We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanglish Latin Caribbean Grill - CLOSED

Spanglish Latin Caribbean Grill
L.G. Smith Blvd 82, Oranjestad nonen, Aruba (Formerly Spanglish Caribbean Bar and Grill)
+297 582 5066
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Little Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I returned to this restaurant during our October trip. We were pleased to see that the restaurant has expanded from our previous visit in December 2011. The food is very good, the portions are good size and the drinks are reasonable. They make a fantastic Sangria. I don't generally like Sangria, but I always have it here. The food is fresh and the service is very good. You can choose to sit outside or inside in air condition. We went for lunch and opted to sit inside during the heat of the day but sat outside another time for dinner. We really enjoy this place for a nice casual meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New Find In Orangestad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I are finishing up our stay in Aruba at the Renaissance Ocean Suites and were looking for a different restaurant to try. After reading some other reviews we decided to try it and were not disappointed. The food was not heavy but very satisfying and the drinks were excellent. Sangria is only served in glasses, not pitcher but again very good. Also ordered mojitos for "dessert". They only have Aruban flan for dessert but we had it the night before at another restaurant.

We ordered Cerviche that was very flavorful (nice mix of lime and cilantro flavor and for entree had the Parillada (sp?) for two which was a little bit of everything....some chicken, sausage, ribs, corn, and a few other things that I can't remember but was very tasty. it was served on a hibachi brought to the table.

Can view a little bit of the marina water (by the Seaport Casino)

Very good service. Prices were average (appetizer was $9 and the entree was about $23) For the two of us plus our two drinks it was $74. Coming from northern NJ it was not outrageous to us. Will definitely go back during future trips.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I am local and know a thing or two of the local scene... Spanglish offers delicious Latin food at an affordable price while you can enjoy eating right by the water.. I have been here several times and can't really say that I have one favorite dish cause every time I try something new.. I love it..but the rompe colchon seafood soup is a must.. And if you like spicy ask for their homemade hot sauce it's delish... Other things I have had are the beef mofongo and the ceviche and the carne asada all can be recommended.. Will definitely continue going...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gino S, Manager at Spanglish Latin Caribbean Grill, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your great comments, we are very happy to hear that you had a good experience at our restaurant. Masha Danki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“loved the sangria”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Decided to try this place while visiting Aruba based on a recommendation from a local we met. The sangria was delicious, the ceviche was good, but the ribs were just ok, they definitely did not fall off the bone as described. Friends ordered the salmon and the wahoo, both were good. Service and atmosphere were great!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gino S, Owner at Spanglish Latin Caribbean Grill, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Marina thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about the experience you had at our Restaurant, it is only with your feedback that we can evaluate our performance and make the necessary improvements to better serve our guests.

Hope to be able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradera, null, Aruba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect end to a girls night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I went last month with 4 more other girl friends. We met each other by random at a show and planned to do something together afterwards and meet at the Renaissance mall. It was getting late and we wanted a place to eat and have some drinks. We decided to sit at Spanglish, because they had nice lounge chairs. We ordered calamares, nacho's, ceviches, morcilla and a can of Sangria. The atmosphere was cozy, we were comfortable, everything we ate was outstanding and delicious and the service was great. We admired the patience of Jenny, because it was way over closing time and she was still so nice to us. All of us were very pleased with the new place found where we could eat, drink and lounge. We agreed to come back to Spanglish for sure and went with a big smile home after a great experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gino S, Owner at Spanglish Latin Caribbean Grill, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Nannelle,
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Restaurant, your comments are very important to us and we are very glad to hear that you and your friends had a good time. We welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanglish Latin Caribbean Grill also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanglish Latin Caribbean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.