We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, need better than porta-potties at this price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Passions on the Beach

Passions on the Beach
J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 252, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
+297 527 1129
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $46
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: From the sea to your table, the freshest reef cuisine served right at the island's shore. The island's incomparable dining experience on one of the world's award-winning beaches.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, need better than porta-potties at this price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Very romantic setting. Food and service were very good. Need better washroom facilities, really killed the mood. Hope they read this!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at Passions on the Beach, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for letting us and others know you enjoyed dining at our beach restaurant.
We understand your comment about the toilets, unfortunately we're not allowed by government to build a restroom on the beach so we did our best with a regular toilet seat instead of a common portal toilet and at this moment we're working on improvements. Guests are always welcome to use our restrooms at the front desk of the hotel.
We hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    1,169
    359
    102
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Romantic Dinner on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Not being a seafood person, the Coconut Grouper with banana dip was amazing! The atmosphere is romantic. Make sure to get an early reservation so you can watch the sunset. The only thing I did not enjoy (that is not the fault of Passions) was that there was a large group with small children that were running around on the beach and causing a ruckus. This disrupted our evening, but still enjoyed it very much! A must on any couples list of places to eat in Aruba!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Incredible Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Timing is everything. We got to the beach (yes, this place is right on the beach) a little early for our 1830 reservations, but still missed the sunset by about 10 minutes. Such is life. Our reserved table along a line closest to the water was waiting. GREAT location. Now the BIG but - the table next to us has a couple - the woman was a chain smoker unlike I have seen in years. When she didn't have a cigarette going it was only when she was eating. It as non-smokers who detest the smell it took a great deal away from a special evening. That said, the service by Morella was quite good. We started with a bottle of Unduuraga Brut bubbly from Chile. It was new to both of us - and quite enjoyable. Dinner started with the crab salad which was good, but not great and the seafood soup, again good but not great. One of us had the chef's preferred sea bass. It was excellent! Cooked perfectly and just tasted great. The other had the lamb - which was quite good, but not excellent. So all-in-all I gave this 4 stars for the atmosphere and service, food sort of a 4 (but without the sea bass would have been 3) and I'd have given it a 1 do to the smoker next to us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was one of the best meals, and the best experiences, we had on Aruba. Definitely not to be missed. Reservations are a must.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach side dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here in late October and it was the best dinner we had on the island. The lamps on the table, the warm breeze and a fantastic sunset were the perfect finishing touches for a great meal.

Our waitress was great, the food was great (my wife had the pork, I had the fish special) both were excellent, but the pork was a little better.

Dessert was also great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passions on the Beach also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Passions on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passions on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.