We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beth Israel Synagogue

Beth Israel Synagogue
A. Lacle Blvd. #2 | P.O.Box 655, Oranjestad, Aruba
(297) 582-3272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 30 Attractions in Oranjestad
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
schenectady, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Aruba since 1993 and we became Off Shore members since then. we love being with the local people and have made many friend with them. I don't go to often at home but look forward to going in Aruba. the services are short and enjoyablele especaly when Caption Peters does the service.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy Island, Happy Synagogue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had the very great privilege to serve as visiting Rabbi for the Beth Israel synagogue in Aruba for 5 years in the mid 1990's. I was warmly welcomed by the President and Secretary, treated to marvelous hospitality and had great nachas in conducting Shabbat services, teaching Bar and Bat Mitzvah children and sharing Jewish history and Biblical literature with the congregation.
The Aruban Jewish community is small in size but great in spirit, devotion, dedication and love for their beautiful synagogue. It was my great honor to serve them.

Rabbi Esor Ben-Sorek, Ph.D.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A wonderful way to appreciate the Jewish presence in ARUBA and what it has and currently does contribute to the history and the ongoing business of the ARUBA. The building itself is interesting but, if you are a practitioner (or not) and you are in ARUBA during a HOLIDAY or a WEEKEND then participation with the congregation is an exceptional experience. We highly recommend a visit.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Spiritual experience on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We attended the services on Friday evening at 7:30 (the times posted said both 7:30 and 8 PM so we came early) and found the congregation to be a mixture of locals and tourists like ourselves. People were very friendly and we ended up driving a couple from Long Island back to their hotel

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
201 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“GREAT SITE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Jewish presence and heritage in ARUBA is alive and well and teh Synagogue is the focal point of all of that. The congregagtion and its leaders are quite cordial and informative. Whether you are Jewish or not a trip to the Synagogue is well worthwhile. And if you are Jewish, participation with this congregation is highly recommended because it a very unique one. If you are in Aruba during a Jewish Holiday then the experience is enhanced that much more.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beth Israel Synagogue also viewed

Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Beth Israel Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beth Israel Synagogue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.