employee would not give me another one (others were reserved, to reserve you must pay extra which really annoys me, after all im a guest) the employee even told me that the flies would bite me, which they did and i ended up all full of bites. I did not have a room service booklet of my room, i asked for one one night i was really hungry and it took over an hour to get; i had to order a pizza from dominoes since i was starving but they didnt allow the delivery boy in the hotel (i guess its ok for safety) but thenni had to pick up at reception; the guy didnt have change of the local currency and in the reception they wouldn't change for me which is not a big deal but annoyed me since its something so basic.
The service in the room was just ok, in general was clean i must say but for example they wouldnt leave coffee for the machine every day or change the towels i wanted changed, except on the night before checkout when it was brilliant and we got a note from our housekeeper (the ones to remind you to tip them) by this point i felt for marriott the guests are money machines which must be exploited as much as possible.
Upon checkout i shared my thoughts with the receptionist and overall she was not receptive and not very polite, since my husband is european and im latin and i was the one wih the comments, she was even joking that "ahh typical, latins are much more -detailed- while europeans are so relaxed" i found this extremely annoying. When i told her about the mosquitoes i. The beach sh even laughed and said "this is a tropical country we cant do anything about that" as i explained to her: i only saw flies in one hut and because it was i. Bad shape (it was kind of rotten).
Needless to say i will not go back to this marriott and i recommend you to stay in the radisson which is closer to the restaurants, or wait for the ritz.
A good comment: the beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night prior to using our time share week in the Surf Club. From the airport, the cab ride was around $25. Check-in was quick; staff was friendly; there was even ice-cold drinks waiting at the lobby for guests, which was very welcoming in a hot November afternoon. Our room was ready at 3pm and we were able to get settled in. We specified our request for a higher level, ocean view room and quiet location, and we got what we wanted. Our room was facing the pool and ocean - no noise from the outside and neighboring rooms. We had a restful stay. Immaculately clean room, with sofa, balcony, big closet with safe and masterbathroom. The hotel looby is huge, it has the sushi and bread place, sofas, bar. At night, we enjoyed the live music and even practised our ballroom dancing steps with other couples. We liked the sushi choices; had sale prices at certain days of the week. The pool area has a lunch bar where they serve sandwiches and drinks. We had cuban sandwich which is big enough for two people. The property is connected to the other Marriott properties (Ocean Club and Surf Club) where one can get there by walking from the front entrance and along the sides, or along the beach area. Each property is differentiated by the color of towels, which means that guest from Surf Club or Ocean Club cannot use the beach lounges or chairs at the Stellaris, and vice versa, When we stayed at Surf Club, we were given colored bracelet for a week use, then they change to another colored bracelet for the following week, so it is easy to recognize the guests from Surf Club. This hotel is within walking distance from the mall and other small boutiques and restaurants. Highly recommended. Will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was our third trip to Aruba and our second to this hotel. While we think the people of Aruba are wonderful and friendly, the staff at the Stellaris and this hotel is primarily what brought us back and will bring us back again. The hotel is immaculate. Even the standard rooms are large, bathrooms are large, walk-in closet with safe, large balcony. The location is great. Is the last hotel along the high rises, but within easy walking distance to shopping, restaurants, movie theaters, etc. There is a hotel shuttle that takes you as close to the shopping area as it can and you have the equivalent of a couple of blocks to walk from there. The highlight of our trip was the H2Oasis pool. It was just my husband and I, so we loved that it was an adults only area. We rented a pool cabana which was just $50.00 per day. You do this by going down to the fitness room and renting through the staff no earlier than one day prior to the date that you wish to reserve it. Staff brings around ice, bottled water and fruit trays which is included in the price of the rental. Your just steps away from the pool and the pool bar. The staff will also take your food orders, although these items are available for an additional cost. The property is connected to the Surf and Ocean Clubs, so there are plenty of kids actiivties/playgrounds, etc. as well. There are several shops, including boutiques and jewelrly as well as a store for convenience items. There are several resaurants on the premises. Wasn't fond of LaVista, but will post my review about that under restaurants. LOVE Simply Fish which is on the beach, just steps away from the ocean. Great place to catch the sunset. Good service. Also a great pastry and sandwich place located right in the lobby. Lobby is spacious with a cozy layout. Nice bar area and live music on certain nights of the week. Any issues that we had were minute (bathroom stopper didn't work and one day housekeeping didn't leave towels). The response was immediate and courteous. The staff makes a follow up call to make sure that whatever issues you had were resolved. Large room service selection and again, great staff response. Food arrives promptly.The hotel now has free wifi in the rooms. They didn't previously, but it was hooked up while we were there. They also have laptops, etc. to rent through their business services. From the moment you arrive and they present you with a cold glass of punch, until you unfortunately have to leave, the staff here makes it a priority to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. A meticulous attention to every detail. I can not say enough good things about this property. We will be going back to Aruba again and when we do, we will be staying at the Stellaris. I did take a few photos and will post them within the next few days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night, our mini "getaway" from the rest of the family (parents and children) at the Marriott Surf club two doors down. The grounds, pool, lobby are all beautiful. They have a family pool and an adult pool. The staff was very kind and welcoming. We stayed on the Tradewinds floor, it was very nice with a beautiful view from our balcony! The food they set out is wonderful. We liked to eat on the little balcony. You would never need to go out for any other food. I do have to say if I were staying an entire week there, I would not do the Tradewinds because I would feel compelled to "eat and drink" my moneys worth there, and not go out to enjoy the other great restaurants Aruba has to offer. Not complaining, just a thought. The people in the club were wonderful as well. We really enjoyed our one night away there.

Room Tip: Tradewinds club room has the most awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was the first time staying at the Marriott, and I was pleased with the experience. The room was very nice and modern and the view of the beach from our balcony was very gorgeous. The beach is great and has cabanas for shade, but if you want a front row takes some strategy. Either you need to pay to reserve one, or you have to wait in line the day before- not the best system set up. Some problems we had when we arrived: our room smelled of cigarette smoke, so much so we couldn't even stand in there. We changed rooms to one with hardwood floors which were superb. We stayed at the beach mostly, so we never checked out the pool, but once we saw the adult pool we wished we had found it sooner. It was so swanky, definitely stop by for a look. The only other problem this hotel has is walking to town is not the easiest. You have to walk on the beach side part of the way and then down the road, so the only thing I would change is the ease at which you can walk to stores and town.

Room Tip: Ocean view is always better in my opinion, but even a partial ocean view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is the first time for us in Aruba and stayed at this fantastic hotel with three other couples celebraiting birthdays. Once we arrived the reception was great. We wanted to changenthe rooms we were asigned and we all were changed to what we wanted. The rooms are excelent and the service is impecable. The beach is beautiful with excelent service if you needed drinks, food, or just relax. The swimming pool was impresive withnits waterfalls and iguanas walking all over the place. Breackfast was from 7:00 till 12:00, and the widest variety of food I have ever seen in a hotel or cruise ship.

Room Tip: Try getting the 8th floor and center view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 101, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruba Marriott's adults only pool H20asis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Aruba Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott Aruba Hotel Stellaris
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.