We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome retaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yemanja Woodfired Grill

Yemanja Woodfired Grill
Wilhelminastraat 2, Oranjestad, Aruba
+297 588 4711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 167 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Yemanja is relaxing and welcoming, with a passion for tradition and excellence. Serving comfort food with a twist prepared over wood fired grill. Also, offering healthy foods with an extensive vegetarian menu and catering to all your dietary needs, such as vegan and gluten-free. Seating is either inside (air-conditioned) or outside on a cozy terrace.
navarre, fl
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome retaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Food was off the hook again. This is our third visit to Yemanja and although the manager we liked is no longer there, the food is still awesome and the service is also. I had the duck breast. Ok, you are thinking why not the seafood or steak. I had it before, and let me tell you something, it was awesome. However; if you have ever had duck in Paris, or Europe, there is a real talent to getting it right. If you can have juicy duck, with crispy fat, you are in the top as far as I am concerned. My first review was based on food taste and quality, this one is pure love of a dish and they did it right. PERFECT> For downtown in the government district, you will be hard pressed to find a better meal for the money. Unless you like to gorge yourself. Covered outdoor seating, very romantic in the evening with tiki torches lit on the perimeter. Government building across street has unique lighting effects also. Cheers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    164
    48
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“A must try restaurant....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We selected this place based on the Trip Advisor rating and reviews. The food is very heavy so bring your appetite. Also it has outdoor garden seating and the flies were a bit of an issue. Not sure if it is the time of year or that it rained earlier that morning. If this is an issue, sit inside. They were relentless. Their food was very good and the service was wonderful. It has been under new management for the past 3 years. They are doing a great job. It is located on a small side street downtown near the Renaissance hotel. A little bit of a run down shady area but the place was very busy the entire time we were there. They will also call you a cab when you are ready. We enjoyed our experience there and would consider returning when we find ourselves in Aruba again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Good food, good service, and good atmosphere. One of the better places we have eaten at so far. Given how expensive most places in Aruba are, I felt Yemanja provided value in its portions and quality. The drink menu isn't absurdly expensive either... Comparatively....

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We go here every time we are in Aruba. It's the best food ever! It even tastes better then it looks. Great atmosphere and the food is each a work of art. You must go here and see for yourself.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great inland alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Cool menu...I'd recommend one of the CF (Chef favorites) choices. Love to see the owner of the company working to satisfy customers. Bartender is an artist with his trade...!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yemanja Woodfired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Yemanja Woodfired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yemanja Woodfired Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.