We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite meal of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostaria da' Vittorio

Hostaria da' Vittorio
LG Smith BLVD 380, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
(297) 586-3838
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Favorite meal of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The service was really good. We got a bottle of wine and I really didn't care for it so I asked if we could switch and they were very accommodating. We got a different bottle and throughly enjoyed it. (I may have enjoyed a little too much!) I had the eggplant app. and it was very tasty. My grouper we so delicious and the sauce was awesome, best piece of fish I had the whole trip. It came out with several different types of veggies prepared perfectly. I just wish we had gone back there and skipped Simply fish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    111
    47
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delectable but a touch slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Years ago I had a bad meal at Hostaria. I hadn't gone back despite my Italian mother-in-law's constant praises.

So, tonight we threw caution to the wind and decided to give Hostaria a second chance.

The evening started out a bit wobbly. The server was clearly an amateur and a bit overwhelmed and the lighting in the restaurant is a bit harsh. We felt a touch abandoned yet in the spotlight.

Our luck continued when one hour and ten minutes later we finally got our appetizers. Instead of the mussels au gratin that we had ordered, we got something provençale. At least the beef carpaccio was correct.

But that was when our problems ended.

The mistaken mussels were phenomenal, with the perfect balance of butter, white wine, capers, lemon, and other secret savory ingredients. The carpaccio was absolutely stellar.

Our main courses emerged in a timely manner. The lasagna was generous, meaty and delicious, the penne with vodka/smoked salmon sauce was stellar, and throughout the meal the bread kept arriving at our table hot and fresh out of the oven.

Hostaria has redeemed itself.

Five stars for the food, four for the service, and three for the lighting. All in all definitely worth a re-visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst wine EVER”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Brick Oven Pizza, salad, and what tasted like prune juice :( The $27 carafe of red "wine" was a huge disappointment. The bread was (just as previously described) more like an irish soda bread than italian bread. But the brick oven pizza that took forever to bake was good. The evening started with some lovely music but for some reason it shut off and they couldn't get it turned back on???? Unprofessional chatter among the crew near the oven took the place of the music.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Last time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Have been several times during our yearly visit to Aruba, we will cross off our list. Food was fair , prices have become insane for what you receive!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dont go there !!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

If your looking for an italian restaurant go to Elliott in the low rise section , food at Hostaria is terrible !!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria da' Vittorio also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Hostaria da' Vittorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostaria da' Vittorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.