We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! The coolest place EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Antilla

The Antilla
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$65*
and up
Happy Hour Sail and Snorkel in Aruba with...
Type: Historic Sites, Ships, Cultural
Activities: Scuba diving, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Antilla, which was a German freighter sunk during World War II, is Aruba's most popular dive site.
NE Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“OMG! The coolest place EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We did the Jolly Pirates tour, the first stop was the wreck of the Antilla. I've never seen a ship wreck before and I have to say it's one of the most amazing things I've ever seen! It literally gives you chills! I cant wait to go back to Aruba and do it again!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    86
    35
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you are a diver, then this might be a better destination than as a snorkeler.
This WWII-era wreck was scuttled by its German crew to destroy the cargo and just before the crew were captured and held as POWs on Aruba for the duration of the war. (tough duty, I'd assume)
Part of the superstructure of the ship was right at the surface for fifty years, making this a pretty approachable snorkel off one of the many day-sail operators. It is still leaking oil and I have the stains on my swim suit to prove it.
A major storm hit the wreck of the Antilla a few years ago and broke off the top thirty feet of the superstructure so the ship is now much less close to the surface, and harder to really experience with just a snorkel mask.
However, it is pretty cool, and there are really, really large fish out there.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“On a clear still day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You can see everything on the wreck. I have snorkel end this wreck for 13years. Only once did I actually get to fully see its grandeur!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“unreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

i loved snorkeling with my family...my 9 and 10 year old got the hang of it quickly. do the jolly private cruise...those guys are HILARIOUS, the music, drinks, and food = A+

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Snorkel over the wreck on DePalm Catamaran and Snorkel trip. They give you a nice history of the wreck (WW II German Supply ship) and push the fun and the Rum Punch

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Antilla also viewed

 

Been to The Antilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Antilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.