We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L.G. Smith's Steak and Chop House

L.G. Smith's Steak and Chop House
L.G. Smith Blvd #82, Oranjestad Aruba, Aruba
+297 523 6195
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 167 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Price range: $19 - $55
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very romantic dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was the most romantic dinner we had while in Aruba. The meal was very good. I ordered the steak and it was tender and flavorful. We both really enjoyed our meals. We didn't order any alcohol because of the prices... this is an expensive restaurant. Our sever was great and friendly. We probably would not eat here on our next visit only because of the costs. The ambiance was very nice. The decor is romantic and calming. Even though the food was pretty good; it was too expensive. If you are staying at the Renaissance hotel this is a convenient place to eat. If you have the all-inclusive package then I would recommend eating here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    118
    63
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemond
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have to admit, I visited this restaurant in various occasions, but this last time, I was disappointed with the quality of the food. Our server did a great job and the ambience is nice. Definitely too pricey while I have done much better at other steakhouses on the Island. Therefore not impressed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fair meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

You would expect better. We were staying in the Renaissance and felt like dining in. LG's was fair, but not up to standards of other Aruba restaurants. Both steaks were overcooked and not the best. The staff was unusually not open and friendly. I would skip it next time for sure.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Filet Mignon and Lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We go all inclusive and the best meals we get are here. The Filet Mignon and Lobster, is great. The dessert we usually go for is the Cream Burlee' is awesome. They are very friendly and the food is great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“One of our top 10 restaurants in Aruba......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Consistently great steaks.....the fillet and lobster is always wonderful. This year we both had the new main course - filet, shrimp and scallops served with a creamy pasta sauce which was divine at $32. The menu doesn't make it clear that the 2 side dishes that usually accompany a main are not included but the server kindly pointed it out. The creamed spinach is a " must have". Service is excellent - not intrusive but knowledgable. The new orange chairs however are uncomfortable as they do not support your back whilst eating. Make sure you have a table away from the casino area as you can smell the smoke. On our list again for next year! Don't be put off that it's part of a hotel and our constructive comments - we want you to enjoy it too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L.G. Smith's Steak and Chop House also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to L.G. Smith's Steak and Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L.G. Smith's Steak and Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.