We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Aruba Resort, Casino & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Aruba Resort, Casino & Spa to your Saves list
Radisson Aruba Resort, Casino & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 81, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Family Time
A TripAdvisor Member
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2005

I cannot believe the numerous claims that the Radisson is one of the top hotels in Aruba. It is not. The rooms are very small, the service was sketchy, the shower runs boiling hot and freezing cold, and the air conditioning had two settings -- ice box and sweat box. Do not let them put you in the Curcao Tower (the hotel has three towers) because it is practically in Guam. To its credit, the pool area is very nice, the beach is pretty and the restaurants are excellent. Overall, the hotel was okay, but it is more like a 3-star, not a 4-star.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    788
    201
    71
    36
See reviews for
610
1,243
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2005

We had the best possible trip to Aruba because of the great trip reports provided on this web site. Our week was spent at the Radisson, which through much research, we decided best fit our budget. We opted for a gardenview room and as advised, emailed our room requirements a few weeks ahead of our trip. The Radisson was extremely accommodating. We also requested the main tower as recommended. Our room was exactly what we requested. If you want a room with a nice view, close to the lobby with a slight oceanview, ask for room 1314.

After reading about folks getting up early and standing in line for the best palapa, we decided we did not come all the way to Aruba to be stressed out, so just took our chances each day. We never had a problem getting a palapa. So long as you don't require being on the front ocean row directly in front of the hotel walkway, you'll not have a problem spending your time at the beach. The hotel staff was always very helpful with chairs and finding us a nice spot.

Each evening we enjoyed spectacular dinners at the wonderful restaurants on Aruba. We did prebook 5 out of our 7 nights over the internet about 2 weeks before our trip. Each night we had the best tables at the following restaurants, Madame J's, Flying Fishbone, Sunset Grille, El Gaucho and Marandi's. One of nicest suprises we had was dinner at Marriott's "Simply Fish". We thought it was going to be just another "hotel" restaurant but found the tables on the beach, soft live music, a terrific menu and great wait staff. All in all our Aruba vacation was one of our best vacations and we look forward to booking our next trip back to the Radisson.

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2004

We were thrilled with the beauty of the hotel! While the rooms are a little on the small side, the furnishings are beautiful. The grounds are spectacular and well-maintained; the staff couldn't be nicer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2004

We just got back from the Radisson Resort in Aruba. We were lucky to have had 7 days of amazing weather. It rained every day for about 5 minutes, but it didn't matter. The Radisson was beautiful...the grounds were kept clean, the property seemed very lush for a desert climate, the pools were great and the rooms were nicely decorated. The only complaint I had, like many others on this board, was getting the bed we wanted. In the past at other hotels we've always reserved a King and gotten one. At this particular hotel, they call it a "request" and not a reservation. Meaning you get whatever they have available. They told me that all travel agents are aware of this policy, but mine didn't mention it. Everyone checking in at the same time we were had the same trouble...honeymooning couples getting rooms with 2 double beds, etc! We were able to move to a King halfway through the trip, but it was annoying. For the trouble, they took $50 off our bill. It seems to me they must have very few King rooms because the hotel was about 1/4 full and every couple we spoke with was sleeping in two double beds! Yes, two adults can fit in a double bed, but not very comfortably.

Other than that we had a lovely time. The staff was wonderful. Don't miss the Sunset Grille!

The Radisson beach was beautiful, but you must rent a jeep and hit Arashi and Baby Beaches...the snorkeling at Baby Beach is amazing at the inlet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2004

Returned here for my 2nd visit in 6 months. 11/17-11/23
This trip I booked just a ROH room since I got such a good rate thru MCM Travel. I had a partial Ocean View which really overlooked a rooftop with a kind of view of the Ocean. But for the price I paid it was worth it !
Again I will say the Rad has one of the best beaches on the strip, the biggest with more Palaypas than the other hotels.
The zero entry pool is Phenomenal Don't limit yourself to just eating at the hotel, there are so many great choices for dining in Aruba !
And finally, if you have a problem with your room go to the desk and complain although it might take awhile if you persevere you will get what you want.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2004

Just returned from the Radisson Aruba. For a brand hotel in the Carribean, I thought it was above average. Our room was nice and better than expected. The pools are great. I am not one to spend time at the pools while in the Carribean, but I did on this trip. There is lots of room for lounge chairs so you don't feel cramped like most resorts. And it was nice to pull a chair into the shallow areas of the zero entry pools to cool off for a while.

