We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aruba digs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Beach Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Paradise Beach Villas to your Saves list
Paradise Beach Villas
J.E. Irausquin Blvd, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Aruba digs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My sister owns the time share and we traveled from all over meeting here with 3 others for our initial vacation to Aruba. This is a very nice hotel in an ideal location. It is directly across the street from the beautiful Eagle Beach. They have two very nice salt water pools and 2 jacuzzis. I had dinner my second night on site at Carambola's. A bit pricey but the grouper was truly incredible and as the restaurant is set up for fine dining, I did not mind. There is also an outside Tiki Bar that serves a delicious turkey sandwich with choice of fruit or fries. Burgers also. It was very convenient after comIng back hungry from diving. This is outdoor seating with ceiling fans above and large sunbathing strolling iguanas for entertainment. I believe we are coming back within the next 6-8 months. Have to work! The room we had was downstairs so could walk straight out to the pool or walk right back in, depending if I was coming or going. Kitchen was clean, well supplied, large fridge, nice large stone shower-we had a 2 bedroom/2bath with 5 people total. Front desk was nice, housekeepers do a fantastic job, everyone was courteous and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    96
    28
    16
    12
See reviews for
52
90
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vincennes, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed from August 31, 2013 through today, September, 7, 2013. We did not want to leave. If I could buy 52 consecutive weeks I would live here! We slept four adults and a four year old in the one bedroom condo very comfortably. Great place! Our daughter learned to swim this week in the shallow end of the smaller pool.

Room Tip: We were in room 420, the morning water view and the evening sunset views were amazing! The low rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did a review on this resort (PBV) back in July 2011, so you also might want to look at that one as well for a comparison as we not only have a review of the resort, but a lot of tips as well for enjoying the island. The last time we visited PBV we traded into the resort through Interval. We have now bought a unit and could not be happier. The resort has not changed much since we were there the last time, other than some renovations in the units so I would read our review from back then in order to get a bigger more detailed picture.
PBV is small and quiet. Typically a mainly older crowd but there were a few families there as well. We had a 2 bedroom unit which was spacious, cleaned every day and equipped with a full kitchen. The unit sleeps 6 and we had 5 in the unit utilizing the pull out couch in the living room. We did not feel cramped. The unit was updated. There is renovation going on in the resort on some of the phase I units, but the noise was minimal. PBV is right across from Eagle Beach, which is a very quiet beach in Aruba. LOW to no crowds compared to Palm beach up the road. The resort as a free internet lounge, which has a great signal. All of us used it daily to check in and did not pay for the wifi which was offered.
Some negatives but worth mentioning: The beds are still very hard, pillows are adequate but not great. Towels in the room still feel rough, but the beach towels which we exchanged daily are soft and big. No shampoo is provided so bring your own. The street outside the resort can be a bit busy at night adding some street noise, but I don’t think the resort can fix this. The complimentary drinks at the Monday pool party are watered down and not worth getting other than obtaining a cool drink.
They need to work on the Beach Umbrella situation. From what we have been told the chairs on the beach are owned by the resort, the umbrellas (pallapas) are not, and can be used by the general public and reserved by anyone. I think what needs to happen if PBV wants to give the majority of the umbrellas to their guests is they need a FULL TIME beach attendant, from Sunup, to mid day. There is one there but he comes and goes. They need to then reserve a majority to ALL of the umbrellas early in the morning, as simple as putting a towel down on them and then as people come from PBV and want an umbrellas, they are then given out. As people leave the umbrellas they should be “reserved” by the beach attendant, and then the cycle starts all over again. We appreciate the 2 hour rule for reserving umbrellas which PBV initiated, which was if the umbrellas is reserved and not used for 2 hours the contents would be packed up and brought to the towel hut in PBV. This was rarely enforced, as we observed many umbrellas being “reserved” all day with no one on them. In order for our family to get an umbrella it was a matter of one of us waking up early, walking over to the beach and reserving one for ourselves by placing a towel down on some chairs under the umbrella We have been told that this is a problem throughout aruba and the situations in getting an umbrella at some of the bigger resorts are worse than this.
Some of the restruants we ate at:
Salt and Pepper: near the high rise resorts. Tappas bar. Early bid special was 3 tappas and Sangria for 18.00 usd. As we all got 3 tappas each and shared all between us. Excellent meal and the ladies drank a lot of sangria that night, as the kids also got 3 tappas and passed the sangria to the over 21 crowd. Excellent meal good service.
Matthews: down the road from PBV near the casino, excellent, and Tuesdays is all you can eat ribs, which were the best. Meaty, fall off of the bone, and one rack satisified one diner. Our Average PPP was 26.00 usd, which included the tip. Right on the beach and a great photo site for some sunset shots.
Iguana Cantina, moderately priced Mexican in the mall on plam. Good meal nothing special.
Pizza Bobs, down the road from PBV near the casino: great pizza, WARM BEER moderately priced. 2 pies and two salads fed 5 of us (3 adults 2 kids).Service was just okay. Moderately priced Ddid not appreciate the warm bottle or DRAFT beer.
Old Canucu House: the jury is out on this one, as some of us in our party felt it was EXPENSIVE for what we got and some liked it. Most of us left disappointed with the meal. We would not go back. We mainly went for the Frank Sinantra show which is every Thursday. We expected to go for the show and have dinner off of their menu. What we got is a printed menu with a choice of 3 apps, 3 main courses and two desserts to choose from. The fillet Mingon was REALLY REALLY TOUGH and the vegetables were steamed beyond belief. The beef was rare at best, and the waiter never asked how I liked it (even if they did, I never order rare). It kind of reminded us of a BAD wedding menu. The kitchen does not know how to serve 60 guests at once, as we were done with our meal and some of the other diners were just receiving the main course even though wee. were all seated at the same time around the start of the 730 pm show. The service was poor at best, too long to get anything, asked for a second bowl of bread and was told they would have to check, although the other table got one. We had 3 waiters during our meal. Brought out the same appertiizer twice once by one waiter, the second by another . They asked for choices for starches with the meal (rice, potatoes, vegetables) and us thinking one would come with the meal, we got all three (why ask then??). We asked for red and they brought us white, and when we complained they looked at us like we were inconvienening them and it was our fault. They ended up charging us for both glasses and then we had a hard time taking it off the bill. When the bill was finally brought, I had to find someone to take my credit card, since the waiter was non existent at that point The singer is an additional fee of 15 per adult, and totally worth it and does a 4 set show, breaks inbetween each set, which takes about 2 and a half hours PLUS which was too long in our opinion. Take the 4 sets and combine into three. He’s got a great voice.
Mojitios downtown. Cuban food, just okay, reasonable, sandwitches mainly, but the mojitos are great, as happy hours is 2 for one and we took advantage of it. S, staff speaks passable English, but they are very pleasant. Write on the tables to remember your trip.
Amuse Bistro: on palm beach. Very good food, great service expensive but worth it. They have half portions as well as full portions so for those that are not big eaters, order the half portion. Second time dining there, dined there last time and we would dine there again when we go back.
Some other things worth noting:
Car is very good to have. Went to the lighthouse which is a nice trip and you should do it. We also drove down to baby beach as well as Nicki beach, but did not stay long on either. Both beautiful and Nicki beach you can watch the planes land as its near the airport.
Took the jolly Rodger pirate snorkeling trip, which was approximately 38 per person afternoon tour, open bar, 2 snorkeling stops and a stop to use the rope swing. We had fun and would do it again, although we liked better the Depalm catamaran trip we took last time, but it was more expensive than this one.
Bring spring clamps down with you as its windy and they can be used to secure your towel to your chair.
Please plan on a few hours on high travel days to get through the airport, as you clear US customs in Aruba, so there are some extra steps before you get to your gate.

