We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home - and the dog loves it too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Mawr Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ty Mawr Country Hotel to your Saves list
Ty Mawr Country Hotel
Brechfa | Near Carmarthen, Brechfa SA32 7RA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Brechfa B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home from home - and the dog loves it too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed here on a few occasions now as dogs are welcome - we have had birthday celebrations, New Year's eve (twice) and just because visits. A beautiful historic building, tasteful and traditional, warm and welcoming. The food is wonderful and all locally produced. A relaxing start with tea and bara brith on arrival, a good warm by the huge log burner before dinner. I have shared this gem with so many people and they all love it. If you want comfort and excellent food and service in a hidden part of Carmarthenshire this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 is personal favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
62
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were testing a car and plucked this place at random from the "Welsh Rarebits" booklet. It was a great choice!

If one inputs the post code into a sat. nav. and approaches from the South, from the direction of the M4, don't turn right, on reaching Brechfa, when instructed, since this will take one through a ford and along a rough track. Ty Mawr is actually a little further along the main road, on the left.

We hit traffic and were delayed by a good hour. We rang them to explain and they were more pleasant than could reasonably have expected. They assured us that they "wouldn't let us starve". Once we finally arrived we were greeted warmly and shown to our room - number 6. A couple of steps outside, it was very generously proportioned and had an adequate bathroom. A large bed, two sofas, a well-stocked bookcase - what wasn't to like? If I were to really try hard to find a fault I'd say that it would have been better if the TV mounting had swivelled slightly towards the bed - but that's really trying hard to be critical.

The hotel itself was, as I've said, comfortably rustic, Stone floors with big rugs, warm stone walls, comfortable furniture and big log fires. Drinks were quickly offered and arrived promptly, along with some interesting bites to tempt us while we perused the menu. The food proved to be scrumptious and all seemed to be sourced fairly locally. There was a list of suppliers at the back of the menu, which was a nice touch.

The following morning breakfast was simple but, once again, scrumptious. We also had the opportunity to indulge our inner ornithologist, watching an array of finches, a woodpecker, a robin and the ubiquitous magpie. They were enjoying their breakfast while we were enjoying ours. (There were some other small birds - great, blue, long-tailed, etc. but their collective name is, apparently, a profanity and won't be accepted by Trip Advisor, which made me smile. They're all very pretty, though).

Next time we have a car to test we may well go here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A warm welcome from Annabel at Ty Mawr was a great start to a short but pleasant stay at this (until now) undiscovered delight of a hotel. The decor is traditional and comfortable without being fussy and the quality of the food at both dinner and breakfast is superb - lots of excellent Welsh produce from the local area. The sitting room feels like home from home, a great place to unwind with a book or relax before/after dinner and the bedroom (no. 4) was very spacious and well equipped - such a comfortable bed! I think a return visit is more than likely ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Cold outside (February) but warm, welcoming and very comfortable inside. Food was of exceptional quality, nicely balanced and showed to great effect what can be produced from local sources.
We would like to make a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwerne Minster, Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights just before New Year's Eve and we loved it. The bed and the room (4) were huge and very comfortable and the food was amazingly good. There was a wide choice of locally sourced and delicious produce on the menu which exceeded our expectations and was so nice that I forgot my plan to go to the Felin Fach Griffin for supper on our second night! Included in the ridiculously low (via laterooms.com) price was the most perfect breakfast - try the thick local bacon and scrambled eggs! We had a wonderful, romantic and pampered break, we explored the cool medieval castles nearby and would love to return. The other reviews of Ty Mawr on this site do not exaggerate. TY

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

What a surprise to find such a super little hotel in such an out of the way part of Wales. Our room was really spacious with a very comfortable bed. Annabel went out of her way to make us welcome. Food, both at dinner and breakfast was excellent. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham,uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Went here because the hotel we wanted to go to was fully booked,so having seen this by chance we thought we'd give it a go,braving awful weather we headed for wales and was delighted to find a lovely little hotel waiting for us,after showing us to a lovely large room with massive bed,Annabelle made us coffee by the fire in the lounge. It was peaceful,relaxing and far from the madding crowd,the food was top notch,both at breakfast and dinner,i would definately go back,hopefully when the weather is brighter and we can see the lovely countryside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Mawr Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Country Hotel

Address: Brechfa | Near Carmarthen, Brechfa SA32 7RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Brechfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brechfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th-century converted farmhouse with many original features remaining including wooden beams, thick stone walls, wood burning stove, tiled floors. Good food using seasonal produce from the local area to provide a daily-changing menu. Very conveniently located for visiting the many attractions the area has to offer including Aberglasney and the National Botanic Gardens plus Dinefwr Park, Dylan Thomas' Boathouse, Carreg Cennan Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ty Mawr Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Mawr Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.