The grounds and buildings in general were nice. There are several snack shops which offered prices significantly lower than the in room snack bar, which was convenient. The iguanas were fun. They are all over the place and are huge! It seems they too like the zero entry pools as they could often be spotted at the water's edge by the pool.

The beach was not great - this was the biggest disappointment. The water was not clear at all. Once you were in water over about one foot deep, you could no longer see the bottom. I had expected Palm Beach to be comparable to the other well known carribean beaches (Five Mile, Cable Beach, Shoal Bay, or at least Negril) but it was not even close. It had apparently been raining quite a bit in the weeks before were arrived, so that may explain the cloudy water.

I had read a heated debate on the papulas (sp?) on this site before we left. Those are the little hut like structures on the beach that provide much needed shade. It appears that their availability is hit or miss. The first few days we were there, the beach was packed and there were no papulas to be found. In fact, just finding a section of sand to pull up a chair was difficult. However, in the last few days there were noticeably fewer people at the hotel, and the papulas were readily available at any time of the day.

Service was not great. I found Aruba to be the least friendly of the islands I have been to. And the service was very slow, even by Carribean standards.

Basically, we enjoyed our stay and there are certainly worse places to stay. I would not balk at the idea of returning, but it would be difficult to chose this hotel over some comparable or better hotels on much nicer beaches elsewhere in the Carribean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2004

My wife, 8 month old daughter and I stayed from 11/17 to 11/24 at Radisson. We stayed in King size bed in Aruba Tower with partial ocean view for $250 per night tax included. Although weather was not the best for 4 of 7 days, because it rained. This was our 6th time to island and first time with our baby. The rainy days prevented sunburn on all of our skin. We loved the hotel location access to both the beach and pool. Old daughter loved the zero entry pool and cooing at other kids in the pool. The grounds were very well maintained and the parrots were a welcome site. When arriving at towel hut each morning, pick a cabana then walk to the right by the waterfall for a quick stop at Dunkin Donuts near the motorized boat building for coffee and bagels. After you can select your chairs and go to your assigned cabana. The Gilligan's bar near pool is great for a hamburger or lite lunch. Happy hour is from 4-7 and but is overrated as drinks drop from $8 to $5. Beer did not qualify. Also do not tip extra as the 15% is always added to bill no matter how the service is/was. We brought a cooler bag from home and each day filled with ice each day for stroll to beach for our own drinks. I would suggest any future trip include a taxi drive to local supermarket for snacks and drinks at start of week. Even a case of beer and sodas would be beneficial. For dinner Laguna Seafood is a must because of a special that with each 2 entree ordered a large bucket of shrimp is complimentary to table with sauce. Another hotel restaurant is Sunset Grill but reservations are suggested. We had a wonderful meal and we applied our $100 food and beverage credit we earned for our week's stay. Outside hotel for food is a place called Tango and one called FishHouse. Both were very good. An excellent breakfast place is also there called Salt and Pepper. There is a cheap internet place across from Playa Linda and under TexasdeBrazil Restaurant. Our walks along boardwalk along beach with baby jogger stroller were fun as big wheels allowed for sand or water traversing. It was a good trip and baby was excellent. She ate all her food and played on the beach towel with Mom and Dad daily. When both parents work and day care is used, it really makes family vacations more enjoyable, relaxing, and is a time to get to appreciate the baby for a full week. Any family can relax in Aruba especially at the Radisson. We have stayed at Holiday Inn, Divi Divi, Tamarijn, on previous trips before, but the Radisson or Hyatt are the premier places. Have Fun.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Aruba Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Aruba Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 81, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Aruba Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Aruba Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Radisson Aruba Resort, Casino And Spa
Radisson Palm/Eagle Beach
Aruba Radisson
Raddison Aruba
Radisson Aruba Resort, Casino & Spa Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Aruba Resort, Casino & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.