Room Tip: Ask for phase 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is located in Eagle Beach, which is quiet and not busy like Palm Beach. Only about 60 units with kitchens. New grocery store behind complex, 2 pools and hot tubs. Restaurant on site and bus stop in front. 5 minutes to Palm beach or 15 minutes to downtown. Bus are frequent. Great place to relax and have a quiet time

Room Tip: Book a room with pool or oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent 2 weeks and because of our schedule and timeshare weeks we stayed at 3 resorts - Divi Village, Paradise Beach Villas (PBV) and Tropicana. PBV was the best of the 3. It was a little outdated from the Divi but the people who worked there were great. My husband before check in had to call the airlines because my daughter left something on the plane and front desk let him use the phone and helped find the phone numbers. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

The room has a full size stove WITH oven, refrigerator PLUS a dishwasher (none of the others had ovens or dishwashers). FREE WIFI is available near the lobby in an air conditioned room (also used as the library, game room plus TV). Our 4th floor room had a wonderful view of the beach and ocean! There are elevators too (unlike our 3rd floor room at Divi). The bathroom is a bit dated but clean. The A/C in the rooms was not as strong as the other resorts but with the ceiling fan on it was satisfactory and kept us cool.

During our stay there was never a problem getting lounge chairs at the pool or on the beach. It's a quick short walk across the road to the beach. We enjoyed our stay at PBV and would recommend it.

Room Tip: 4th floor units have a great view of the ocean and beach. 3rd floor units in the 4 story building w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

we come here every year..quiet and small.love that..under renovation..will be completed 2014
you have to be patient untill its finished.
some of the older rooms have not been done yet..the pool has been resurfaced,,and the grounds are great.
this is a time share ..so some owners never give up the rooms,and have been coming since 1989 and before.

Room Tip: there are 2 sections ..80 units..some have been renovated..others are in process or have not been s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hmmm, there was a leak in the ceiling from condensation I guess from the a/c. The dishwasher leaked and when we reported it we were handed a towel. The a/c really never got cool. If you wanted your sheets changed housekeeping charged you $10.00. But the people were friendly and Aruba was beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Villas

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Paradise Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Villas Hotel Aruba
Paradise Beach Villas Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.